We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”
Review of Baldash Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baldash Cottage
Ranked #18 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It's hard to know what to add to what existing reviewers have said, because we experienced exactly the same as they did. This is a wonderful setting, perfect hosts, great food and Bru and Paul just couldn't do enough to make our 2 night stay as perfect as possible.

We stayed in the downstairs suite with additional lounge, opting to pay the extra for this as a short getaway for our anniversary. It was a great decision, as the living room added to the comfort, and it was nice being able to go out onto the patio through our own door.

The only let down was the weather, which although being nice when we arrived became thick fog by the following morning, which still hadn't cleared 24hrs later. As a result we didn't do as much sightseeing over the weekend as we had planned, but this was more than made up for by sitting after breakfast with Bru and Paul and the other guests and chatting away for several hours like old friends.

This is just a perfect location for a couple to get away, and ideally located for either visiting local attractions or for walking down to the village and beach at Branscombe.

If you like to wake up and watch wild birds feeding right outside your window (including woodpeckers and pheasants), this is indeed paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the terrace and down the valley. The downstairs suite has a lovely large lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Tucked away in a secluded green valley with beautiful views and a peaceful atmosphere pervading all, together with superb hospitality offered by the hosts Paul and Bru, it is difficult to imagine a better spot for a holiday or short stay. During our four night break, everything was provided for our comfort and well-being with a vast choice of breakfast alternatives. Anything we requested was provided for us - their suggestions of local dining places were excellent. All-in-all we felt genuinely welcome in their home.

Room Tip: All three rooms are south facing with lovely countryside views. The downstairs bedroom has an adjoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Beautiful and well adapted cottage, expertly managed by Paul and Bru.
Lovely hosts who could not be faulted in their determination that we had a great stay. The bedroom and lounge were outstanding, even down to the bathroom gowns and slippers. The breakfasts were exceptional, fresh fruit salad by Paul and an enormous and complete full English by Bru. Will be visiting again ... many thanks Bru & Paul - Richard & Lynn

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard_Gould1811151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Excellent boutique B & B. Spotlessly clean, excellent hosts, fabulous beds and facilities, great breakfast and the best nights sleep.

Have stayed numerous times and the experience has never been less than perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had 2 nights at Baldash Cottage which we thoroughly enjoyed. We were given a lovely warm welcome by Norman, Paul's dad and later met Paul and Bru who made us feel very welcome all over again. Our room upstairs was very spacious and was spotless. Breakfast was excellent with no shortage of choice, the best sausages I have tasted. The weather was a bit on the wet side but Paul came up with the perfect place for us to visit - Beer Quarry which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The cottage is a beautiful thatched cottage set in a very tranquil garden all very peaceful. Highly recommended, we will definitely stay here again when next down in this beautiful part of Devon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrylover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had two nights at the cottage and left feeling that we had known Paul and Bru for years. It is a most delightful place to stay with excellent, spacious rooms and very high standards throughout. There are a lot of expensive hotels that don't match the care that is taken by Paul and Bru to look after guests. The tea tray in the room has everything that you would need including really nice biscuits.
The B&B is rated 5 star silver by the the English Tourist Board but we could not work out what they could do to get gold.
A first class place to stay and great value.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxfordshiresam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed at Baldash Cottage for 3 nights....pure heaven. The owners Paul and Bru have renovated the cottage to a very high standard. They are a lovely couple, will do anything for you and the breakfast's are amazing. A little off the beaten track, but once you have found them, you won't want to leave, we didn't.
Peace and quiet with fantastic views only beaten by the standard of the rooms.
Above the lovely village of Branscombe, you can walk from the cottage through the woods, but a great base to explore the area around.
We are going back next spring.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkMrsTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
1.2 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
4.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
172 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#1 of 25 in Seaton
317 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#4 of 25 in Seaton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldash Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldash Cottage

Property: Baldash Cottage
Address: Branscombe, Seaton EX12 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Baldash Cottage Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing