We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful overnight stay on a package that was great value”
Review of Rufford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rufford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rufford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were staying overnight on Saturday and picked this hotel for its location close to Edge Hill University. We booked a package of bed, breakfast and evening meal and we were delighted with everything which really enhanced our celebratory weekend. All the staff are very helpful, hard working yet cheerful. Compliments to the chef who was serving a Christmas menu to a full restaurant yet the standard of cooking and presentation was amazing. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room13 was excellent.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSRRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Rufford Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

While visiting friends, we spent two nights at the Rufford Arms Hotel. We had the family room, which had been very spacious, clean and comfortable. The main bed had been very comfortable the pullout sofa was ok but fine for two nights.

We only made use of the breakfast table and we were very pleased to get good coffee in the morning. We felt it is more a hotel of adults. It was fine with our little children but we missed that extra touch for children on the breakfast table. Nothing major to complain just an observation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TantePenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for one night this weekend in connection with a family celebration. From the outside the hotel doesnt look particularly inspiring - however the rooms were clean, bed was extremely comfortable and the personnel helpful and friendly.

After the family celebration which was held down the road, one of my sisters and her husband, myself and my husband and our 2 children ended in the Hotel's restaurant. We had a very good meal and then, as we hadnt seen each other for at least 5 years, we sat until at least 23.00 talking and having a few drinks.

Despite the late hour, there was no chivvying us out, the staff remained friendly and the bill was very modest.

In the morning we had an exceptionally good breakfast.

All in all a very pleasant stay and a hotel we would stay at again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesnt face the road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Was pleased to be able to revisit the Rufford Arms Hotel with its adjacent restaurant Alexander's Brasserie. It didn't disappoint. The hotel is both very clean and comfortable and the restaurant is outstanding. The staff are constantly working hard; they are attentive but not obtrusive. The food is just excellent. This has to be one of my favourite places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

No breakfast incl in the room price, not offered or explained any dining facilities. modern and very clean. small and intimate, friendly hotel. location out the way but worth the value if you drive. Staff helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeSmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suelockwood, Owner at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for your feed back. I will pass on your comments with regards explaining facilities & dining. Apologies for the lack of information. I do hope however you managed to take advantage of the restaurant while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I tried Alexander's Brasserie at the Rufford Arms Hotel when I noticed they had recently joined the Tesco Clubcard (Reward) scheme. I wouldn't have known it existed otherwise. My partner and I booked a table for 7.30pm on Saturday evening. Just as well as it was busy when we arrived at about 10 past 7.
We were shown to our table and I ordered a Prosecco which turned out to be a small bottle. My partner was driving and so had sparkling water.
The vouchers can't be used for the set menu which was around £15 for 2 courses so we ordered off the a la carte which was very reasonably priced anyway. I chose a trio of smoked fish: salmon, trout and mackerel - the last one served warm on a bed of horseradish potato salad. Followed by pork medallions with corn, broccoli and spring onions with noodles. My partner had salmon and prawn fish cakes to start and then baked loin of hake. We were both offered a good selection of vegetables including carrots and swede which were in chunks and seemed to have been braised; broccoli, baby corn and green beans.
We both had a small bottle of red wine which was a reasonable quality.
The food was very good. Tasty and great flavour combos.
Service was good - two or three "check backs", very observant and friendly waiting staff but not intrusive. Atmosphere was friendly and not too noisy despite being busy.
Our final bill came to £57.90 - a reasonable sum considering the quality, made even better value with the vouchers.
I would go back, probably to try Sunday lunch. If it were closer to home (Chorley) we would be regulars.
There is currently a Christmas offer on. £110 per room for DB&B which we would definitely go for if we didn't live in the area.
Great place with absolutely nothing to fault.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank OscarsAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Good value hotel, nothing fancy (had the look of a Premier Inn but that was probably just the purple bedcover) but the room was always clean and tea & coffee making facilities were replenished each day. TV, hairdryer, shower gel provided. The adjacent restaurant, Alexander's Brasserie, was excellent with a good selection, all beautifully presented. Service was very good, staff very attentive. The hotel was easy to find, being on the main A59. There was low traffic noise all night but we did have the window open. Didn't stop us sleeping at all. If that particularly worries you, ask for a room upstairs at the back. Location ideal for visiting Martin Mere WWT and easy to get to all surrounding areas.

Room Tip: rooms at the back upstairs probably have less traffic noise, although was not a problem for us
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rufford
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
7.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
6.0 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
11.7 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufford Arms Hotel

Address: 380 Liverpool Road | Nr Ormskirk, Rufford L40 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Rufford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rufford
Price Range: £63 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rufford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rufford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufford Arms Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing