We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always try Holmleigh first!”
Review of Holmleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmleigh House
Ranked #6 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have stayed at Holmleigh House four times now while visiting family and it has always been excellent.The rooms are really comfortable, bright and well equipped and very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are modern and always very fresh and clean. Gaynor is a wonderful proprietor and very kind, friendly and helpful - her breakfasts are quiet the best - locally sourced produce and brilliantly cooked. The best homemade fruit salad and Gaynor's lovely homemade marmalade and jams.What more could you want!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

A friend and I stayed in 2011 for a local event and when the time came to book for a repeat visit in 2012 there was no question of staying anywhere else tham Holmleigh House.

Comfortable, well equipped and clean rooms. Nicely appointed en-suite shower rooms and, of course, Gaynor's fantastic breakfasts. Gaynor made us very welcome.

No difficulty in finding parking close to Holmleigh House, with good evening meals to be had close by too.

We hope to be back again in 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruston_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We travel down to the West Country quite often each year, and when visiting Seaton we have stayed at Holmleigh House many times. The rooms are always clean, fresh and comfortable, and the breakfasts always have a great variety of fruit and cereals and homemade museli to choose from, together with the very tasty and freshly cooked full english. There is also a variety of Gaynors homemade jams and marmalades to spread on the toast, which sets us up for the rest of the day very nicely. The location of Holmleigh House is very close to the sea front and in easy walking distance of the town centre. We would recommend Holmleigh House to anyone looking for a very warm welcome to the West Country, and it won't be long before we see Gaynor again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are very comfortable and we would recommend any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Gaynor looked after us from the moment we arrived. Lovely 'homely' feel at the Holmleigh. Rooms with character and comfort, which were clean and well appointed. Superb breakfast with lots of hot and cold choices, absolutely delicious. There was six of as from Wales singing with Dowlais choir. And can't wait to come down again.We might come down just for a long weekend.
Out of ten we give you 12. And if you only done dinner, i would have put on 2 stone.

I would recomend this B&B to any one. (NOT IF WE WANT TO COME DOWN) Howard and gang. Merthyr Tydfil.

Room Tip: Read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howardevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Holmleigh House during a South West Coastal Path walk. The venue had been arranged by Budget Walking through whom a group of friends and myself had arranged a self guided walking break.

From the moment that Gaynor opened the door with a very warm welcome we knew that we were going to be well looked after. The rooms were very clean, extremely well decorated and there was everything you could want in terms of tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. We were given good advice regarding eating out that night and we were able to agree breakfast the next morning at a time to suite our schedule.

Breakfast!! What a real delight!1 The range and quality was way way above that you would expect from a small B&B and everything you could possibly want seemed to be on the very varied menu and was so kindly served by Gaynor.

This was one of the highlights of our break and Holmleigh House needs to be commended on the excellence of the entire experience. "Well Done" Gaynor and thank you again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about choosing a 'good' room - they all are!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCouple1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Gaynor looked after us from the moment we arrived. Lovely 'homely' feel at the Holmleigh. Rooms with character and comfort, which were clean and well appointed. Superb breakfast with lots of hot and cold choices, absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyr8603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just back from an excellent stay at the Holmleigh House. The 2 rooms we’d booked were exceptional; both were well decorated, clean and comfy. The place has a warm and friendly atmosphere. Gaynor the hostess was brilliant. The breakfast she cooked was first-rate. Everything done just as we liked it and a nice range of homemade preserves. Will certainly stay again when next in Seaton. Well done Gaynor, keep up the good work xx

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine9240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaton hotels
0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#2 of 25 in Seaton
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#7 of 25 in Seaton
222 reviews
1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#1 of 25 in Seaton
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmleigh House

Address: Homeleigh Sea Hill, Seaton EX12 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holmleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmleigh House Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing