We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FELT LIKE HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent three nights in the this wonderful B&B with two of the most attentive and lovely people, Sue and Jim. The B&B sits high atop a hill overlooking the valley and beyond to the sea and resembles a Scottish Castle. We stayed in the Glencross Room. The room was large, bright, comfortable, quiet and had a view to die for! Sue and Jim were extremely helpful in helping us determine how to best spent our three day. Unfortunately, I didn't feel well one day and Sue called into town and made an appointment for me to see a doctor. Turned out to be nothing but Sue's concern was comforting. Sue's muffins are THE BEST. We highly recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Fraser Highlands Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

We spent 24 days touring New Zealand and spent four days here. This was our favourite place on a vacation which had no lows. The location is amazing, great views, peaceful and great for star gazing. The accommodation was so comfortable. We had the downstairs room with its own entrance which made access to/from our car. But the stars of Fraser Highlands are the Frasers themselves - Jim and Sue. Such a lovely welcoming, friendly, helpful couple. I so hope we may return and see them again.

Room Tip: Duncan room on the ground floor has its own access.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simondp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed in the delightful self catering cottage for 3 nights in February 2013. The cottage was well equipped with the added benefit of a washing machine. The views were excellent only beaten by the wonderful hospitality of Jim and Sue. The surrounding area is lovely with plenty to do but we enjoyed the peace and quiet and views from the cottage so much we spent most afternoons just relaxing on the deck. A special thank you to Jim for the playing a special request on his bagpipes. The memory of Jim playing the bagpipes from the roof of his castle as the sun set will remain with us for a very long time and was a highlight of our 4 week tour of New Zealand.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet with unbeatable views you cannot beat the self contained cott...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at Fraser Highlands in December 2012 and enjoyed Fraser Highlands very very much. Not only because of the great views it has to offer but especially because of Sue and Jim being such warm-hearted and dedicated hosts. They really wanted us to have good time there, being always prepared to help with anything we asked for - and Sues muffins are just delicious (I am sure she wouldn't want me to write that....). Staying there for 3 nights we got the opportunity to not only visit the Abel Tasman - which no doubt is a "must-do" - but also drive up the lovely Golden Bay. Jim can tell you the secret spots and always has some good advise.... The Fraser Highlands is a home away from home and can absolutely be recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JundA_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at Fraser Highlands over the New Year period with my two young children. Sue and Jim were amazing hosts and accommodated the children's every need and as a parent this was one of my main concerns. Every parent wants to be able to relax while their children have fun too. My 4 year old daughter keeps asking to go back to the castle.
Beside the fact that Sue and Jim are wonderful people their property is also spectacular. Waking up in the morning to breakfast over looking the Able Tasman. Priceless!!! The best part about it is you can stay at the Highlands and relax enjoy the views, read a book or go out exploring. There is so may things to do right on your doorstep. Book in and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It was my first time to New Zealand, and what a great experience it was. I can not recall meeting nicer people. 'Jim and Sue you were brilliant!'. On top of that the view over the ocean was breathtaking. What a great location! It is a 'must' on any traveller's itinerary and so conveniently located. There is no doubt I will be back. What a great way to have spent my New Year. Thank you Jim and Sue!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schalk_vanvuuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I, with our two daughters (3 y.o and 1 y.o) stayed in Fraser Highlands for a few nights over the New Year period. For the entire duration of our stay, our lovely and gracious hosts, Jim and Sue, really made us feel like it was our home away from home. Traveling with two young children can be challenging at times but at Fraser Highlands, it felt like nothing was too 'difficult' - they had high chairs, plenty of space for the children to run around, a sandpit, amazing array of toys and a swing that gave you the most fantastic vista. Jim and Sue were so accommodating and helpful and really went out of their way to ensure that our stay was special one. Also, as they are seasoned grandparents, they are absolutely amazing with the kids.

The views from the property are simply breathtaking. We have had the privilege to travel around the world and stayed in many places; but the view atop Fraser Highlands really is something rather extraordinary. The azure seaviews, lush green mountains and golden sand - it feels that words simply cannot do it justice. Waking up to views like that is guaranteed to ensure you forget about the stresses of life.

There are 4 (B&B) rooms in the main house and a standalone self-catered cottage on the property. The cottage is probably best suited for couples/honeymooners as it offers complete privacy. The main house is suited to both families and couples with the added bonus of being offered the opportunity to sample Sue's homemade bread and muffins and the array of delicious food on offer for breakfast.

As per previous reviews, Jim and Sue has great local knowledge and offer great advice on the activities around the area. We wished we could have stayed longer as there is simply so much to do and see (despite the limitations of traveling with young children). The beaches are fantastic and walks through the Abel Tasman National Park are beautiful.

Also, apparently Nelson and surrounding are get the most days of sunshine in South Island in a year, so you will be almost guaranteed to have decent weather traveling to this part of NZ!

All in all, our stay could not have been more perfect and we look forward to our next trip to Fraser Highlands!

Room Tip: If traveling as a family, you're best to choose a room (or two rooms depending on the ages of yo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
13.8 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
398 reviews
2.8 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
174 reviews
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
43 reviews
3.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Highlands Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Highlands Retreat

Address: 177 Riwaka-Sandy Bay Road, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range: £72 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Highlands offers unrivaled views in the Abel Tasman and Nelson area (just read our reviews!). Our accommodation options include two fabulous b&b suites; downstairs has private external access, upstairs an additional 'family room' offering with the adjacent leisure room. Both have fantastic views of the surrounding area.If you'd like a little more privacy we have a gorgeous one bedroom cottage. The cottage is completely self-contained and includes full kitchen, laundry, bathroom, optional lounge sofa bed and free WiFi. Relax with a book on the balcony and views... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fraser Highlands Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing