We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem. Must visit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmore Arms at Holwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This pub is a little gem. Selina and Anthony made us feel extremely welcome and made a huge effort to ensure our stay was as good as possible. The location is fabulous and only a stones throw from Middleton in Teesdale. The food is excellent with generous portions and very reasonably priced (the breakfast was the best I have had for some time and I spend 3 or 4 nights every week in hotels). We like real ale so the 3 ales on offer were a special treat. Our room (number 1) had a king size bed and was very clean and comfortable. You will even be treated to free musical entertainment most Friday evenings! We would recommend the Strathmore to anyone looking for a quality country B&B or anyone doing the Pennine Way. It really is worth the effort to drive the extra 4 miles through Middleton for quality of this kind. Well done Selina and Anthony, we will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which has a king size bed and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having been here in the past for a meal and a drink stopped overnight this time as it was my dads birthday. Was not disappointed. Arrived around 2:00 and by teatime the pub was heaving with locals and people from a nearby caravan site. Was made to feel welcome by management and staff and all the cask ales on offer were well kept and unlike some real ale pubs the Strathmore serves a excellent craft lager (adder lager) and i even enjoyed the proper westons cider even though i ain't really a cider drinker. The evening meal was excellent. Just a small selection of bar meals on offer but its a case of quality over quantity as all food is freshly prepared by landlord Anthony. I enjoyed king prawns in bread crumbs with a nice fresh salad and homemade chips (which seems rare now), Dad had a nice steak and mam enjoyed fresh fish in thai sauce. generous portions. The room was much better than what you get in bland city center hotels now. A very traditional room with a comfortable king size bed and classic furniture and a very nice clean en-suite shower room. Also the tea making facilities were far better than most places offering proper coffee instead of sachets. Last but not least the breakfast. As well as the bread for the last been homemade the breakfast was well cooked with the best locally source ingredients. Cumberland sausage, black pudding, beans, fresh grilled tomato, bacon and a flat mushroom and not greasy at all. I look forward to returning here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hi,
We stayed at the Strathmore Arms at Holwick October 2012 and had the most fantastic time as my title describes . We were made so welcome it was amazing and more important of all the beer and food brilliant.
Even my dogs loved it at came home fatter than when they went.

The place was immaculate clean and locals were friendly and you felt very much part of the place.

What I would like to say is the people who have left a poor rating and food back need to go to Blackpool as they don't appreciate such a great place and countryside get a life.

Room Tip: They are all fabulous so you don't have a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmm944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A huge thank you to Selina and Anthony at the Strathmore Arms for ensuring that my birthday went so perfectly. The accommodation, food and beer was all faultless. Thanks again for all your help and being so welcoming with such a large group and for looking after my mum and dad so well - all your efforts were very much appreciated

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuckieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Strathmore and we were very impressed by our hosts Anthony and Selina. We were made very welcome and the fact that Sandra was coeliac was not a problem to them. The food was fantastic, all cooked freshly by Anthony and reasonably priced with a good choice of items and large helpings. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean with a great selection of coffee, tea etc. In the bar you soon felt at home with the very friendly locals who were happy to impart their knowledge of the area.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a great little pub just off the Pennine Way. We were treated really well by the landlord & landlady as well as the locals. Mac our dog was very welcome & spoilt rotten. Great food at a reasonable price, make sure you have a healthy appetite. Lovely fire to warm yourself by. You'll have to find somewhere else to go on a tuesday as they're closed, but for the rest of the week you'll be right at home. Thank you Anthony & Selena.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked a one night stay for 14th September and from the start i knew we would enjoy it. We arrived to a heaving bar full of cyclists but nothing phased the staff and owners who thrived on ensuring maximum guest satisfaction for all.
Our room was beautiful with such a wide variety of teas, coffees and chocolate and fresh milk.
Selina and Anthony could not have done any more to make our stay more pleasurable. We booked dinner for 7.15 and the portion sizes were amazing i did not have any room to try the home made ice creams of which there were about 5 every changing recipes.
We were asked what bread we wanted for breakfast as Selina makes all bread in house - where else would you get this in a bed and breakfast?
The Strathmore is such a old quaint building with so much history to read from the many photos on the walls in the bar and pool room , we love original features and the Strath had lots of these.
Whilst being the only residents this night we did not feel alone, in fact at the end of the night we were chatting with Anthony over a brandy or two who is just as friendly as Selina his wife. They bought it over 2 years ago and seem to have built up such a excellent repuation with locals and visitors alike.
All this for £65 a night, keep up the success both of you.
Although we tend not to go back to somewhere we have been , i would definately recommed this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindab38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
2.6 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
362 reviews
2.5 mi away
High Force Hotel
High Force Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest-in-Teesdale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Arms at Holwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms at Holwick

Address: Holwick, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country pub with 4 en-suite rooms. The Strathmore is situated on The Pennine Way. Open from 12pm until the last person leaves. We are closed on Tuesday's. A real old fashioned country pub with great tasty predominately English fare, plenty of well kept local ales and fine wines, also plenty scrumpy ciders. The Strathmore Arms is close to both High & Low Force wateterfalls and is a fantastic area for walking/sightseeing. A warm welcome is assured. We are also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Hotel Middleton In Teesdale
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing