We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David R
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Hush Cottage is in the lovely Teesdale village of Middleton, a bustling community in the heart of a beautiful dale. There are many great walks of differing lengths and many good places to eat. The waterfalls at Low Force, High Force and Gibson's Cave are great.
The cottage is beautifully appointed and very tasteful. It is well equipped and extremely comfortable, a lovely retreat in which to relax. On arrival, we were amazed to find a very lovely hamper filled with all sorts of goodies. The owner is delightful and very helpful, and we had a great time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBos
Wakefield, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“small homely cottage ideal for couples”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

A very clean well equipped cottage which suited us for a week break. An excellent welcome basket on arrival. We found it quiet and you can sit outside in a courtyard which gets the sun. A fridge, coffee machine, dishwasher, toaster and tvs up and downstairs. No freezer. Car has to be parked 100 yards away but there is always some space despite most houses not having parking facilities. Nice village with good eating and plenty of local walks for all abilities. We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worrow01
southport
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Could have been much better”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is clean comfortable and has most items required Lots of hot water plenty of sockets and every item inside was of a high quality.My car a Captur was able to drive through the small pathway to unload
Unfortunately the Village Idiot seems to live next door with a least 3 dogs who bark first thing in the morning 6,45am and last thing at night,whilst one of them came into the cottage
You look directly on to his garden which resembles a scrap yard and annoyingly he has a door that slams throughout a windy night
He looked into our lounge several times and finally had a petrol grass cutter on full blast outside the living room window (you can see there is only gravel outside ) I went outside and moved him on
We were unable to use the small table and chairs as there were 5 lumps of dog turds out side the door and the sight and smell made sitting out impossible
So a great place to visit with lots to see but we would not book this cottage again for the reasons given

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A break from a busy life”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A quaint little cottage for two with log fire and electric radiators, very comfortable. Parking tight to the door and stairs to the bedroom steep. When we arrived a hamper of goodies was waiting for us which we enjoined although we left the alcohol as we are tea-total.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The steep stairs to the bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona F
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Where to start? Good communication with owner in the run up to our holiday; directions, getting keys etc. The location is perfect; down a pretty lane just off the main street, so it's quiet yet close to all the village amenities (Co-op, craft shop, book shop,ironmongers,several lovely cafes, tearooms as well as pubs, hotels and French restaurant. The cottage itself is lovely; very tastefully decorated and stylishly furnished, a treat for label spotters, but everyone will appreciate the quality of everything from the kitchen sink to the bedding. The owner had included so many thoughtful touches, Hush Cottage isn't so much a self-catering cottage, more like a high-end serviced apartment. Best of all was the generous Welcome Basket.(Won't spoil the surprise by divulging contents.)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review, we are absolutely over the moon that you had such a fabulous time at Hush Cottage. It sounds like it was perfection from start to finish, and hearing that it was much more than a self catering cottage is music to our ears, we will be sure to pass your compliments to the owner! We certainly hope you return for another visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing