We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard but not quite upto 2014 hotel speed”
Review of Eyre Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eyre Court Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Trying hard but not quite upto 2014 hotel speed”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A ideally placed hotel for visiting Seaton. A nice warm welcome and courteous service. Lovely fresh cooked breakfast. However in need of a overhaul in terms of creaky floors and thin stud walls that meant you could easily listen in on next doors conversations.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front as a lot of late night drinking noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binks0045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    51
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
33
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff at this hotel are really friendly and work hard to make you feel welcome. However, our room was in need of some modernisation. We stayed in room 2 which was quite spacious but the soft furnishings needed some repair and the wallpaper was peeling a bit. The bathroom was also in need of some serious renovation.
We ate in the restaurant. Again, the service was very good but the food a bit disappointing. it might be best to choose 'traditional' English dishes. Breakfast was a bit basic.
The hotel location is OK but I think we expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had an overnight stay in family room, and we wer made to feel so welcome by all staff, We wer happy as so close to beach, Breakfast was one of the best we've had! Definitely will be coming back in summer for a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezzie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned from a three day break from this hotel, we are pensioners and we had room 8 at the hotel. The people at the hotel, staff and owners were very good, the food was also good with good sized meals.

The downside for us was our room, we appreciated that we stayed 3 nights from friday to monday and the week end would be busy but being woken up at 2.45am by rowdy guests in the next room meant that on two of our nights we did not get enough sleep and combine that with a very uncomfortable bed a tiny shower in the bathroom meant we were not able to enjoy our stay as much as we thought we would.

Our rating for this hotel would be a four star for the food and staff but only a two star for the room, we of course do not know what the other rooms are like and there are 8 rooms in the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book room 8 the room we had if you want a comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Was passing through an asked if they had any vacancy we needed a family room but they only had a double but they made a bed up on the floor for the kids. Staff were really help full an friendly food was very nice an rooms were clean, only fault was at breakfast when the lady accused us of giving a fake address witch really upset my husband.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights over Easter. I was attending a festival and the excellent Gateway centre and wanted to be within walking distance.
This is a wonderful small hotel with a family feel. Ideally located in the centre of the town, yet tucked away.
The building is old and the room quirky - I like quirky. However, everything was clean and comfortable. Special recommendations for the showers that provided good hot water - not that common even in new build branded hotels.
The staff are all friendly and professional - it feels like they are glad you are visiting, again different to many of the chains out there.
The bar is a lovely local bar, serving good beer and good food.
Breakfasts are not also very good - cooked for you with high quality ingrediants - great start to the day.
I do hope to be back here again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decided to find a hotel midway back home following a short break in West Devon and came across Eyre Court via one of the main hotel booking websites. On arrival at the hotel we were warmly greeted by the gentleman who was overseeing things whilst the owner was away and he apologised as our room wasn't ready for immediate occupation due to the previous nights visitors but offered us a place to wait and have a drink whilst the room was prepared. After only a short while we were informed the room was ready and were showed to the family room located in a separate part of the building to the rear (Room 9). The family room is was in actual fact two separate bedrooms (double and twin) with a separate showeroom/w.c. The room and bedding was clean and fresh and the place was warm as it was heated via individually controllable thermostatic radiators and we were provided with ample tea and coffee making facilities. After a shower and short rest we went back down to the rear bar to have a drink and order some food. At the time of our visit a band were playing in the front bar (4 to 7 on a Sunday) they were an accomplished rock band and although quite loud the music was good and over by 7pm. We ate and drank from the menu what was standard pub fayre (no complaints) and retired with a bottle from the bar, the waiting and bar staff that evening were all friendly and accommodating. After a good nights sleep were all had breakfast in the pleasant dining room and were pleased with the quality of the standard breakfast options available. The Eyre Court is a small hotel with what seems to be a popular bar/pub at the front, the staff were all pleasant and very keen to please and some larger more expensive hotels could learn a few things about customer service from the few staff we encountered during our stay.

Room Tip: The family room we had was No.9 and located to the rear of the pub/bar and not in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
2.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#4 of 25 in Seaton
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#17 of 25 in Seaton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#1 of 25 in Seaton
316 reviews
1.3 mi away
YHA Beer
YHA Beer
#2 of 2 in Beer
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Court Hotel

Property: Eyre Court Hotel
Address: 2 Queen Street, Seaton EX12 2NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eyre Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Court Hotel Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing