We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaton Trams”
Review of Seaton Tramway

Seaton Tramway
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Seaton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seaton Tramway operates narrow gauge heritage trams between Seaton, Colyford and Colyton in East Devon's glorious Axe Valley, travelling alongside the River Axe estuary through two nature reserves and giving an unrivalled view of the abundant wading bird life.The coastal resort of Seaton is now a gateway town to the Jurassic Coast, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, whilst the historic town of Colyton is described as "Devon's Most Rebellious Town" for its part in the Monmouth Rebellion of 1685.The company originated at the Lancaster Electrical Company of Barnet, which manufactured battery electric vehicles. In 1949 its owner, Claude Lane, indulged his hobby by building a miniature 15” gauge tram, which he ran at garden fetes. This portable system enjoyed temporary homes at St Leonard’s and Rhyl before evolving onto the 2’ gauge Eastbourne Tramway.Many of the present trams were built at Eastbourne, but by the mid 1960’s the tramway’s success was outgrowing the mile line. Claude therefore began to look for alternative locations. In late 1969, Claude purchased the Seaton to Colyton section after the branchline had been closed by Dr Beeching in 1966 and, after a mammoth relocation from Eastbourne, the first section was opened in 1980. Since then the tramway has developed into one of Devon’s best loved attractions.New trams have been added to the fleet and the buildings have been much improved in order to meet the needs of the thousands of enthusiastic people who visit each year.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A fun trip for all the family, just a point to remember. You get wristbands at reception with your ticket and you NEED to keep them both together, we split up and found one of the tram drivers to be very pompous, INSISTING that we should have kept the tickets. What's the point of the wristbands???

Other than that, we recommend Seaton Tramway on a warm, sunny day :)

1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for pointing out the need to show both the ticket and wristband to the driver-the wristband gives unlimited rides and the ticket will have the date of issue with which the wristband can be used. We are pleased you enjoyed your time spent with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

989 - 993 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a lovely day on the Seaton tramway. The drivers are enthusiatic and the tea shop is reasonably priced and has great service. My daughter throughly enjoyed the day and was great for a sunny day on the beach. The Friday deal meant our tickets were half price as long as you fill in a questionaire on line which makes it great value for money and worth a visit.

1  Thank SaraB523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The tram is a wonderful way of seeing the Devonshire countryside. The drivers have always been polite and informative. You can really tell the care and attention to detail of all the people that work there. I would recommend! Though £10 seems a lot for a return you can use it more than once in a day. I will definitely be coming back!

1  Thank Lebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are delighted that you will be returning and as you say the adult fare of £10 does give unlimited rides throughout the day. If you are fairly regular visitors why not consider purchasing a loyalty card which gives you even more money saving offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable and value for money, but I would like to have seen more trams. We started at Colyton where the parking is free. Good pub stop at Colyford.

1  Thank Marbe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Having been on this before, I was keen to take my partner. However at £10 an adult, we both agreed that it was too pricey

Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

The adult fare £10 and child (age3-15) fare £5 gives unlimited rides throughout the day and lots of our visitors enjoy being able to travel on the different trams. We are sorry that you thought the tickets were too pricey but of you are able to travel on a Friday you have the opportunity to book online and pay just 50% of the normal fare which I am sure you will agree is quite a saving. Please give us another go, we have so much to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaton Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Seaton Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing