We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Girls weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abbymc11
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Girls weekend ”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in November 2016

7 of us stayed in cobblers barn in November for 3 nights... it was amazing! We've tried a few different cottages/barns with hot tubs & this is definitely the best! Very warm welcome, all amenities you need & beds very comfy! Only slight downside is the barn sleeps 10 & hot tub seats 6 but still an amazing stay! Loved it so much we have booked again for November this year!! Can't wait

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyandcl...
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at Cobblers Barn”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stopped here for 2 weeks in August. 6 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs. 2 lovely pubs within a few minutes walking distance. Lots of great walks nearby. The cottage is large with lots of room to ensure privacy. Hot tub was great. We loved the tranquility. Would definitely stop here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
We are so pleased you had a great stay at Cobblers Barn and had everything you needed to hand there, plus the hot tub sounds like a particular treat! We certainly hope you return to enjoy the place again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb high end rental”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with a group of friends and thoroughly recommend this property.i have stayed in quite a few holiday rentals but I think this is probably the best. It is very well appointed - decor and furnishings are excellent and love the kitchen which is very well equipped. The hot tub is lovely. Only disappointment is not being allowed to use it after 10 at night. I do understand the reasons why (neighbours!) The pub in the village also does really good food. I definitely hope to return!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you had a lovely break at Cobblers Barn, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. To hear that it was the best rental you have stayed in is music to our ears, we will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners! We certainly hope you return to enjoy it all over again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
search500...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Best holiday cottage”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked the Cobblers barn as a group of 8, consisting of 5 adults, 1 teenager, 2 under 6 years olds and our dogs. As a family we have stayed in several holiday cottages but we have to say this was by far the best!!!!! We were welcomed by a smiling Karen and shown around the property and given all the information we needed, she had also left us some basics, chocolates and fresh bread baking!!! what a lovely surprise!
the cottage is more than well equipped, nothing is lacking, every utensil you could need is in the kitchen along with a massive range of dishes, pots and pans! previous visits to other cottages have always ended up in a visit to a shop to get some cooking utensil but not at the cobblers barn!
the barn is well designed, beautifully laid out, clean, comfortable, welcoming and has lovely decor. The beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are luxurious and the underfloor heating throughout kept us all warm and cozy in the snow! The wood burning stove was great and we often sat the kids in front of it after they had been in the hot tub!!
The hot tub tops it off, sitting there bubbling away looking at the hills and listening to the sheep baaaaa! was just lovely!
there is plenty to do in the local area and a visit to the crown gastro pub is a must!
we used the chef service and had an afternoon tea served to us in the cottage, this is a great idea and the food was wonderful!!!
there is nothing we could fault, Alistair and Karen have it spot on. We cant wait to return as no other cottage would compare now!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design, layout, kitchen, location, hot tub
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you had such a wonderful stay at Cobblers Barn. The owner has certainly created a place to be proud of here and we will be sure to pass your glowing feedback along to her, we are so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves! We would agree that the hot tub sounds like the cherry on the cake, what a way to enjoy the scenery! We certainly hope that you return for another holiday very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and my friends have just come back from a fantastic break in Cobblers Barn. It is everything you expect and more!! A beautiful property that is of a very high spec, everything you need is under this roof. The owners are delightful and cannot do enough to help, and extremely welcoming on your arrival. The views from the hot tub are amazing. The village and surrounding areas are stunning and the local pub 'The Crown" has outstanding food, just a 5 minute walk away. This has been my hen weekend and couldn't have been any perfect. I will be back this time with my family, to let them enjoy it as much as I did. Perfect hen weekend, perfect company and a perfect choice in accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it was all perfect
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corfuclar...
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning...well equipped...highly recommended!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I just spent 3 nights away at Cobblers Barn with 9 friends. The cottage looks stunning online and does not disappoint at all. It is very well finished and spacious and has everything you need for a lovely relaxed weekend. The owners are very friendly and live close by and are happy to come and help with advice/any issues. The village itself is lovely and The Crown pub which is a 5 minute walk serves amazing quality food...The views are also stunning and the hot tub is the icing on the cake...book it!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanebay...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10/10 Couldn't have wish for more!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from an excellent stay at Cobblers barn. The cottage was spacious, clean and had everything we wanted and more. We had lots of fun in the hot tub!! The owners were so friendly and helpful. You couldnt ask for better views, we didnt want to leave. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, spacious and with lots of character. Obviously the hot tub was a bonus.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing