We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beamish Mary Inn
Nearby Hotels
Oak Tree Inn(Stanley)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Stanley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
53
29
7
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
29
7
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal alethe pubfull english breakfasttwo double bedsattending a friends weddingevening mealfamily roomfriendly barmandumplingsopen firestayed here for nightsfriendly localslasagnahome cookednext morningensuite bathroompie
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from staying at this pub. Met up with friends to visit the Beamish museum and this was the nearest place to stay. We arrived at 6pm and there was a wedding reception in full force. We were shown up to our room and on first impressions it looked quite nice, one or two marks on a wall which were obviously from the bed being moved, but on the whole nicely decorated. BUT, when you opened the door to the shower room, what a let down, it really needs a desperate refurb especially when you are paying £70 a night. We had our evening meal there which was quite good, good sized portions and yes the chips are very good. Came down for breakfast to find the milk still in the plastic bottle with a reduced price sticker on it! Asked for skimmed milk but could only be offered the little cartons of semi skimmed. Had a full English which was plentiful and freshly cooked, got brown toast with no offer of white. On our return from the museum (some 7hours later)we found our bedroom had not be cleaned. We were eventually told that the previous occupants had gone home with the key and we had gone out with the only other key. The good point about this place is that it is in walking distance to the museum and am sorry to say but do not think it is worth £70 per night.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank eisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The wife and I stayed here after visiting the Beamish museum. We had found a little gem.

We stayed in room number 2. The room must have recently been decorated. It was all sparkling and clean. We had 2 double beds and plenty of storage space. The room was of a very good size. There was also tea, coffee, biscuits and water provided. The TV in the room has freeview so lots of channel choice.
The ensuite bathroom was small but practicle. Towels and soaps and shampoos were provided.

The pub down stairs has 2 rooms. A bar and a lounge. The back of the lounge is a small restraunt area. The menu is very much in the pub style. Pies, steaks, lasagne etc. Try the home cooked chips. Just like ya Gran used to cook. Portions are very big.

I must mention the beer. The night we stayed they had 7+ real ales on. I tried them all. The quality was fantastic. All served by a very bubbly barmaid.

Breakfast is served down stairs in the lounge. Cereals and juice is provided and orders for cooked brakfast and tea/coffee taken at your table.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A couple of months ago we visited the Beamish Mary to give it a try and are so pleased that we did! Several visits later and we have found it to be consistently good.

The Beamish Mary is a traditional old pub in a nice location and boasting a wonderful open fire (perfect for the Great British Summer). Service is friendly with a good selection of beers to choose from. However, the food is the real star of the show here. This is traditional pub food that is reasonably priced and it is done to a very good standard. On that score, the Beamish Mary easily outshines the other pubs in the Stanley area. Others have commented on the real chips (not those horrible frozen things!). I’m not a usually great chip fan but can confirm that those served at the Beamish Mary are truly delicious.

Finding somewhere nice to take visiting friends and family (including some fairly fussy eaters) can be a problem at times but the Beamish Mary has done us proud on each visit. There is a slight downside - the noise of the bands rehearsing in the room next door can be a little overwhelming at times but the atmosphere and quality of the food more than compensate for this. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed here after going to the newcastle v man u game whilst wife went shopping in newcastle,about 15 mins to metro in car. very friendly staff,11 real ales,good food,great breakfast,quiet surroundings ,pub had a relaxing atmosphere, big t.v in bar to watch football,and lounge to relax, will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93Kathea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here because visitung Beamish. 10 minute walk from the open air museum. Pub is lively, staff friendly and the beer was well kept. Evening meal was excellent value and tasty as was the breakfast. Dog friendly. Room was good with en-suite.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheekylittlemonkey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews