We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh milk and flowers and a gorgeous dog!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
Ranked #1 of 6 South Brent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh milk and flowers and a gorgeous dog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I have just spent the weekend at Garfield House and we were thoroughly impressed. We felt very much at home there and free to come and go as we pleased. We have family in South Brent and prefer our own space when visiting. Staying at Garfield House was very convenient - just a 15 minute walk along the beautiful river bank into the town. We had some lovely walks from the house and straight into the countryside. We stayed in the Blue Room upstairs and, as others have mentioned, it is a delightful and luxurious room with fabulous views and an enormous bathroom. We were most impressed with the little touches such as fresh flowers in the room and a flask of milk (rather than nasty UHT tubs) and proper coffee plus cafetiere (we are self confessed coffee snobs!). Tony and Helen were wonderful and laid back hosts and Helen's son Alex cooked us an amazing English breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a night at Garfield House, an experience which I hesitate to associate with the term ‘B&B’ because this really was something quite different. The setting is idyllic: a beautiful cottage bursting with character close to a gorgeous little riverside walk leading to St. Petroc’s Church.

We arrived to freshly baked scones and tea in the ‘Blue Room’, a double aspect room, reminiscent of Beatrix Potter’s cottage, with views of South Brent valley and the moor. Later, we were very happy to have the opportunity to dine with our hosts, Tony and Helen, and it felt somehow like being with old friends as we ate delicious food, chatted and played jazz together.

The easygoing friendliness of Tony and Helen, their flexibility and their willingness to organise meals around our timetable, made this a unique experience unlike anything we have observed at a B&B previously. Our hosts were discreet and anonymous but made it clear that they were available to provide whatever assistance we might need.

Outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexKwondoSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

If you are looking for a 'home from home' in a stunning location with the friendliest of service, a spacious and delightfully comfortable, beautifully furnished room (where you'll sleep like a baby), want a fantastic en-suite, gorgeous gardens, fabulous home cooked food and to feel like nothing you asked would be too much, then look no further - here it is! And, if you want to take your much loved pooch with you then rest assured everyone (and definitely Charlie, the gorgeous 'I love everyone' chocolate Lab) will make him/her feel just as welcome.

We thoroughly enjoyed a perfect 3 night stay with Helen and Tony and loved every minute of it - do not hesitate to book at stay at Garfield House, you will love all of it and return home delighted with your find.

And, as mentioned on their website, we did indeed 'borrow' Charlie as (perfectly behaved) company for our Collie.

Just Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at Garfield House to attend a friend's wedding in South Brent - and what a fabulous place it is! The location is just stunning - not to mention Helen's gorgeous cream teas! We stayed in the garden room which is blissfully decorated, spacious and extremely comfortable - but what really makes Garfield House so special is the hospitality and warmth of the owners Helen and Tony (and of course their gorgeous chocolate lab Charlie!).
They have created a true home away from home and we are very much looking forward to our next Devon get away!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

arriving at Garfield House we were met by Owner Helen and the lovely chocolate labrador dog Charlie, who were exceptionally warm and friendly. The location was superb and the views amazing. With plenty of land for my 2 children to roam around and adventure in (there is even a huge trampoline in one part of the garden) we were taken inside to 'a home form home'. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, (we stayed in the upstairs en-suite) modern yet keeping within the look of the house. We had freshly cooked homemade meals every evening, which were decided upon our tastes and nothing was too much trouble. The owners are friendly and genuinelly nice people who are truly creating an experience for their guests. The house is amazing with 'real' fires that were lit of the evening, creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartmoorTony, Owner at Garfield House - Your Place in the Country, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Sasha
Thanks for taking the time to review, and for appreciating our efforts to provide a personalised "Your Place in the Country" experience.

Yes do come back soon, Charlie could do with the extra exercise!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just spent the most amazingly, blissful, relaxing and fun filled weekend at Garfield House in South Brent. We arrived to home made hot cross buns and a blazing fire in a beautiful cosy, family home, made by the fabulous chef Helen Tillot who lives in the house with her saxophone playing hubby to be Tony (don't worry he'll only play if you insist!) We indulged in gourmet meals made to our taste before us on the AGA cooker, whilst the kids ran wildly in the vast land that the property boasts - although they were mostly impressed by the humongous trampoline and tree swing! Our days were spent wandering around the nearby village of Ashburton where buying local produce is a must, as well as trawling through the fabulous little vintage shops where you can pick up a bargain or two. I'd recommend a visit to Sharpham Vinyard Cheese and Dairy too with their award winning cafe! Helen and Tony were the perfect hosts, friendly, kind, interesting and full of knowledge about the area - a perfect escape from the city!

Room Tip: Both rooms with en-suit were really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartmoorTony, Owner at Garfield House - Your Place in the Country, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Korin

We're really glad you had such a good time, and thanks so much for taking the time to say so in this review.

Come back soon!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We loved our time at Garfield House and will return again!

The blue room was lovely and spacious and had lovely views on to Dartmoor!

What made the stay, was the hospitality of Helan the owner. She was lovely and welcoming and did her best to cater for my food intolerance by making me fresh gluten free bread! These small touches made the stay worthwhile!

The b&b is in a good area with lots of different activities! We took our bikes and had great fun exploring Dartmoor!

I would recommend this warm b&b to those who want a peaceful stay and like good food!


  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla8419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartmoorTony, Owner at Garfield House - Your Place in the Country, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Carla

Cheers for taking the time to write this appreciative review.

As we deal with food intolerances in our own family we know first-hand the importance of catering for them when our guests require it.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
0.9 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
6.1 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pack Horse
The Pack Horse
#3 of 6 in South Brent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#2 of 6 in South Brent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield House - Your Place in the Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield House - Your Place in the Country

Property: Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
Address: | Aish, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garfield House - Your Place in the Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garfield House – Your Place in the Country. A unique country house offering luxury en-suite accommodation and gourmet meals, all delivered with panache. With wonderful views, rambling gardens and easy access to Dartmoor this is a spectacular place to stay and relax. The “Your Place in the Country” experience means beautiful en-suite accommodation, a selection of breakfasts, morning coffee and biscuits, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks, canapés and a gourmet dinner served with fine wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Garfield House - Your Place in the Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield House - Your Place In The Country South Brent, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing