We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of The Ball Alley

The Ball Alley
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ball Alley
Ranked #2 of 5 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday period. The cleanliness and decoration of the room was to a very high standard and very comfortable. This was matched by the warmth, friendliness and exceptional customer service skills of the proprietors Michael and Lindsey, who were absolutely fantastic in providing transport and a portable breakfast due to an early departure time. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
54
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We visited the area for the ashes and booked in to this lovely Inn which was only a 15 min drive from Chester le street. It is hidden away in Stanley by a quiet road.
Our hosts were incredibly accommodating and flexible with our arrival time and had the room ready for us at 10:00! (we'd called the night before to request this)
The whole family were warm, friendly and very welcoming.
Our room was clean and freshly decorated. There was ample storage for clothes. The fantastic bonus was having a clean fully equipped kitchen to use for making pack lunches and doing our laundry.
Our room was not en suite, which we realise at booking, but in all fairness the shares bathroom was perfect and for £45 a night it still presented cracking value for money. (I think they do have en suites as well)
The breakfast was good :-)
The Saturday night, it was a wee bit noisy due to the band playing downstairs but you should expect this: it's a pub. Didn't bother is at all.
I can only thank our wonderful hosts for making us feel so welcome and looking after us so well !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

As we were visiting Beamish we decided to stay here as it was nice and local, but the stay added to our visit. The fantastic room was absolutely spotless and had a wonderful vista, the hosts are very friendly and Mick cooks up a lovely breakfast while Lindsay's out front with a cheery smile to brighten everyone's day.
We also took advantage of a couple of nights in the bar with the locals who are friendly and warming to strangers - it was like being in your own local.
Although we didn't use them, we felt that the availablity of the kitchen (which includes washing and drying machines) is an excellent alternative offer if you're staying any length of time or if you're holidaying on a budget.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone and we will certainly be returning when we next visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights as we were visiting Durham (about 20 minutes drive away). The inn is nothing spectacular from the outside and entrance is through a 'working mans' bar . That said we were greeted warmly and shown to our room which was a very pleasant surprise. It was a good size, well furnished and decorated and with a comfortable bed, tea and coffee TV etc ( the photos really do do the rooms justice). Breakfast was substantial and only let down by the lack of fruit and yogurt. Meals are not served in the evening but there are good eateries within walking distance. Overall the impression was that this B&B was for the business traveller.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back away from the noise of the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooreDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here as we were at a wedding at the South Causey inn which is 2 minutes walk away. The rooms were very impressive, lovely decor with a great en suite. Great price and fab breakfast. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here on a business trip to the area, very conveniently located for the Tanfield Lea Industrial Estates. My room was clean, the towels were thick and heavy, the bed was very comfortable, tea and coffee and biscuits provided and free wi-fi. Excellent 'Full English' breakfast and friendly hosts. No food served in the evening but there's a communal kitchen area where you can eat food you've brought in. Only disappointment was no real ale in the pub. Good value and would stay here again for sure.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AirCooledHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I spent two nights at Ball Alley on my own for a business trip, the room was spotless, spacious and very well equipped (with a TV, tea making facilities, and such a comfy bed!). I stayed in a room with no ensuite bathroom, but this wasn't a problem at all. The shared bathroom was just across the hall and was beautifully decorated. Breakfast too was delicious, I would definitely recommend a stay at Ball Alley, and I will book again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
1.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
3.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
274 reviews
5.0 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ball Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ball Alley

Property: The Ball Alley
Address: Shield Row, Stanley DH9 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Ball Alley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ball Alley Stanley, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing