We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with an amazing view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This B&B is about 5-10minutes from the Motueka city center, but with the beautiful view from their backyard, we don't mind the drive. This Scottish style castle is one of a kind. It sits on top of a hill, and overlooking the whole bay and town, it is just spectacular!!

We had the downstairs room. It has a separate door to the outside, which is convenient so we don't have to use the main door of the house to get in & out. We stayed 2 nights here.
Our room and bathroom are clean, and there's even an electric kettle for us to make tea/coffee, and chocolate bars too. Jim & Sue are just such a wonderful hosts. Sue is a very good cook (yummy homemade bread, and muffins for breakfast!!).

Thank you, Jim & Sue!!

Room Tip: downstairs room has a separate door to the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We were late getting in, but our delightful hosts, Jim & Sue waited a delicious homemade dinner for us. In the dark the driveway seemed to go into the sky with the 360 panorama of Nelson's lights below. This B&B is a modern "castle built on Jim Fraser's Scottish roots and NZ upbringing. We had wonderful recommendations for local eating and activitie...kayaking to see newborn seals and a hike on the coastal trail at the end of the paved road into Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here prior to walking the Abel Tasman Way and liked it so much, we went back for a night afterwards. I agree with all the other reviewers. Great views, and Jim and Sue are a lovely couple who make you very welcome. Sue is also a very good cook and we enjoyed 2 excellent meals.

Room Tip: Upstairs is marginally better but we stay downstairs as well and still had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Fraser Highlands. The Abel Tasman area is just spectacular and the B&B stands at the top of a ridge to provide a view unlike any other. The driveway that leads to the property is a long gravel/dirt road that takes you up the hill and through the beautiful foliage that characterizes the region. As you arrive at the front door, you'll find the castle-like architecture of the house impressive, but you will be nothing short of amazed at the view. As other guests have said, this B&B is slightly off the beaten track, but that's usually what I strive for in my travels. You can find other places closer to the beach, but we enjoyed this ocean-view location high atop the ridge, which allowed us to more easily explore other parts of Abel Tasman and beyond. The hosts, Jim and Sue, were extremely nice. They are healthy eaters and their breakfast reflected that, which we loved. We stayed in the main "castle," and I think next time -- if we can make it back to New Zealand from the U.S. anytime soon -- we would opt for the cottage for more privacy. We wanted to be in the main house so as to more easily meet other guests during our first trip to kiwi country, and indeed we did, including a family from Brazil. And while the house looks like a castle on the outside, the inside is very cozy and comfortable. Our room on the second floor had stunning views out to the ocean. My only wish is that we had more time to stay and enjoy the beautiful setting that Fraser Highlands provides.

Room Tip: Choose the cottage if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvySojourns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Jim built this one for his wife in a fantastic location on top of a hill looking down to the sea.
Lovely spacious house. Our own door in to the house. the biggest bath in New Zealand ( possibly) and lovely relaxed hospitality from Jim and Sue. - no hesitation top marks.
Be aware though that you are a little off the beaten track. you really need a car (or be one of those mad cyclists who seems to enjoy hills I suppose) to get in and out.It s a few miles to Motueka or Kaiteriteri and about a km along a track once you get off the road.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank alanCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at Fraser Highlands, more than in any other B&B in NZ. The reason for the long stay is simply to explain: The hospitality of Sue and Jim is outstanding, the estate is gorgeous, the view is stunning and the spot is just perfectly situated for exploring Abel Tasman and other nice places like Golden Bay.
We spent the four days in the upstairs room, which is spacious and gives you a good feeling of privacy. Every day you get amenities like small chocolates - the WIFI works perfectly.

The downstair room is similar, just a little bit smaller, but has a direct access to the garden.

Thank you both for making our stay so comfortable, we felt home far away from home!

Room Tip: For all who are planning to stay in Fraser, we truly can recommend the cottage. We were allowed to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cako2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spend two lovely, relaxing nights at Fraser Highlands in the little cottage on their property.

We loved our time there and were very impressed with the gorgeous cottage which was absolutely impeccable!

Sue and Jim were perfect hosts! We accidentally left our phone behind and they were super fast in getting in touch with us and didn't hesitate to put it on a courier to us the very next day.

Thank you so much for a very special stay (we were on honeymoon after all), we'll remember it forever and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
13.8 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
351 reviews
16.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
189 reviews
4.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
510 reviews
2.3 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Highlands Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Highlands Retreat

Address: 177 Riwaka-Sandy Bay Road, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range: £93 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Highlands offers unrivaled views in the Abel Tasman and Nelson area (just read our reviews!). Our accommodation options include two fabulous b&b suites; downstairs has private external access, upstairs an additional 'family room' offering with the adjacent leisure room. Both have fantastic views of the surrounding area.If you'd like a little more privacy we have a gorgeous one bedroom cottage. The cottage is completely self-contained and includes full kitchen, laundry, bathroom, optional lounge sofa bed and free WiFi. Relax with a book on the balcony and views... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fraser Highlands Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing