We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding guest & stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Causey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Causey Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding guest & stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have been to the South Causey Inn a few times for meals (which are superb) but never had the need to stay. However, last time we went as wedding guests & decided to stay over. The wedding experience and the stay was both top class. I expected the wedding food to be rolled out en masse but I couldn't have been more surprised by the choice we were given the quality & quantity of the food. There were some lovely little touches in our room when we arrived including a couple of glasses of juice & some homemade cakes and cookies. The whole of our experience was lovely and I feel the need to stay over again - even though we only life about 8 miles away! Would thoroughly recommend. Just be prepared for the early morning call from the cockerel and donkey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazMcGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    109
    62
    37
    29
See reviews for
235
256
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went just for a look as nephew is getting married there next year. It's a nice building surrounded by fields, complete with horses, donkey,geese, sheep and chickens. The stables are worth a look, you can stroke the horses and the girls there all said hello etc.. There are lots of outside picnic tables for when the weather is better. We stayed in and had lunch lasagne for me complete with salad and chunky chips and my partner had liver and bacon with mash and veg. Good sized portions and it was delicious. For the two meals plus a pint and a soft drink it came to just over £23. The staff were polite and efficient. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Tyne and Wear, England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Chose South Causey Inn for our daughter & her fiance's wedding and it simply surpassed our wildest dreams!!
Weather was dry though cloudy but that made it better for the photographs - no squinting eyes!
After a church wedding then a 30 minute drive we arrived and felt the warmth from our guests immediately we stepped from the cars. They'd been so well looked after by all the staff.
Photographs taken and it was time to eat. Now I don't know how many weddings people attend and are disappointed in the quantity and quality of the food ..... But rest assured that is definitely not the case here. Weddings are long affairs and guests are usually pretty hungry when they eventually get to eat. The portions are soooo generous I defy anyone to eat all three courses in their entirety!! Watch out for the nouvelle cuisine named trio of puddings - Each of the three is a full size!!
The wedding coordinator was excellent and the whole day went like clockwork, even though we didn't finish the daytime until 7:05pm (the evening guests were invited from 7pm!!) this didn't cause any complaints from the staff and the room was turned around in a flash!
Back to the food and the evening buffet ..... Not many daytime guests ate anything from it as they were still full but the evening guests said the food and selection was excellent.
If you're getting married and haven't booked a venue pop along and chat to Susan as she and her team will do you proud!

Rooms - we stayed in room 26 the deluxe room and it was superb! So good that I am persuading my hubby to take me back to enjoy the luxuries of the room as being MOTB I didn't have time to appreciate or use the full facilities of the room. The views were magnificent on Saturday morning.

Back to food .... Buffet style brekkie was excellently presented and cooked. Food and coffee a-plenty!

All in all an excellent venue, excellent location, excellent value - just a divine experience!

Thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol&Gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were kindly invited to very close friends daughters wedding reception, at the south causey inn. This visit could not have been any better. The Staff were excellent. The rooms really good. The food and drink excellent. Would have no hesitation in returning. If anyone thinking of going. GO!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recently stayed here overnight for a friends wedding. I was really impressed with the entire trip, from the standard of the room to the breakfast the next morning.
The wedding itself was fantastic! The staff were friendly and attentive and the grounds were picturesque and well maintained.
I have visited previously for Sunday Lunch and have never been disappointed with the quality of food and the wedding breakfast was no exception.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here recently as wedding guests and cannot recommend it highly enough. It is quintessentially English, and nothing has been left out. Set in a beautifully kept gardens with manicured lawns, this hotel comes complete with its own donkey's, lama, horses and a whole plethora of birds - including a very angry, yet entertaining, Duck!!!! The staff could not have tried harder to please us and were very welcoming and friendly at all times. We were shown to our room which was very nice and comfortable. Fresh orange juice, iced water and cookies were waiting for us on our arrival - very nice!! Particularly impressed with the Egyptian bed linen (on a huge bed) and the shower was perfect. Breakfast was totally fuss-free and had everything you needed to set you up for the day - delicious! Will definitely return some day.

Room Tip: Room 26 has a very large Jacuzzi bath! We stayed in the courtyard and it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here as a couple for one night. Our stay room and breakfast was complimentary as part of our wedding package from last year (One nights stay on your 1 year anniversary).
We were completely 100% satisfied with our stay!

The room was great, comfortable, clean, over looking the beautiful beamish view and gardens with bottled still and sparking water, tea, coffee and hot chocolate facilities, cookies and cakes. Two glasses of OJ (which we promptly added our champagne too!!) Bathroom was modern, functional and perfectly clean.

We ate in the restaurant with out needing to book, staff were attentive and friendly. I ate the vegetarian lasagne and my husband had the local sausages and mash. Both came with side dishes however these were left untouched as the main meal portions were huge! Food was tasty, hot and there was plenty of choice. We also squeezed in a desert (chocolate dime bar cake) again this was amazing!!

We then moved into the bar were the selection of drinks was staggering, any spirit and mixer you could possibly think of and a fantastic range of ciders, lagers and wonderful real ales. The bar is super comfortable with big welcoming arm chairs and a beautiful wood fire in the centre of the room.

The Inn is set in a beautiful rural spot with fantastic gardens and a lovely little selection of animals (ducks, geese, donkeys, sheep, horses, alpacas!) We had a wonderful little stroll to stretch the legs around the gardens and farm yards in the sunshine- very peaceful and relaxing.

The staff and in particular the mangers make this place a real gem. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Nothing seemed too much trouble and they all seemed to work really hard and take pride in their work. The South Causey is a real credit to everyone working here, an absolutely wonderful place.

Nearly forgot to mention the pub dogs! A very friendly and well behaved labrador and little dachshund, sleeping contently in the reception area. Just add to the country, homely feel of the place.

A fantastic country Pub/ Restaurant/ Venue/ Inn. Would recommend 100%.

Room Tip: We stayed in an internal room and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripDescriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
1.2 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Causey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Causey Inn

Property: South Causey Inn
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Stanley DH9 0RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Causey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Causey Inn is a friendly welcoming independent hotel situated in the beautiful Beamish Valley.Set in 100 acres, South Causey Inn is an adaptable venue for a host of different events from a family get together, a Wedding to remember, a meeting place for colleagues or a relaxing overnight stay.We also have an adjacent British Horse Society Approved Equestrian Centre, which offers a range of outdoor activities to add a little something different to your day!We are splendidly situated only 6 miles from Durham City and 6 miles from Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Causey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Causey Hotel Stanley
South Causey Inn Stanley, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing