We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glazebrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Brent
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding reception heaven”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family spent a fabulous few days at the Glazebrook for my son's wedding and how wonderful it was. Everything was meticulously planned and the bedrooms are just so comfortable - heated underfloor bathroom, beds like clouds, fascinating Alice in Wonderland decor - so innovative and interesting. A very special memory for us. We danced into the small hours, and were served with a sumptuous breakfast the next morning, with another special touch - a decorated plate with Congratulations for the bride and groom.

Room Tip: See my photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glazebrookhh, Manager at Glazebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Barbara, it was an absolute pleasure to host your son's wedding here at the Glazebrook House Hotel. We are so glad you and the rest of the wedding party enjoyed the rooms, food, atmosphere and memories created that weekend. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
198
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family and I dined at this wonderful hotel on June the 29th.
It's beautiful drive and grounds had us excited from the very beginning.
We had drinks on the patio whilst enjoying the fab gardens then took our meal inside.
The food was the best I have experienced yet and couldn't recommend the experience anymore!
A member of staff showed us the amazing rooms in great detail which added to our lovley evening.
Due to it's gorgeous food and attentive and friendly staff we are now thinking of having our wedding at this venue and are very excited to be heading back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mchughak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glazebrookhh, Manager at Glazebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for such an incredible review. We are so excited to host your wedding and make it the most memorable and special day for you. Can't wait!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the A38 we followed the little brown hotel signs and then up the drive to a beautiful period house. We had not booked and we were greeted by friendly staff who let us view the rooms available. The hotel has the theme of "Alice in Wonderland" and it was certainly like falling down the rabbit hole and then exploring all the delights on offer. The thought that has gone into the interior of this hotel is quite amazing and there is something to delight at every turn. The dining experience continued to impress us. The owner, Pieter, very kindly gave us a tour of his hotel and grounds in which he delights.

Room Tip: Every room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glazebrookhh, Manager at Glazebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are so happy that you discovered Glazebrook House Hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope that you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

You really cannot do this place justice in a review. It has to be seen to be believed. The hotel has been lovingly refurbished and exudes style, quality and luxury. It is the kind of place you really don't want to leave and one we will definitely return to.

The owners are amazing hosts and nothing was too much trouble. It really does feel like you are being welcomed into their home but with as much space and privacy you want.

The rooms are all amazing with so much attention to detail and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Best nights sleep for ages.

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough and we can't wait for another visit. We'll definitely check out the restaurant next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arc976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glazebrookhh, Owner at Glazebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We can't wait to have you back. Glazebrook is our passion and we are delighted we get to share it. Thank you for such a kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Where design meets cuisine, meets fantasy. The style and atmosphere of this hotel cannot really be summed up in an online article, you have to experience it for yourself. But look beyond the decor and you will see a dedication to providing a unique experience for the customer. The food is prepared by a small kitchen team so there is great attention to detail. Wine choice, comprehensive and quality throughout. This place is a must.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glazebrookhh, Owner at Glazebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Glazebrook House is truly a remarkable place and we are delighted to share it with you. We really appreciate your comments and can't wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Wow, where to start withthis hotel, it Is incredible!!!!!!
My family stay at this hotel a few weeks ago for my sister-in-laws wedding and it was fantastic. Hotel, staff and food all 5 star.
I have travelled and seen some amazing hotel but this hotel is probable one of the best I've stayed in. Thank you to staff and owner and I WILL be visiting again
Charlotte Parker

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glazebrookhh, Owner at Glazebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure accommodating everyone. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Used for family wedding reception with overnight stays plus extra days. Arranged before change of ownership so not quite sure what final state of house would be. Knew it would be quite different but it was pretty unique, especially for this area and worth seeing for decor alone.

Nothing was too much trouble, service was excellent and staff most welcoming - and each table was served each course within about 5 minutes it seemed from the start of service - food was excellent. Throughout, Pieter was around checking that everything was OK.

Bedooms amazing and very comfortable - everyone seemed to have had a good time.

Good Luck for the Future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different - ask what they have on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glazebrookhh, Owner at Glazebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review and allowing us the opportunity to host this special occasion. We hope that you come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,071 reviews
15.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,268 reviews
16.2 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
13.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
22.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glazebrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glazebrook House Hotel

Property: Glazebrook House Hotel
Address: A38 Glazebrook, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glazebrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, secluded grounds, glazebrook house is a luxurious boutique hotel and restaurant with eight unique rooms and a surprise around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glazebrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glazebrook House Hotel South Brent, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing