We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant meal”
Review of The Oak Inn

The Oak Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 South Brent B&B and Inns
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant meal”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My partner and I visited the Royal Oak Inn for a meal with friends. We had a friendly welcome from the bar staff. The table which was pre-booked, was in a spacious room behind the bar. I remember it as originally a skittles/function room. However, it has now been done out very smartly as a restaurant, though in keeping with the Inn's village setting. Being vegetarians we opted for the Portobello Mushroom as the main course. It was very nicely presented and tasty, and the price at £7.50 was good value. It probably helped that the son of the Inn's owners is himself vegetarian. We didn't bother with the puddings, just had coffees to finish with. These were a good quality blend and nice way to round up the evening. I would have rated the meal as excellent, except that we had to wait around 45 minutes for the meals to be served up (we were given some free olives while we were waiting). However, this didn't spoil what was a pleasant evening in good company and a relaxed environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Unfortunately, only stayed one night and was not able to try the restaurant but if the breakfast was anything to go by, we missed a treat! Gorgeous fresh fruit salad with yoghurt and honey to start, followed by a delicious cooked breakfast which was not at all greasy. Room was spacious and immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. All toiletries provided and beautiful fluffy white towels - a girl's dream! Twin beds were comfy and again the bed linen was immaculate. The hostess was very welcoming and helpful.
Would definitely recommend this place (and I am not easily pleased ) Have told our friends who live locally that they canconfidently suggest this place for anyone to stay if they are visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ermington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Recently moved into the area and this place is only a 2 minute walk from my door , so obviously i was keen to see what my new local pub had to offer,
First impressions , very good, a warm welcome from John the guy behind the bar , the pub its self is nicely decorated , clean and very up together , the menu is not the largest i have ever seen , but the quality of the food on offer more than makes up for it .
I have eaten here 4 times , each time the food has been excellent and very resonably priced , the Sunday luch is very good value and beautifuly presented , but for me the ribs are a real winner, the menu says they are spare ribs , but in all honesty they are baby back ribs , and the meat falls off the bone , the rack is huge for UK portions , and they are without doubt the best ribs i have eaten outside the U.S,
The chinese style belly pork noodles are another winner too, lovely fresh flavours , with a nice subtle taste of chilli .
On the desert side of things , ive only had one so far , but the cider spiced apple crumble was the best i have ever eaten by a long shot .
Im lucky to have a place like this to call my local .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FERGVSFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Visited 31st July 2012, ordered food waited 40 minutes for it to arrive. Pasta cold, little taste, tomatoes huge ones cut into quarters, uncooked, menu stated cherry tomatoes. Garlic bread almost cold and very 'soggy'. Steak quarter inch thick, three inch diameter (two pieces), quite bland. Chip tasted and looked as if they had been re-heated. Sauce with steak, (mushroom) was tasteless.
One can only assume the resident chef was not on duty, in light of the previous comments.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank niggles113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Lovely clean spacious rooms in a friendly local pub. Super food, great choice of breakfasts and real ales.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The food was cooked to perfection with a good choice particularly at breakfast. Rooms were nice and clean and enough choice of drinks to keep you in the bar. Overall a nice trip in a nice quiet village.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexPooface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Located on the southern edge of Dartmoor, South Brent is ideal for walks to Avon Dam or to the Three Barrows.

Our room was spacious, very clean with a memory-foam mattress so we had a comfortable night's sleep. Thick curtains kept the light out in the morning. The bathroom was also clean and spacious with plenty of free toiletries provided. Flat-screen tv was on the wall, and there was a leather sofa in the room. Plenty of hanging- and drawer-storage; plus coat-hooks on the door.

Breakfast was well-cooked and certainly not stingy on portion-size. Plenty of options for cereal and cooked breakfast.

The pub itself is well-decorated in a modern style and serves local ales (Bays, Otter, Quercus and Dartmoor breweries were on tap).

We didn't eat in the evening on this visit.

Hosts were very friendly, polite and courteous. Even said thanks when we checked out.

We had tried to stay there last year and my only reservation in recommending this unreservedly is that next time we want to stay there it might be full!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
6.1 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
308 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pack Horse
The Pack Horse
#3 of 6 in South Brent
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#1 of 6 in South Brent
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Inn

Property: The Oak Inn
Address: Station Road, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak is a friendly, family run Inn at the heart of the Dartmoor village of South Brent. A complete refurbishment in 2008 now include a cozy bar, air conditioned restaurant, covered courtyard area, private function room and 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Inn South Brent, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing