We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !”
Review of Holmleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmleigh House
Ranked #8 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed at Holmleigh House with a friend for three nights whilst attending a local event. We had single occupation of a double and twin en-suite rooms, both of a very high standard. Nice decor, very clean and well equipped, beds very comfortable. Very warm welcome from the proprietor. The lounge for use by residents is very comfortable, with lots of books and the daily newspapers a nice touch. Very importantly - Gaynor's breakfasts are superb !

Although Holmleigh House does not have dedicated parking, we did not find it dfficult to park a Land Rover Discovery in the on-street parking immediatley adjacent on any night.

Seaton is not a big place, but Holmleigh is well situated in the centre of the town and witihin very easy walking distance of the sea front, local pubs and shops. Good food to be had at the Kings Arms and Eyre Court Hotel (very close by). Frydays Fish & Chips is also well worth a visit. The central location did not give us any problems with late night noise or similar.

I reccomend Holmleigh House and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruston_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
64
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed one night at the Holmleigh b&b in Seaton. Very peaceful location opposite the Jubilee Gardens and bowling green. Very friendly & warm reception, great breakfast. We would definitely stay there again for a longer period.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joysunjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We were really impresed with this b'n'b.. .we received a wonderful welcome, despite our late arrival. The rooms were very comfortable (we used 3 of them in total and all were beautifully appointed), and the breakfast was excellent. They also provided us with packed lunches for our day's hiking. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I stayed in Holmleigh House with friends for three nights over the Easter Weekend, and I was bowled over by the fantastic location, wonderful service and beautiful rooms.

After a long and tiring journey on Good Friday, we were warmly greeted by the owner: Gaynor and shown to a very well appointed room overlooking the bay. There were Egyptian cotton sheets on the bed, it was really clean and every little whim had been catered for - a selection of Fairtrade tea, coffee and hot chocolate, organic shampoo and conditioner and it was really clean. Needless to say, I slept extremely soundly that night and had a fantastic breakfast the next morning. All the food was locally sourced (I chose the eggs benedict) and there was a large selection of homemade jams, pastries, fresh fruit, herbal teas and cereals.

The location is superb - only a short walk from Beer across the cliff top, and Seaton beach is literally 2 minutes away on foot. There is a large range of activities and attractions within a 10 mile radius including fishing, boat hire, the donkey sanctuary and numerous good pubs. I had a really enjoyable time, and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing, beautiful trip which is also fantastic value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on_the_reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I hadn't been on an English holiday or a B&B for ages so I was delighted at how much I enjoyed Holmleigh House and my trip to Seaton!

The room was very clean, really nicely furnished with a super comfy bed which helped for a relaxing couple of nights of sleep.

Breakfast was incredible, with a selection of home made jams and a great choice of cooked or lighter dishes. I went for the cooked breakfast both mornings which was amazing with locally sourced bacon, sausage and fresh from the farm eggs as well as the little details like fried bread, mushrooms and black pudding! Really was the best breakfast I have had for ages/ever so wasn't going to argue with the award which was displayed on the breakfast menu.

There is also a really nice lounge where you can enjoy reading the morning papers or your book! Holmleigh is well located for everything in Seaton being only a short walk whether it is the beach front, shops, pubs or eateries!

Gaynor the owner was really friendly and made us feel at home, as well as the great cooking she helped us out with ideas for local activities and directions... Very much enjoyed Beer and The Anchor Inn which has great views and food!

I hadn't been on a UK holiday for quite some time but this was a great short break and definitely would go back again / recommend Holmleigh House to anyone looking for a sea side break!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukeh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We spent a night at Gaynor's wonderful B&B and had a very relaxing time. The bedroom and en suite was absolutely spotless. We made good use of the wine glasses and corkscrew thoughtfully provided. The tea mugs in the bedroom were a decent size and very attractive. The bedding was high quality and the bed was huge and comfortable. Although we didn't use the guest lounge, it looked very warm and inviting.

Breakfast was delicious - lots of homemade produce - I only wish I was able to fit more in. We didn't eat until late that evening after our massive breakfast. We had a little walk along the beach afterwards - the location of the B&B is supberb, right within easy walk of everywhere. The lack of private parking is not too much of an issue in Seaton either - there are free spaces very nearby or a paying car park (quite cheap) in the next road. We will definitely stay here when visiting Seaton again. Thank you, Gaynor!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed for two nights and were greeted by the owner upon arrival and shown our bedroom and bathroom which were both modern, clean and well decorated. We had breakfast the next morning which was a huge selection covering all diets whilst being fresh and some even homemade like jams etc.

Being just off of the main seafront it's also perfectly located and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizza3146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
1.6 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#4 of 25 in Seaton
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#1 of 25 in Seaton
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners B&B
Mariners B&B
#3 of 25 in Seaton
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fring House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmleigh House

Property: Holmleigh House
Address: Homeleigh Sea Hill, Seaton EX12 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holmleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmleigh House Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing