We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chippy Tea.....”

The Boat House Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Rufford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a Traditional Brasserie - Serving Quality Home Cooked / Locally Sourced Food. We also serve the most amazing Home Baked Cakes !
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Last night, I booked a table for the first opening night of the 'Fish and Chips' themed evening. There was a fabulous selection of fishes to choose from, including Sea Bass and King Prawns. I ordered the Smoked Haddock and Lancashire Cheese fishcakes. They were huge!! And tasted divine. It came with home cooked chips, salad, coleslaw and tartare sauce. The portions are large and very filling, so I couldn't fit in one of the amazing cakes on display!. Yet again, Simon and Michelle have surpassed themselves, and even offer this themed food as a takeaway service. Can't wait till I return for more :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle J, Manager at The Boat House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks Maria.

Your great reviews mean a lot - not only to myself and Simon - but to all of the staff that help us in achieving these high standards.
Thank you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Came here with a party of 20, which I had pre-booked, the staff were great, the food and cakes were superb. Despite the fact we had a large party the staff were very calm and efficient, and every one of our party thoroughly enjoyed their food. Some of them want to come back at Christmas. We have been several times before and can only say we have never been disappointed either with the food or the service. On the day we went it was quite busy, due to the fact that the weather was glorious and it is such a lovely spot to have a walk around. Thoroughly recommend it. Go with an empty stomach or you will be sorry that you wont have room for a delicious cake!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle J, Manager at The Boat House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff and the food. We are so glad your whole party enjoyed themselves. It was a pleasure to serve such a lovely group of people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went on 30/ nov got to say what absolute spot on meal from moment we walked in to the door to moment we went out the door . Very . Good staff polite and pleasant . Only thing is 3 of us had to take deserts home .
We will be having another Xmas dinner here . Food hot we'll presented . Nothing to much bother . Thanks again tonyborrony

Thank tonyborrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle J, Manager at The Boat House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Definitely Christmas ! Thank you for your much appreciated custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Decent wedges of cake and pie, suspect it's all homemade, because fillings were plentiful and full of flavour just like you would make at home. Coffee good too. Looked at the menu and will be calling back for a meal, Sunday breakfast.........mmmmmm.

Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle J, Manager at The Boat House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your time out to review us. Yes all the cakes are Home-made on the Premises by our Qualified Pastry Chef Simon. The selection changes daily as well - so you will always see something new and different. But don't worry our Fruit Pies/ Custard Tart and Lemon Meringue are always there !
I look forward to seeing you for a Sunday Breakfast - you won't be disappointed ! We have lighter bites on now as well - Bagels and Wraps if you don't fancy a full breakfast. Well worth trying if you aren't a big eater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I ordered the Club Sandwich, and was open mouthed when it came! Superb doesn't come close. Stuffed full of chicken, bacon, avocado and tomato, and accompanied by salad and coleslaw, it was more than a match for me!!! The Boathouse is my favourite place to eat, ever!! The staff are amazing... nothing is too much trouble, and the owners Simon and Michelle are so kind and friendly. NEVER drive past without calling in.... you will be glad you did :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle J, Manager at The Boat House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Lovely review to read - Thank you.
And YES - The Club Sandwich is a winner... Yum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Brasserie also viewed

 
Rufford, Lancashire
Lathom, Ormskirk
 

Been to The Boat House Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing