We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming”
Review of The Avon Inn

The Avon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional English Bar with Restaurant. Huge Carpark & Beer Garden, dog friendly place, selling real ales and ciders & more! Straight off the A38 towards Totnes. Open All Day Every Day
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Haven't been to this pub in over 20 years but stopped here for old times sake. The staff were very welcoming and we asked to sit in the restaurant area although we weren't having food, only because that is where we used to sit!. Lots of choices of beer, we decided on the Bore Hole as it was locally made in Ipplepen, a lovely ale. Lots of choices of ales too. In the end we did decide to have some bowls of chips, although they were frozen chips, they arrived in a basket and there were lots of them plus sauce and mayonnaise. They were tasty, and looking at the food being ordered will definitely go back there to eat, huge portions and the pizza's looked lovely. A very enjoyable experience and won't leave it 20 years until we go back again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susan952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shellac2007, Owner at The Avon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review....was lovely remeniscing with you and hearing your stories.
Very much look forward to you returning and experiencing our full menu of which im sure will not dissapoint......yes the Pizzas are delicious and very highly recommended, but then again there is nothing on the menu that we feel would be a disappointment, sooooooooo we look forward to seeing you soon... keep an eye on our website for offers/events and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Driving from South Devon to Dorset we stopped at a "pub" for lunch. We were a little disappointed to see it wasn't Devon cuisine but Italian food - but we were delighted with the food and service and the whole experience. If only all pubs made such an effort to make visitors welcome and to provide such a delicious and varied menu. There were three of us and we al had a super lunch. The landlord and his wife (or so we assumed) were so charming and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amnylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shellac2007, Owner at The Avon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

How nice of you to put this on TA.... we would hope all our customers get a good service when visiting us, we do our utmost to make it a positive experience and pride ourselves on efforts, when in Devon again please pop in and say Hi ...... hope your journey wasn't to daunting with the glorious weather we were having at that time.... glad we satisfied your requirements. Thank you for taking the time to let others know your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We haven't been to the Avon Inn for a few years so last Saturday we arranged an evening meal
with the family, we all met up at 7.30 and enjoyed a lovely evening together! There was a nice
log fire, the staff were friendly and the menu catered for everyone, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves
and the food was excellent at sensible prices, we shall be back for more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shellac2007, Owner at The Avon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely review, we try our hardest at keeping the prices sensible with good qaulity foods, and we look forward to you returning in the not to distant future being fairly local to us. Keep an eye on our website for offers/events coming up.
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have lived in the Devon/Wayne area for 30 years and have no idea where your restaurant is located. The address listed under your name is not the least bit familiar so it might be a good idea to be more specific, i.e., the actual address. Obviously, I have never been there but had to fill out this survey to put my comment in.

Thank kapakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Even though they had some staff problems the service and quality of food was fantastic. Its a cosy place with a great atmosphere and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shellac2007, Owner at The Avon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi...thank you for your review, having 2 staff ring in sick on the same day is never good....but like you say we got through it and nothing was effected, so pleased you enjoyed your meals, we do our best and take pride in the result. We look forward to you coming back again soon to try the pizza's!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Avon Inn also viewed

South Brent, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
South Brent, Dartmoor National Park
 
South Brent, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Avon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing