We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmore Arms at Holwick
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night recently. We were travelling with two dogs. We arrived later than anticipated but received a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was larger than average with a small en suite shower room. The bed was extremely comfortable and there were both hollow fibre and feather pillows!
Good range of drinks supplied plus fresh milk - also excellent range of toiletries in case you've forgotten to take anything.
We enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar before retiring. There was live entertainment in the form of two local singers accompanied by guitar and the harmonica (excellent). This added to the ambiance. The local ales were excellent and well kept.
In the morning we required a slightly earlier than normal breakfast - once again this was not a problem. The breakfast was wholesome and set us up for the day. Thanks to Selina for the home made bread - a real treat.
The only criticism would be that the water pressure in the shower was on the low side but this would not stop us from visiting again.

Room Tip: Front double was large and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Once again a very welcoming stay from selina and anthony....good food and lots of it...breakfast is amazingly massive and selinas bread she makes is gorgeous.such a friendly pub to stay and the beds are sooooo comfortable..cant wait for next time....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flosseyfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is what a dales pub should be like. Do not be put off by the fact that it's down what amounts to a three mile long cul-de-sac. It's situate in spectacular wild countryside, near High Force waterfall, which is great for walking. It is truly an unspoilt gem, but cosy, comfortable and friendly with it. With an open fire, superbly kept real ales, (fully meriting its Camra Good Beer Guide entry) and excellent and great value food, it's also dog friendly. My dog was brought treats almost as soon as we sat down.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year for two nights.
the landlord and landlady were fabulous hosts and the locals very friendly.
We ate thre both nights, food is very good and very reasonably priced, beer is good too
what more could you ask?
thoroughly reccommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveolverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Proper real Pub, Great guest ales, proper food and so friendly you feel you have known everyone a life time The owners and bar staff are friends from the moment you enter, they care about the pub and every one who turns up there, it shows in the detail, the roaring fire, the decor the perfect pint, it all adds up to a fantastic hidden gem of a place, even my German Shepherd dog loves being there and he is very hard to please :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

....as a sign says in the bar. Anthony and Selina live up to this saying, and after a weekend in this cosy pub we felt like we were in someone's living room, rather than a bar. Lovely room - with everything taken care of and nothing was too much trouble - really dog friendly place as well (our pup was invited down to breakfast and given a bowl of sausages). Great food too - huge breakfast for the humans too. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHRed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with friends. The pub is small but cosy with a friendly atmosphere. The bedroom that we had was cosy and compact having everything you needed including an en-suite shower room. Beds were very comfy and the rooms were warm. Antony and Selina were very friendly made us very comfortable and welcome and the food was good, especially the breakfast. They could not do enough for us. We will definitely be booking again. There are some good walks in the area, so this would be an ideal place to stay, or if just like us wanting a short break to chill out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
2.6 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
347 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
64 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
351 reviews
7.0 mi away
Old Coach House At The Golden Lion
Old Coach House At The Golden Li...
#1 of 2 in St. John's Chapel
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Arms at Holwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms at Holwick

Property: Strathmore Arms at Holwick
Address: Holwick, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country pub with 4 en-suite rooms. The Strathmore is situated on The Pennine Way. Open from 12pm until the last person leaves. We are closed on Tuesday's. A real old fashioned country pub with great tasty predominately English fare, plenty of well kept local ales and fine wines, also plenty scrumpy ciders. The Strathmore Arms is close to both High & Low Force wateterfalls and is a fantastic area for walking/sightseeing. A warm welcome is assured. We are also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Hotel Middleton In Teesdale
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing