We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday bash”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmore Arms at Holwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A huge thank you to Selina and Anthony at the Strathmore Arms for ensuring that my birthday went so perfectly. The accommodation, food and beer was all faultless. Thanks again for all your help and being so welcoming with such a large group and for looking after my mum and dad so well - all your efforts were very much appreciated

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuckieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Strathmore and we were very impressed by our hosts Anthony and Selina. We were made very welcome and the fact that Sandra was coeliac was not a problem to them. The food was fantastic, all cooked freshly by Anthony and reasonably priced with a good choice of items and large helpings. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean with a great selection of coffee, tea etc. In the bar you soon felt at home with the very friendly locals who were happy to impart their knowledge of the area.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a great little pub just off the Pennine Way. We were treated really well by the landlord & landlady as well as the locals. Mac our dog was very welcome & spoilt rotten. Great food at a reasonable price, make sure you have a healthy appetite. Lovely fire to warm yourself by. You'll have to find somewhere else to go on a tuesday as they're closed, but for the rest of the week you'll be right at home. Thank you Anthony & Selena.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked a one night stay for 14th September and from the start i knew we would enjoy it. We arrived to a heaving bar full of cyclists but nothing phased the staff and owners who thrived on ensuring maximum guest satisfaction for all.
Our room was beautiful with such a wide variety of teas, coffees and chocolate and fresh milk.
Selina and Anthony could not have done any more to make our stay more pleasurable. We booked dinner for 7.15 and the portion sizes were amazing i did not have any room to try the home made ice creams of which there were about 5 every changing recipes.
We were asked what bread we wanted for breakfast as Selina makes all bread in house - where else would you get this in a bed and breakfast?
The Strathmore is such a old quaint building with so much history to read from the many photos on the walls in the bar and pool room , we love original features and the Strath had lots of these.
Whilst being the only residents this night we did not feel alone, in fact at the end of the night we were chatting with Anthony over a brandy or two who is just as friendly as Selina his wife. They bought it over 2 years ago and seem to have built up such a excellent repuation with locals and visitors alike.
All this for £65 a night, keep up the success both of you.
Although we tend not to go back to somewhere we have been , i would definately recommed this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindab38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have stayed at the Strathmore a few times over tha last year and find it very relaxing.
The hosts Selina and Anthony are very welcoming and friendly, the rooms are beautiful and very reasonably priced which includes a full english breakfast, which sets you up for the day. The menu has lots of choice and very reasonable too. They serve the food all day from noon onwards, the only drawback is they are shut on tuesdays (but everyone deserves a day off).
We will be going back again as we are always made welcome, and have started to feel part of the community.
Well done to you both, you work very hard and we hope you enjoy lots of success in the future, cant wait to come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Getting to this pub requires an effort: drop by when you walk the Pennines Way, cycle there or drive down a road signposted as a dead end. But the result will be worth it. There is an easier solution - rent a room upstairs. Convivial hosts, a welcome and an atmosphere that belongs to a bygone age. Good home cooking style pub grub - half a roasted chicken piri piri, fish & chips, steak, thai fish cames, local cheese, a variety of other popular dishes and local beer. No this is not a gastropub; they don't serve food all day or everyday and the only hint of Michelin are the tyres on the cars outside. This what many country pubs try to be but mostly fail; a 21st century English pub that still maintains an old world charm, where you can have a conversation with the hosts and fellow visitors. You leave this pub with one thought: I'd like to come here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Selena and Anthony could not have been more helpful or hospitable. From providing an excellent breakfast to offering pleasant conversation, they have an excellent customer-focussed approach. My room was well furnished with a comfortable bed and a good shower with good quality toiletries provided, just what you need after a long walk in the dales. The pub is quiet at night and in a rural location away from traffic noise. They source a lot of their food locally and the real ales on tap are excellent. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesta_Geoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middleton in Teesdale hotels
2.6 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Hill B&B
The Hill B&B
#4 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn
#7 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
39 reviews
3.6 mi away
Leekworth Caravan Park
Leekworth Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in Middleton in Teesdale
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Arms at Holwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms at Holwick

Address: Holwick, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country pub with 4 en-suite rooms. The Strathmore is situated on The Pennine Way. Open from 12pm until the last person leaves. We are closed on Tuesday's. A real old fashioned country pub with great tasty predominately English fare, plenty of well kept local ales and fine wines, also plenty scrumpy ciders. The Strathmore Arms is close to both High & Low Force wateterfalls and is a fantastic area for walking/sightseeing. A warm welcome is assured. We are also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Hotel Middleton In Teesdale
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing