We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Seaton Tramway

Seaton Tramway
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Seaton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seaton Tramway operates narrow gauge heritage trams between Seaton, Colyford and Colyton in East Devon's glorious Axe Valley, travelling alongside the River Axe estuary through two nature reserves and giving an unrivalled view of the abundant wading bird life.The coastal resort of Seaton is now a gateway town to the Jurassic Coast, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, whilst the historic town of Colyton is described as "Devon's Most Rebellious Town" for its part in the Monmouth Rebellion of 1685.The company originated at the Lancaster Electrical Company of Barnet, which manufactured battery electric vehicles. In 1949 its owner, Claude Lane, indulged his hobby by building a miniature 15” gauge tram, which he ran at garden fetes. This portable system enjoyed temporary homes at St Leonard’s and Rhyl before evolving onto the 2’ gauge Eastbourne Tramway.Many of the present trams were built at Eastbourne, but by the mid 1960’s the tramway’s success was outgrowing the mile line. Claude therefore began to look for alternative locations. In late 1969, Claude purchased the Seaton to Colyton section after the branchline had been closed by Dr Beeching in 1966 and, after a mammoth relocation from Eastbourne, the first section was opened in 1980. Since then the tramway has developed into one of Devon’s best loved attractions.New trams have been added to the fleet and the buildings have been much improved in order to meet the needs of the thousands of enthusiastic people who visit each year.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the second time I have been on the Seaton tramway and I've enjoyed it both times. My toddler loves it, the trams have been very sympathetically restored, the drivers are friendly and informative. Today, we spotted deer, fox, rabbits, numerous birds and cygnets/goslings from the tram, thoroughly enjoyable. There is also a small but nice & clean play park at colyton station.

1  Thank Flossie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves. As you are a regular visitor have you considered buying a loyalty card, it will save you money on fares for you and another person, and in the shop and cafe too, and when you have collected 10 tickets, you are entitled to a free explorer ticket. Just ask next time you visit or look for more info on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

939 - 943 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited this as a family with two young children. The first impression was that it was very expensive. Commentary was okay when we set off, and the scenery was pleasant.

I think that we probably enjoyed the novelty more than the experience. When we got to Colyton we were a bit disappointed as there did not seem to be a great deal to entice you to stay in the village. We walked from the tram stop and through the village. Whilst there were a number of supermarkets, I thought that what was missing was some reason to stop and spend your money.

1  Thank The_Cheshireset133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, your comments have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Came here last night for the blast with my fiancé. Must say really enjoyed it. The food was great for what we got. The enternamient was really good. I would come again. The trams good to enjoyed ridin back in the dark

1  Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We agree, 'The Blast' really got everyone groovin' to the sounds of the sixties! We've got a Michael Buble tribute show lined up for the 5th July if you fancy another great night out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Start your day at Colyton station - free parking all day. Visit the lovely tearoom and then travel to Seaton by tram. Seaton is a lovely little town, worth walking round. Lots to see on the journey if you like wildlife. Wooden seats a bit hard on the bottom but a real blast from the past for me - I just remember the trams in Sheffield !! Perhaps the nice weather made a difference but we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

1  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We agree, some of the seats can be a little hard on the derriere. Next time please just ask the driver for a blanket to sit on. We stock them at each end of the line - perfect padding for the bottom or to wrap around shoulders if the wind is a bit chilly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was far too expensive for the what was offered. Our trip out to Colyton was dull with absolutely NO commentary from the driver. The tea shop at the end of the route was ok, food was lovely, although they overcharged us, but they rectified straight away. The trip back was more bearable as the driver was more talkative (and a bit sarcastic).
Don't waste your money

Also no concessions for OAP. Family are not the only people on a tight income.

Thank sue36a4670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaton Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Seaton Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing