We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glorious Week”
Review of Mariners B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariners B&B
Ranked #3 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hemsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Glorious Week”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent a week at Mariners sea eScape apartment, enjoying more than anything else the beautiful views from the living room & balcony. We did some fishing off the beach & caught some mackerel. There is lovely long promenade to meander up & down which goes from the Beer end of the resort to the mouth of the river Axe. We enjoyed people watching while having coffee (or something stronger in the evenings!) on the balcony; there were the early morning walkers striding out, some were jogging, and there were plenty of swimmers doing their daily toil! The sea was calm as a millpond during our visit & we took the opportunity for a quick dip, which was most invigorating!
We visited Sidmouth a short drive away to the west & also Bridport & West Bay (home of Broadchurch) to the east where we enjoyed a steam rally, lots of old engines and plenty of stalls selling their wares. On previous holidays to Seaton we have taken a ride on the tramway visiting the lovely villages of Colyford & Colyton. Everyone is so friendly & always has time to chat.
This is our 3rd visit to the apartment, and we are never disappointed. Pat & Nigel are excellent hosts, never intrusive, but always there to help out with any queries or questions. The view is spectacular spanning from Lyme Bay, & the river Axe round to Beer. The rooms are spotless and the bed linen crisp & white, we slept like babies in the king size bed. There are the usual facilities for self catering, a full size oven & hob, fridge and plenty of tableware, crockery etc.
We ate out a couple of times, the fish & chips from Frydays (either eat in or take away), were delicious, as was a meal at The Ship in Axmouth.
We will be returning to Mariners again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review .I am sure if others are considering the area they will see there is plenty to do in this area of Seaton and all the places to visit .As this was your 3rd visit to the apartment (no 4 already booked )We are pleased that you still find the quality we offer is consistent .We are sea lovers ourselves and in planning the building of the apartment we wanted to provide the best view we could .With a location on the sea front it is the best view in Seaton.
We hope you continue to enjoy your holidays with us in East Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    30
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
179
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westonzoyland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a very friendly guesthouse with comfortable facilities and an excellent breakfast. We enjoyed this our second stay there between 23rd and 26th June 2014 very much.
The guesthouse is in an ideal location directly opposite the beach and a good location to base yourself for water sports such as Kayaking. I was able to keep my Kayak by my car in the rear car park and simply wheel it across the road and down the beach for some very safe paddling in Lyme Bay and up the river mouth to Axmouth. It is also well placed for walking on the SW coastal path either to Branscombe or towards Lyme Regis, although there are currently a few path detours due to cliff falls. Lovely walks though. It is also very nice to walk the long Seaton promenade in the morning or evening. There are plenty of good places to eat locally and we can recommend a walk up the river to the Harbour Inn at Axmouth.
We will definitely be returning to The Mariners for another short break and Pat and Nigel's friendly hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 11 on the front is excellent and has a balcony overlooking the sea, which is lovely, but costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review .It is great to see your pictures of your sea trip .The pictures of you in Lyme Bay are ideal I am sure others who want to take to the water will be inspired.I am pleased you found our proximity to the sea ideal for the type of break you want .The South West Coastal path is always beautiful ,despite some of the changes to the route .The views of Lyme Bay from your balcony are really beautiful and of course must tempt you to take to the water .
It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay and will see you again soon.
Regards Pat and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have stayed here for many years; it just gets better this year had a cream tea wonderful! very clean; breakfast excellent bed very comfy now looking for a new one at home1 Pat and Nigel very friendly. Would never go anywhere else. Barbara and Don.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank You for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay yet again.It means a lot when guests return to us as it shows you are satisfied with your stay.I am thinking your stay has proved more expensive this year if you are going to buy a new bed following your comfortable bed here. .It is amusing because we did exactly that after a holiday before we had Mariners.
We do have new beds here as we try to provide quality Bed and Breakfast
We hope to see you again soon
Regards pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Paula and I stayed with Pat and Nigel for our 19th wedding anniversary. I chose the Mariners as the location seemed perfect - right in the heart of Seaton with views out across the sea. I went for room 11 which has a balcony and has been recently refurbished.

The room has a large Sony TV, very comfortable bed and modern, clean ensuite. There are even dressing gowns in the wardrobe. Towels are provided - white, clean and soft. The shower is powerful. There is also a drinks tray in the room with coffee, tea etc. and bottled drinking water - all free of charge. Fresh milk is also available downstairs (FOC) plus an honesty bar if you want coke or something else.

Parking is at the rear of the Mariners so you vehicle is off the main road and safe.

Finally, breakfast is great. Pat is a very gracious host and Nigel a great cook. The "full English" was lovely and the perfect size. We really cannot fault it.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The web site shows photos of each room. Some have sea views. We had room 11 and I can highly recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy_Coleman13C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank You for your review.Room 11 with the balcony and views of the bay is certainly a fitting place to celebrate your anniversary. We decided to supply dressing gowns with that room so you can enjoy an early morning tea on the balcony without having to be fully clothed. I am glad you liked them
.Fresh milk does seem popular and most guests appreciate it .I am pleased you enjoyed it .
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed breakfast .We have listed breakfast items so guests can choose those they like and choose the size of breakfast .It seems to suit all our guests .
I am delighted that you thought my service style was gracious.
We do hope you return again .
Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We found mariners lovely..clean and comfortable also very good value for money.People were very nice and helpful.And what can we say about the breakfast...it was out of this world...a big choice and a big varity,all freshly cooked...and their cream tea on certain dayswas really nice and worth going early for it ..all fresh scons and cakes.Certainly on the list for a re-visit.

Room Tip: There are rooms of various types...ground floor..upstairs with sea views etc.all very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review.I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mariners and in Seaton.
Nigel was pleased to hear your comments about breakfast .His training as a chef is certainly a great asset to our variety and quality of breakfast. He bakes the scones daily and like you many guests are enjoying the cream tea.
I do hope you make a return visit soon.
Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a great stay at this B & B. Lovely view of front from both the bedroom and the dining room. Helpful hosts. Great breakfasts. Lots to see and do around Seaton. Recommend the tram car ride, especially the bird watching trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaYaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank You for taking time to write a review.We do like to hear that guests have enjoyed the un-interrupted views from Mariners.Nigel was pleased to hear you enjoyed breakfast .We do aim to serve a freshly cooked breakfast with quality ingredients .We have a growing reputation for our breakfast and I feel it is due to Nigels expertise as a chef
.I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Tramway .This area along the Axe Valley has had a lot of new development and the Bird Watching is excellent .
We do hope to see you again in Future .perhaps at a different time of the season for the birds.
Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A very nice and clean hotel, and affordable. Nice people working in there and they help you about the attractions available in Seaton. I would recommend it to every one. Its a small town, and I can say its a good place to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank You for taking time to write a review .I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.We are very fortunate to have good staff and aim to take the time to tell guests about our area .We are proud of our lovely location and we enjoy giving tips about places to visit .
We hope you return to ,Mariners again soon.
Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
7.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners B&B

Property: Mariners B&B
Address: The Esplanade, Seaton ex12 2np, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners is set in a commanding position just yards from the beach.Mariners combines modern accommodation with a friendly relaxed atmosphere.The ensuite bedrooms -some with sea views have all been renovated and offer comfortable new beds ,crisp linen,flatscreen tv,s and many thoughtful extras.Served in the modern dining room breakfasts at Mariners have an enviable reputation due to skilful cooking of chef /owner Nigel.Guest Parking ,seafront terrace and honesty bar and comfortable guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariners B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners B&B Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing