We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old pub”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2012

stayed at the oak tree inn on sat 27th jan 2012 me the wife and another couple , and what a lovely experience it was . old style bar which is exactly what i like ( superb atmosphere )and large lounge which is joined to bar in an l shape.we were shown straight up to our rooms by the landlady despite the bar being very busy. the room we had was exellent , four poster bed which we dident expect , spacious room and en suite bathroom all spotlessy clean. the ale was spot on and the land lord kept us entertained with his witty banter, also there was a very good singer on ( carnt remember her name ) but the evening seemed to fly over.after a good nights sleep we were served with one the best full english s i,v ever had. so all in all a very enjoyable experiance and thanks to sue and tim for making us very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinb186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2011

We only stayed for one night but found this Inn to be very friendly, good value with an excellent breakfast!!
There are some lovely old features in this old Victorian Manor House. Our rooms were lovely too!!
I would definitely recommend this old INN to stay if you are visiting the area. There are some lovely views and scenery right on your door step and plenty of places of interest within a very short drive away.

We had booked a twin and a double room, and both were very nice.
See pics attached.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

i stayed at the oak tree in whilst i was visiting family over the festivities, and have to say i left there feeling that my family was now extended.

the couple who run the inn, were some of the most warm and welcoming people i've met who were truly genuine and made my stay a very enjoyable one!!

the rooms are quaint clean and make you want to wish you were staying longer, the features within the pub are warming and oozeeee character.

we will be visiting again

Room Tip: the granny annex is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
1.6 mi away
South Causey Inn
South Causey Inn
#1 of 6 in Stanley
846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beamish Mary Inn
Beamish Mary Inn
#3 of 6 in Stanley
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#4 of 6 in Stanley
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: Front Street | Tantobie, Stanley DH9 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Oak Tree Inn we provide the ideal location to enjoy a visit to Beamish but without the tourist feel, just great value rooms. The Oak Tree Inn is in a fantastic central location with great northern hospitality, with Newcastle City Centre only 8miles away, Durham Centre 12 miles it is ideal for those wanting to explore the wonderful northern sites. Boasting 6 spacious rooms, why not extend your stay at the Oak Tree Inn? Our Recently refurbished rooms are fantastic in value and breakfast is available. We offer a quaint escape from busy life with our rural setting and authentic British class. Doze off by the open fire and then retreat upstairs to one of the comfiest beds you will ever sleep on! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Inn Stanley, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing