We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax close to the park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buena Vista Marahau Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to relax close to the park”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent four relaxing nights at the Buena Vista Apartments in the Tango unit. Apartment was clean and tidy and the cooking facilities were well appointed. Ideal location for day trips into the Abel Tasman National Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulnznl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Nicely laid out apartment I2 bedroom Salsa) with beautiful views from the deck. Lovely grounds. The owner was somewhat determined and inflexible about us paying immediately in cash, which seemed really strange. My sister had planned to go out on an excursion and a bit cornered about this. Also very eager to push us out in the morning, standing waiting and telling us that other people would be arriving. We were out by 10 on the dot!! Location is nice and quiet but a bit of a walk up the hill from Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikiBoyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed in the "Tango" apartement for two nights - lovely location with great views, well-equipped kitchen and very clean. Only a few minutes walk to all the main attractions of Marahau, but very peaceful and quiet - ideal for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in the salsa 2 bedroom apartment. Overall thought it was quite nice but needs updating and a bit of refining in terms of decor. Had good kitchen facilities and was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

A lovely place, very quiet (apart from the cicadas - remember to bring your insect repellant!) Glow-worms right outside the door. Great location, friendly hosts, really relaxing.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We spent 5 nights at Buena Vista. The location was really perfect for doing day hikes but the appartment needs some updating and regular cleaning.
The appartment was spacious but the bedroom with the twin beds had the roof slop and was a tad too small. It aslo got very very warm in the night as we were there in the middle of the summer. In both rooms, the beds/mattresses were not good enough and the non matching synthetic linen rather uncomfortable. So we did not sleep well.
The bathroom shower was very good and the towels of good quality. We liked that.
The living room/kitchen and outdoor terrace are of very good size but need to be kept cleaner: lots of dust/cob webs/dead insects.
There is a washing machine/dryer available for a cost. Unfortunately there is no cloths horse so you have to use the dryer.
We knew that the owner only accepted cash or travellers cheques, which in these days is inconvenient and unusual. But we were surprised when they asked for the money right when we arrived.
The owner is having a new house built just above the chalet where our appartment was. The builders were starting early in the morning (5am) and we had to complain to the owner for this to change. It did and the work started at 8am. To apologise for the inconvenience the owner offered us a bottle of wine which was very nice. All in all, a really good location and an ok place to stay but it needs new beds, new linen, new sofa and a good hoovering!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maburty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Tango cabin. Kitchen-diner-lounge plus separate bedroom and bathroom. We had verything we needed. Cabin overlooks the house and out towards the ocean. Christa and Herman were delightful hosts - helping us out on several ocasions and making sure we were welcome. Location was perfect for the Abel Tasman Park entrance, the Water Taxis and the other facilities. Christa tipped us off before we arrived to do a big shop in Nelson for self-catering needs before arriving. The local shops had most things as well - perhaps a few dollars more.
Definitely a highlight of our New Zealand holiday - Thanks Christa :-)

Room Tip: Book ahead - this is a popular resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
9.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
262 reviews
2.0 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
52 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#2 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Marahau Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Marahau Apartments

Property: Buena Vista Marahau Apartments
Address: 71 Marahau Valley Road, Abel Tasman National Park RD2, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing