We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Split Apple Retreat
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Awaroa Lodge(Abel Tasman National Park)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
West Plaza Hotel(Wellington)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
CityLife Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Trinity Hotel(Wellington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
139
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealthy foodasian artnew zealandmuseum qualitydetox boxevery mealthree roomslife changing experiencehis lovely wifecooking classan understatementpersonal attentionnatural settingabel tasmanworld classdietary restrictionsluxury accommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived after 30 minutes drive through breathtaking Nelson and arrived at the base of the Abel Tasman National Park, one of NZ's highest rated attractions, and it's a no brainer to see why.
The Split Apple has it all. A Japanese inspired architecture and decor filled with antiques and top of the line luxury conveniences. Killer views of the Tasman Sea,- astounding clouds, dolphins, birds, placid sea , and excellent weather. We stayed only two nights but it was the height of our NZ experience. Actually, one of our best stay anywhere ever- and I've been traveling in Asia and Oceania for over 45 years. Book well in advance. Only a few suites and they have a loyal annual returning clientele.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lotus room. Views of some rooms are available on line.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We agree with all the previous reviews mentioning the highlights of this unusual and unique property. We stayed with Lee and Pen over Easter weekend. Every detail was attended to during our stay including reservations for activities in advance of arrival and food preferences while we were there. Pen is an extraordinary cook and everything you eat will be delicious and healthy. Lee maintains a vast and interesting wine cellar which we really enjoyed! The views from each room are spectacular and so private that you feel you are the only ones staying there. The Japanese soaking tub and dual showers were amazing as well as the steam room and "detox box."
Treat yourself to this wonderful hotel and you will have a lasting memory of your stay in Abel Tasman and New Zealand as we did!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lee and Pen have truly created a very unique retreat that caters to every sensual experience possible. The caring and relaxed attention from Lee as he leads you toward beneficial health and lifestyle choices is complimented by Pen's gentle charm that she translates to food with a passion. The stunning art , antiques and architecture are set within a window on what must be the most beautiful part of NZ . There is no place like it !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulorinoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My stay with Lee and Pen was an experience that I will never forget. The bedroom missed no detail and the view from it was quite the most stunning one could imagine. One was totally spoilt with Pens ability to produce wonderfully flavoursome and healthy food. Every need is met in this beautiful resort. It was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lee and Pen have developed a truly exceptional experience for their guests.

The location looks out on one of the most beautiful vistas in New Zealand, and the architecture captures the views perfectly. You wake to look out on a view of the sea, islands and sky that is a perfect start to the day. The Nelson region has a multitude of options for recreation, or you may choose to relax at the resort.

The attention to detail in the architecture, and landscaping is an ongoing process of discovery during your stay. The quality truly matches the promise.

The holistic experience of fabulous food, wellness (as you chose to experience it), and relaxation is unique.

You will find Lee and Pen perfect hosts, who will cater enthusiastically and thoughtfully for your needs; and provide the privacy to relax and make the most of your time.

Split Apple Retreat is unique in New Zealand, I would be most surprised if you would find this level of expertise and service delivered personally anywhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms are all designed to capture the views, and each has a private garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant123846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews