We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rufford Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland(Leyland)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
205
59
21
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
59
21
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrufford armspork medallionson specchristmas lunchfamily mealmain roadreal alehotel restaurantmain mealblack puddingcentral heatinggreat nightstaff on receptionthe ground floorkeep up the good workcooked to perfectionexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We met here for a family lunch (9 of us). The restaurant doesn't have a lot of atmosphere but the food and the service more than made up for this. Our meals all arrived together without much delay, beautifully presented and all tasted delicious. Some of us then stayed on overnight. Our double room was clean but quite small (only one chair) and there are no public rooms apart from the bar (no seats) which is within the restaurant so, although the staff were happy for us to sit and chat at a spare table, it wasn't ideal as a place to relax. The reception is also quite bare, cold and unwelcoming (the area not the staff who try hard and are friendly). The hotel could really do with a makeover - not easy in the present economic climate - but would make a big difference especially to the overnight accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for your kind and constructive review. It's good to hear you enjoyed your visit!

We will certainly take your views in to consideration; especially with regard to the reception area which is due to receive a slight face-lift in a couple of months time.

We look forward to welcoming your party again in the future.

Kind regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just stayed one night at this lovely little hotel. The room was clean,warm and welcoming. We had an evening meal, they were still doing valentines meals, no complaints, food was great. In the morning we had full English breakfast which was cooked fresh, with toast, orange juice, tea,coffee and cereals. Had read reviews on this hotel (which was why I booked it) and was not disappointed. Close to Martin Mere nature reserve and Formby Point (great for seeing Red squirrels) .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm glad your visit was an enjoyable one!
I shall be passing your comments on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our first visit, from the moment we arrived the service was second to non, attention to detail, attentive but not intrusive, food was out of this world, have booked for Mother's Day can't wait thanks guys keep up the good work.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fluffybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit!

We look forward to seeing you on Mother's Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner with the Rotary club. Food and service excellent. I had pork loin, Madam had chicken both of which were fresh and perfectly cooked. This restaurant has been consistently good for some years and is among the best in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbertwesthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your review. So good to hear you had an enjoyable visit!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Thank you very much for making my mums 80th birthday a day to remember. I cant praise the Allexanders Brasserie enough. Quality of food and standard of service were excellent. We were made to feel special from the minute we arrived. Well done to all the staff. We will certainly be back. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marawly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for the kind words, I'm glad you all enjoyed your visit!

I will certainly be passing you comments on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews