We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond words”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Split Apple Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lee and Pen have truly created a very unique retreat that caters to every sensual experience possible. The caring and relaxed attention from Lee as he leads you toward beneficial health and lifestyle choices is complimented by Pen's gentle charm that she translates to food with a passion. The stunning art , antiques and architecture are set within a window on what must be the most beautiful part of NZ . There is no place like it !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulorinoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Split Apple Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

My stay with Lee and Pen was an experience that I will never forget. The bedroom missed no detail and the view from it was quite the most stunning one could imagine. One was totally spoilt with Pens ability to produce wonderfully flavoursome and healthy food. Every need is met in this beautiful resort. It was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lee and Pen have developed a truly exceptional experience for their guests.

The location looks out on one of the most beautiful vistas in New Zealand, and the architecture captures the views perfectly. You wake to look out on a view of the sea, islands and sky that is a perfect start to the day. The Nelson region has a multitude of options for recreation, or you may choose to relax at the resort.

The attention to detail in the architecture, and landscaping is an ongoing process of discovery during your stay. The quality truly matches the promise.

The holistic experience of fabulous food, wellness (as you chose to experience it), and relaxation is unique.

You will find Lee and Pen perfect hosts, who will cater enthusiastically and thoughtfully for your needs; and provide the privacy to relax and make the most of your time.

Split Apple Retreat is unique in New Zealand, I would be most surprised if you would find this level of expertise and service delivered personally anywhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms are all designed to capture the views, and each has a private garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant123846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Unique is a much overused word but it is the only way to describe this retreat which overlooks the pristine costal scenery of the Tasman Bay in the North West of the South Island of New Zealand. Set in a beautifully crafted Japanese garden the accommodation and facilities are among the best I have experienced anywhere in the world with every modern hi tec. convenience and comfort in a serene ambience created by the hosts Pen and Lee. For those who want it Lee provides a wellness programme which allows guests to leave their cares at the door and return to the world happy and relaxed. All of this is supplemented by an excellent wine cellar and Pen's cooking which is among the best I have experienced anywhere.

Room Tip: They are all good with equally fine views over the bay
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toto381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My fiancé and I had the absolute privilege of spending two nights with Lee and Penn. The cooking was amazing (thanks Penn), the host entertaining and informative, and the facilities outstanding. Imagine waking to a panorama of coastline, sparkling sea, islands and drifting yachts. A meditation experience, followed by a sumptuous, healthy breakfast, a sauna, a soak in a hot tub and a walk down to a beach area of golden sand. You cannot help but experience and soak up the peace and tranquility that exudes from this retreat.
Each meal was a gastronomic delight and had the added benefit of also being healthy!
I cannot speak highly enough of this slice of paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calamari1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I have been fortunate to have stayed in some of the top hotels and resorts in the world and Split Apple Retreat is certainly in that category. The retreat is perfect in every way. Each guest's health and wellness is addressed by infrared saunas, new technology meditation, massages and delicious, personalized cuisine. The retreat itself is breathtaking by its Zen-like Japanese architecture and gardens. You are also surrounded by the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park with golden sands, turquoise waters and blue skies. It was definitely a unique retreat and one we hope to return to very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klcaviness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my first time in New Zealand and Split Apple Retreat was an amazing introductory experience to this paradise. I am constantly on travel and stay at the best hotels in the world, but this retreat is a special experience not to be missed.

Lee and Pen are amazing hosts, offering a wide arrangement of activities including: kayak, meditation, massages, personal training, hiking, fishing, etc. There are only three suites in the retreat for privacy and attentive care. Another highlight was the food. Pen and staff prepare every meal tailored to your dietary needs and they are some of the healthiest gourmet meals I've had.

Overall, it was one of the best 9 days I've experienced. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nojennyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
10.7 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Apple Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Retreat

Address: 195 Tokongawa Drive | RD2, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — Split Apple Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Split Apple Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing