We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

FifiT_11
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were really impressed by the cottage and it's beautiful location. Lovely and spacious with some really modern aspects. All facilities and amenities superb. We used hoodgill as a base to explore the surrounding area including the low & highforce falls, near by Durham and a farm park a few miles away.
A visit to Bowless visitor centre would be worthwhile, even for a tea/coffee and cake! We walked to the high force which would have been more pleasant had we not had babies in buggies! It was a real challenge which I wouldn't do again! Despite being warned it wasn't buggy friendly we made the journey anyway, it was a beautiful area and would highly recommend for others (suitably prepared) to venture there! We can laugh about it now!!

My only comment would be about the 10pm hot tub curfew, it's not a criticism and I can understand why it's in place it's just that 9 or 10 would usually be the ideal time to relax once kids are in bed and that meant we didn't get to use very much during our stay.

Overall would highly recommend to others.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!! ”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful cottage with loads of thoughtful extra touches! Brilliant views and the hot tub is lovely! Peter the owner was so helpful and friendly!
Would highly recommend this cottage!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X7960QAmi...
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect location for a family get together.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We needed a cottage for a family 50th birthday celebration. We came from all over the UK.
The location is convenient for the M6 and the A1M but is in a quiet beautiful area.
The bedrooms one ensuite the others with bathrooms adjoining.The kitchen is well equipped, a comfy lounge with wood burner a big dinning room with a garden room.
Leading to a hot tub.
Walk out of the back garden to High Force,Low Force waterfalls and Gibsons Cave three amazing sights within this area of outstanding natural beauty.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at Hoodgill Barn, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your holiday and special birthday celebration there. That hot tub certainly sounds like the icing on the cake of a wonderful relaxing break! We hope you return for another stay very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensara...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I spent a fantastic long weekend with 5 of my girl friends enjoying the fabulous amenities that Hoodgill Barn had to offer. Peter was so helpful from the minute I contacted him to the end of our stay. The weather was pretty awful all weekend but the wood burning stove and hot tub made it a real joy to snuggle up warm and enjoy a weekend of relaxation. I highly recommend families and a group of friends to enjoy this lovely holiday home and it's beautiful surroundings. We have already said that we will be back!

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
We are so happy that you and your girl friends had a great stay in Hoodgill Barn! We would agree that when the weather is dreadful, there is little better than curling up in front of the fire! We certainly hope to see you all again soon, we'd love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wow!!! from the moment Sharon and her hubby checked in Peter was very helpful and informative with the cottage and surrounding areas. Myself and family arrived to simply be amazed by this property. It's roomy, clean and has everything you need home from home. So much so we've already booked for next year. (we would usually always look a new property ) Thanks Peter for everything.

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words, it is just brilliant that you all enjoyed the property so much! We certainly look forward to having you back next year and giving you another great holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KERRY R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

stayed at Hoodgill Barn for a long weekend. On arrival we were met by Peter, the owner, who was very friendly and showed us around. The cottage itself is extremely comfortable with lots of lovely touches. Home from home. The hot tub was great for relaxing and there was seating in the garden (round picnic table and 2 benches. The sunroom allows you to enjoy that outside but in feeling if the weather is cool. The village of Middleton in Teesdale is nearby and has shops, coffee shops and a few bars. Can recommend the Teesdale Hotel for very reasonably priced lovely Sunday roast. The town of Barnard Castle is larger if more choice is needed. The High Force waterfall is outstanding to see. A perfect location for a relaxing break

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in the hot tub
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.