We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oak Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hazelwood House(Loddiswell)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smithaleigh(Plympton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
33
16
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
16
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbreakfast was excellenttwo night stayone nightalesrevelationcornwallweddingcerealwalks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Pub food meets fine dining..... clearly the chef has been watching too many episodes of master chef. Small portions and over seasoned food! It a shame because the inside of the pub is very nice with a good atmosphere and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank spg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We went here for a few days of walking, horse riding and so on, but the pub was by far and a way one of the best parts of the long weekend.
Arriving friday afternoon, dropped the bags in the room (which was comfortable, well equiped with an en-suite of equal standards!) and down to the bar to sample the excellent selection of local ales.
The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was all of an excellent quality and if we hadnt been out and about in other places would have happily eaten there all weekend.
All staff were helpful and friendly and couldnt have done more to help.
We will definitely be returning..definitely for longer next time!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PigPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My partner and I visited the Royal Oak Inn for a meal with friends. We had a friendly welcome from the bar staff. The table which was pre-booked, was in a spacious room behind the bar. I remember it as originally a skittles/function room. However, it has now been done out very smartly as a restaurant, though in keeping with the Inn's village setting. Being vegetarians we opted for the Portobello Mushroom as the main course. It was very nicely presented and tasty, and the price at £7.50 was good value. It probably helped that the son of the Inn's owners is himself vegetarian. We didn't bother with the puddings, just had coffees to finish with. These were a good quality blend and nice way to round up the evening. I would have rated the meal as excellent, except that we had to wait around 45 minutes for the meals to be served up (we were given some free olives while we were waiting). However, this didn't spoil what was a pleasant evening in good company and a relaxed environment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Unfortunately, only stayed one night and was not able to try the restaurant but if the breakfast was anything to go by, we missed a treat! Gorgeous fresh fruit salad with yoghurt and honey to start, followed by a delicious cooked breakfast which was not at all greasy. Room was spacious and immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. All toiletries provided and beautiful fluffy white towels - a girl's dream! Twin beds were comfy and again the bed linen was immaculate. The hostess was very welcoming and helpful.
Would definitely recommend this place (and I am not easily pleased ) Have told our friends who live locally that they canconfidently suggest this place for anyone to stay if they are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Recently moved into the area and this place is only a 2 minute walk from my door , so obviously i was keen to see what my new local pub had to offer,
First impressions , very good, a warm welcome from John the guy behind the bar , the pub its self is nicely decorated , clean and very up together , the menu is not the largest i have ever seen , but the quality of the food on offer more than makes up for it .
I have eaten here 4 times , each time the food has been excellent and very resonably priced , the Sunday luch is very good value and beautifuly presented , but for me the ribs are a real winner, the menu says they are spare ribs , but in all honesty they are baby back ribs , and the meat falls off the bone , the rack is huge for UK portions , and they are without doubt the best ribs i have eaten outside the U.S,
The chinese style belly pork noodles are another winner too, lovely fresh flavours , with a nice subtle taste of chilli .
On the desert side of things , ive only had one so far , but the cider spiced apple crumble was the best i have ever eaten by a long shot .
Im lucky to have a place like this to call my local .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FERGVSFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews