We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience at Split Apple retreat was incredible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Split Apple Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I have been fortunate to have stayed in some of the top hotels and resorts in the world and Split Apple Retreat is certainly in that category. The retreat is perfect in every way. Each guest's health and wellness is addressed by infrared saunas, new technology meditation, massages and delicious, personalized cuisine. The retreat itself is breathtaking by its Zen-like Japanese architecture and gardens. You are also surrounded by the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park with golden sands, turquoise waters and blue skies. It was definitely a unique retreat and one we hope to return to very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klcaviness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my first time in New Zealand and Split Apple Retreat was an amazing introductory experience to this paradise. I am constantly on travel and stay at the best hotels in the world, but this retreat is a special experience not to be missed.

Lee and Pen are amazing hosts, offering a wide arrangement of activities including: kayak, meditation, massages, personal training, hiking, fishing, etc. There are only three suites in the retreat for privacy and attentive care. Another highlight was the food. Pen and staff prepare every meal tailored to your dietary needs and they are some of the healthiest gourmet meals I've had.

Overall, it was one of the best 9 days I've experienced. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nojennyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our hosts, Lee and Pen, have brought hospitality to a new level. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 evening stay. We began each day with a meditation session, in the plush theatre seats, wearing specially designed headphones. Pen's culinary skills are magical. She has the truly unique skill of bringing out the full favors of natural, healthy ingredients. The four year old facility is tastefully decorated with collectable Asian art, which adds to the relaxed atmosphere. Speaking of relaxation, the Thai massage is remarkable. The retreat's state of the art audio/visual system is a real plus. Our secluded suite was extremely comfortable. The ensuite bathroom, with incredible views, are the best we have experienced. Split Apple is definitely a highlight of our seven week journey in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephsmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Ritz Carlton's in the USA, the top hotels in Paris, and Richard Branson's reserve in South Africa. But Lee's Split Apple Retreat is a whole other level of luxury. The word retreat is quite fitting as the place is situated on top of a cliff and surrounded by lush gardens and expansive views of the Abel Tasman National Park and sprawling turquoise Bay. We stayed in the Fuji Room but all 3 rooms have their own private decks that look out at the water. They are also all situated so that you can't see the other rooms' decks, making privacy a key to the place. The infinity pool and outdoor spa were peaceful and we had them all to ourselves. We also used the Detox Steam Room which was awesome and we loved our dual shower head bathroom with its own views of the stunning waters below. The food here is the cherry on top. Pen's the head chef and is so inventive with healthy food that you wouldn't even know it was healthy! You even get a free cookbook of her beautifully presented and delicious recipes to take home with you. They have a private beach and a second practically private beach where the water taxi can pick you up to bring you kayaking or hiking/tracking in Abel Tasman. It was a heavenly experience and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I travel a lot and have visited some of the nicest retreats and hotels in the world, however this place was something on another level! Starting with being located in the wonderfully beautiful and serene country side of New Zealand, you are warmly welcomed into a Japanese themed place of relaxation. Lee goes out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible and to accommodate any needs or requests, and his wife Pen is seemingly always in the kitchen coming up with the most creative, delicious and healthy food you can possibly imagine. While you can spend most of your time fully enjoying the retreat itself, there are also multiple fun things you can do nearby. Truly impossible to go wrong with this place! I'll definitely be back...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Split Apple Retreat was definately the finest Lodging experience we had during our fabulous six week trip to New Zealand. Lee and Pen are such special hosts and have created such an incredibly beautiful, thoughtful environment that is focused on health and wellness with the perfect balance of indulgence. The meals and service are second to none and the privacy is incredible. We had fantastic massages and the spa was excellent, especially the infared sauna, AKA "The Detox Box." Pen also does very thorough, informal cooking classes that are a lot of fun. Thank you Lee and Pen for an unforgettable experience and for your lovely company. We can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roniece_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Encountering some restful "time out" in a Beautiful, exquisit location was what I wanted. Accommodation that also provided rejuvenating and healing activities was what I needed.
Split Apple Retreat provided this and much more …
Lee and Pens' secluded luxurious dwelling rests …….
Overlooking an incredible ocean view. The swimming pool is also a feature. The Water choices are plentiful. ( Whether to view , exercise or relax in.)
I loved the architecture of this building. It is tasteful and inspiring- adourned with wonderful Japanese and Burmese ancient art. The overall feeling gave a treasured quality that held you.
The combination of Lee and Pens personalities created a relaxed environment plus they really want you to have more than a great stay.
Pens' vigilent ,loving gift for food was more than tasteful and amazing. Her talent for cooking, preparing and presenting was phenonomal.
Besides this incredible experience with food, I enjoyed just being their because of the environment of the building and what Pen and Lee naturally gave to make your stay wonderful.
Thank you Lee for your enthusiastic encouragement.
Tracy

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
10.7 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
259 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
704 reviews
22.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Apple Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Retreat

Address: 195 Tokongawa Drive | Rd2, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range: £1,105 - £1,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Split Apple Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Split Apple Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing