We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bed & (even better) Breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pack Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pack Horse
Ranked #4 of 7 South Brent B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Bed & (even better) Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at the Pack Horse for 1 night. We chose the Pack Horse on price and location and were not disappointed. Really comfortable, spacious room, and a fantastic breakfast. The website said "hearty breakfast" and i can confirm that to be true - lovely local food!

Bedroom and bathroom spotless. Plenty of hot water. Small TV and tea/coffee/kettle.

Only stayed for 1 night but could definitely stay longer.

Owners very hospitable, car park, small beer garden, centre of the village. What else can i say!

Room Tip: We stayed in "the Cob" - lovely views to the rear of the pub. Spacious, clean, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank r0sieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    45
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
94
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were visiting family who live in the area but don't have spare beds so wasn't looking for expensive, luxury accommodation with all the bells and whistles. The Packhorse offered a comfortable, spacious room, well heated and with plumbing that worked! I must also add that it was scrupulously clean and serviced daily all at a fair price. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't spend much time in the pub but ate in the bar one evening and had breakfast daily. The food was good quality and had the 'home cooked' appeal as opposed to microwave ready meal that some pubs serve. I did downgrade my score on sleep quality as the pillows felt like blocks of wood to me and one softer one would be nice next time.
Be aware new owners are taking over the pub very soon, so this report has a very short shelf life.

Room Tip: We had room 2 the twin room, and although there is very little noise from the bar you can follow the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a real Pub with great food and very comfortable beds. All the staff are friendly and you get the feeling that you are in a 'heart of the village, locals' pub. There are no 'plink plink buzz' video games blighting the 'oldie worldie' feel that the large open fire helps to generate. Give this little gem a go and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked here because the other b & b had closed. My family - who live locally - told me I was mad. I arrived on a cold, wet December evening and my heart sank. It fell further when I found the door of what was clearly a pub locked shut. I knocked. Someone came and I entered what seemed not have changed shine the 1950s. By this time my heart was in my boots.

Then I was taken to my room. Spacious, well furnished, warm, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. And very nice towels (so often a disappointment). Breakfast was whatever I wanted.

The people were friendly and welcoming. The price was £70 - which is above the going rate - but then this is a commercial business, not a private house. I have no complaints on that score.

However, I would say - as a lawyer of 50 years experience - that their "welcome" manual setting all sorts of restrictions and demands would have no legal effect at all - since they should be brought to a customer's attention BEFORE the contract was made. If you don't see them till you are in your room - then they are a waste of paper and ink. And give a slightly sour impression.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosman, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked on line from Australia for between Christmas and the new year and found when we arrived that it might have been an inconvenient time as the "no vacancy" sign was up and we were the only guests. However, the staff could not have been friendlier, the two rooms we booked were spotless and well appointed (even a new can of my favourite hairspray in the room - now that was thoughtful!!), and the breakfast first class. It was wonderful having the pub to ourselves in the morning. A terrific stay and great value.

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed is enormous and very well appointed. The twin room with great bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I booked for my parents to stay overnight on Christmas Eve, my credit card details were taken and the room confirmed. I then received a call to say my booking was cancelled unless we stayed for a further 3 nights. Apparently this was due to there being no cleaning staff available on Christmas Day. Very disappointing, we have used this pub for years but will now find someone more reliable and straightforward.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter45Devon, Owner at The Pack Horse, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
The booking was taken by mistake from one of our members of staff, which we are sorry for the misunderstanding. You were informed the next morning with our apologies. Our policy over the Christmas period is for a 3 night stay & has been for quite a number of years. But we did say that we could offer you a 2 night stay instead, which you declined. You have used us in the past and have never been disappointed, yet the one time we are unable to accommodate you, you feel the need to write a very one sided review out of spite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great relaxing, staff friendly and welcoming. Rooms spotless and beds and quilts the comfiest ever !! Breakfast so good and big did not manage to sample any local seafood !! Overall a good location for a short break..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wongdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
24.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Oak Inn
The Oak Inn
#5 of 7 in South Brent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#3 of 7 in South Brent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ivybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 7 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Property: The Pack Horse
Address: 1 Plymouth Road, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pack Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pack Horse is a family run bed and breakfast / pub. We offer a warm welcome to our four well proportioned en-suite rooms. We are positioned between Exeter and Plymouth, just off the A38 in the small but vibrant village of South Brent. The pub is traditional and offers a traditional pub grub menu seven days a week. We have a walled beer garden that has views of Dartmoor and is a sun trap for those relaxed afternoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Pack Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse South Brent, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing