We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable family time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaton Tramway

Seaton Tramway
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Seaton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seaton Tramway operates narrow gauge heritage trams between Seaton, Colyford and Colyton in East Devon's glorious Axe Valley, travelling alongside the River Axe estuary through two nature reserves and giving an unrivalled view of the abundant wading bird life.The coastal resort of Seaton is now a gateway town to the Jurassic Coast, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, whilst the historic town of Colyton is described as "Devon's Most Rebellious Town" for its part in the Monmouth Rebellion of 1685.The company originated at the Lancaster Electrical Company of Barnet, which manufactured battery electric vehicles. In 1949 its owner, Claude Lane, indulged his hobby by building a miniature 15” gauge tram, which he ran at garden fetes. This portable system enjoyed temporary homes at St Leonard’s and Rhyl before evolving onto the 2’ gauge Eastbourne Tramway.Many of the present trams were built at Eastbourne, but by the mid 1960’s the tramway’s success was outgrowing the mile line. Claude therefore began to look for alternative locations. In late 1969, Claude purchased the Seaton to Colyton section after the branchline had been closed by Dr Beeching in 1966 and, after a mammoth relocation from Eastbourne, the first section was opened in 1980. Since then the tramway has developed into one of Devon’s best loved attractions.New trams have been added to the fleet and the buildings have been much improved in order to meet the needs of the thousands of enthusiastic people who visit each year.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable family time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our family had a great afternoon on the tramway,it was a little expensive but my boys 7 & 9 really liked it especially arriving at the station it was like travelling back in time.
There is a lovely little cafe/restaurant the food in there was very nice and not to expensive and the staff are polite and friendly both in the cafe and on the tram. we will be having a ride on the tram when we visit Seaton again the scenery on the way to the station is lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doodiidoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    279
    44
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Unique but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

An unusual experience and a must if you are a train/tram enthusiast. The trams are fun if not built for comfort and the route interesting with much wildlife to be observed as you follow the estuary but be warned you are rather exposed on a open top vehicle adjacent to the open sea. If you have the time a refreshment break at the halfway point would seem like a great idea but one for which we did not have the time on the day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
It was a bit fresh yesterday wasn't it. If the weather is a bit chilly the next time you visit, please ask the driver for a blanket. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“"Nice way to spend a morning"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We took a trip on the tramway from Seaton to Colyton with our large dog "Toby".An enjoyable ride through the salt marshes, our driver guide was very informative and pointed out swans nests and even a vixen in the long grass.Went for a walk at Colyton,an attractive little town to spend say,an hour in,nice to sit by the river and watch the world go by.We enjoyed a very good Carrot cake and tea at the station before the return journey. P.S. perhaps the station master should remove those ugly recycling bins from the front of the otherwise attractive restored station.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dogs always seem to enjoy riding on the trams, perhaps it's the leisurley pace and plenty of fresh air to sniff. Thank you for your write up and I have passed your comment about the bins on to the caretakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Travelled on the Seaton Tramway on Saturday 7th June, 2014. Had a fantastic day. Managed to see a good range of wildlife including White Egret, Cormorant, Grey Heron, Buzzard, Rabbits, Squirrel, Shelduck to name a few. Weather excellent which added to the pleasure of the trip, don't think it would have been so enjoyable if wet and windy.

Had 2 course lunch in Restaurant at Colyton Station. Very good value for money but brocolli could have done with extra few minutes more cooking - very hard!!! Staff brilliant - nothing too much trouble.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, our staff work hard to please. (I have passed your comment about the broccoli on to the cafe crew!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent day out - every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have visited seaton tramway many times with my family

We visited recently and it was fantastic

highly recommended

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seatontramway, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaton Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Seaton Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing