We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly Bed & Breakfast”
Review of The Ball Alley

The Ball Alley
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ball Alley
Ranked #2 of 6 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Weekend break to attend a family wedding at the South Causey Inn. The Ball Alley was within walking distance from the venue, providing us with excellent location at a fraction of the price. En suite double room was spotless, with clean bedding and towels. Friendly family run business who are very welcoming to their customers. Breakfast was lovely. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavJenScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were invited to a wedding at the nearby South Causey Inn but all rooms were full so looked for somewhere close by. The rooms are above a pub and not all are en suite (ours wasn't) room was spotless and shared bathroom just across the hall was the same. Tea, coffee and biscuits, the staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was spot on cost £45 but would only have been £40 if we had booked directly with the venue. Would definitely recommend but would request an en suite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJanTiggy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you Lindsay and Mark and family for a great stay in very modern and clean accommodation. The beds were extremely comfortable. Friendly and helpful in every way. Lovely breakfast and great yarns to be had in front bar. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank andyodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way north to visit family. When we arrived we realised we had booked a twin room rather than a double we asked if it was possible to change it and they did - no problem. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom - excellent shower. We asked the staff where to eat and they recommended the the Causey Inn which was very good and just down the road. When we got back to the pub there was a quiz so we joined in. Locals very friendly and we enjoyed the stimulation!. Breakfast in the morning was good with really tasty proper bacon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fileydate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a brilliant stay,the room was extremely comfortable & clean. Breakfast definately satisfied my husbands grumbling belly. The bar was very friendly,as were the staff. Will definately stay there again next time we are visiting family in Stanley.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinabeans29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Got the last room available ..not disappointed . There is a friendly welcome ..comfortable spotless room ..big towels and plenty of hot water ..generous tasty breakfast and the added bonus of a very good singer in the bar on Saturday night . This place is excellent value for money ..a must when visiting the area .

Stayed: April 2014
Thank STEWY88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had a fabulous time at the Ball Alley, Lindsey was very lovely and the service was excellent nothing was too much trouble. Spotless accommodation, highly recommended.

John & Janette Beswick, Lancashire.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
1.2 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beamish Mary Inn
Beamish Mary Inn
#3 of 6 in Stanley
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
South Causey Inn
South Causey Inn
#1 of 6 in Stanley
846 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#5 of 6 in Stanley
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#4 of 6 in Stanley
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ball Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ball Alley

Address: Shield Row, Stanley DH9 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: £43 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Ball Alley Stanley, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing