We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many things have gone wrong” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too many things have gone wrong”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Awaroa Lodge

A lot has changed at Awaroa Lodge since our last visit a few years ago.

Room

Our room was perfectly adequate other than the bathroom. When we booked back in November a twin room was not available so we opted for two rooms. When we checked in we were given a twin room and a double. Better systems / management would have offered this option earlier and allowed the hotel to offer the room to others.

The bathroom was substandard for a room costing $350+ a night.
The room was damp and lit poorly. The bathroom stayed wet all day and the water pooled in the pebble built in bath mat. There is almost no chance of the towels drying so the suggestion that they should be kept for more than one day is just daft. The single lamp in the bathroom failed at 6.05pm. This was reported to reception who informed me that they would be right onto it. When I visited the room at 8pm it was not fixed. At this point the general manager spoke to me and dispatched someone to fix it. After a few minutes I returned to the room to be told it was not an easy fix. I had to advise that it was not satisfactory to leave us without lighting in the bathroom. Fixing broken lights should not require management intervention at any hotel, particularly as there is another review on trip advisor with the same issue.

We returned to our room at about noon on the first day, and we're very surprised that the room had not been serviced. We had to call reception to ask for a clean, and were told that the rooms were being cleaned in turn. Our room was not serviced till mid afternoon. For the price I anticipated the rooms being serviced twice a day.

The beds were comfortable and the linen good.

Food

The menus did not change in the three days we were there. Dinner was a choice of chicken, beef, lamb, duck, fish. The food is well presented and tasty but does not appear to vary at all. It's unclear if the chef "cooks by numbers" or whether they had any flexibility to include fresh food from the organic garden. Peppers promote the gourmet experience, however there is little evidence that this anything more than marketing. Chefs could make a lot more of food grown in Awaroa's organic garden. It would be nice to be given some teasers or have access to free nuts or bar snacks particularly as guests are pretty much captive.

Travelling with kids requires careful timing to ensure they are not overly hungry or overly tired. One night we had pizza for the kids from the adjoining pizza cafe. Unfortunately the food arrived 40 minutes late which meant we had stroppy kids.

Food is priced appropriately but the cafe experience was not great. It might be better to have table service in the cafe rather than ordering at the bar. Being told that the muffins were about to arrive by boat destroys the illusion of a Gormet experience.

The bold text "sugar" on the sugar pourers devalues the experience in the cafe. The Peppers Gormet poster is out of place.


Service/hotel

The biggest mishap while we were at the hotel was caused by the floors being cleaned at 7.50am. One of our guests slipped on the wet floor and fell badly. The general manager listened carefully to what happened and informed us that the communal areas would be cleaned at night from now on. She also did not charge us for a night.

Until we complained about the light and the wet floors no management was evident at the lodge. Suzanne Wells has told us she is ordering staff badges.

Finally, there is a notice board by the dinning area showing how Awaroa was converted from an Eco Backpackers to a luxury lodge. The ethos in the NZ Home and Garden article and the cutting from the Nelson Mail show that Awaroa was designed to be a special low impact place that espouses quality and refinement. Unfortunately today's reality is not what it was. Many small things have so devalued the experience that I can no longer recommend this once wonderful lodge in this amazing location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lambton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    88
    45
    43
    20
See reviews for
58
189
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Check in and let them know a light is out in the bathroom. Two requests later, still no new bulb. How can they be touting Eco lodge, when they supply plastic gloves and meat bait to feed the eels? Is this Sea World or what? Our room was "standard", which means it was located right off the dining room, privy to every noise and conversation from the the kitchen and the staff. That and the motorized car that zoomed around with luggage and staff pizza delivery, left something to be desired, as far as peace and quiet, in an otherwise pristine environment. For some reason, the front desk, and apparently management, closes as 7 pm, leaving one to wonder, who's minding the store ??

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This lodge is truly a diamond in the wilderness...not really wilderness but the abel tasman park is gorgeous and this was a wonderful place to stay. We took hikes along the coastal track and found beautiful vistas. We fed eels saw glow worms and enjoyed the beaches. The weather was perfect as was our room. The 5 of us stayed in a family room and it was a great choice. Loved the conveniences of the water taxi - perfect start to our New Zealand vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlaYuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, General Manager at Peppers Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Kia Ora MarlaYuke

I am very pleased that you all had such a great time with us at Peppers Awaroa Lodge.

We are fortunate that we live in a great enviroment with wonderful beaches and truely great walks.

I am pleased that you especially enjoyed feeding our eels and visited the glow worms during your visit.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to New Zealand and look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Awaroa Lodge in the future.

Kind Regards

Suzanne Wells
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The Awaroa Lodge is a great place to stay if you're looking for a nice hot shower, good food and drinks and a comfy bed in a quiet surrounding after a day of hiking in Abel Tasman National Park.

We walked 15k of the Coast Track towards the lodge and in the mean time had our luggage dropped off by the Aquataxi. Good service!

I would, however, recommend to use the Sea Shuttle (another water taxi company). They have bigger and more comfortable boats, and they can get you on the beach without getting your feet wet, which is a big plus if you have a hike ahead. They can also take your luggage to the lodge. Had we known, we wouldn't have booked Aquataxi.

The lodge is situated right in the middle of the Coast Track. So quite a unique location. I guess that's why prices are relatively high. Staff is young, but very enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. And they go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.

I wouldn't go as far as to call it overpriced as some reviewers do. I thought it was pricy, but it all depends on what you can spend. The price is well compensated by its uniqueness. Would definitely recommend this place! ;-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NigrarumOvium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, General Manager at Peppers Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Kia Ora NigrarumOvium ,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay with us at Peppers Awaroa Lodge.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable comfortable stay with us and that the staff were friendly and helpful. The water taxi services are indeed great, especially in providing transfers of your luggage to Awaroa Bay, so that our guests can hike into the Lodge. We are happy to assist in transfering all guest luggage from the water taxis to the Lodge, so bags are available on arrival, taking the worry out of getting your luggage up here.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to Peppers Awaroa Lodge.

Kind Regards
Suzanne Wells
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The lodge is set in an amazing spot - loads of great things to see and do in the area. Really stunning. There are also all sorts of hidden gems to discover around the lodge itself like stingrays in the bay, glow worms, and feeding the eels.

The rooms were spacious, modern and private - overlooking the grasslands. Very comfortable.

The restaurant is good - very friendly service, good quality food.

The thing that really stood out for me was the service - Before I arrived, the staff were so helpful with our travel arrangements. It was also my partners birthday, and they managed to help me arrange a really special day. They came up with some great ideas and helped book it all which was really useful given the time difference from the UK!

The staff here couldn't be better - always really friendly and accommodating. Very genuine, helpful people.

I'd definitely recommend staying here - the only thing to bear in mind is making sure you work out your travel arrangements before you book. We had to re-book flights because there are fairly limited options getting from Nelson to Kaiteri.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms facing the grasslands
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I can only list this as average as we used this spot for lunch before our hike to the Quarry.
As we were on scene at 11:00 we were advised by dining room staff menu orders would not be taken until 12:00 so as not to "tick" off the kitchen staff. As we were time compressed for our pick up at the Quarry ( 2 hour hike) for trip back to Nelson we ordered what was in the cabinet. The sandwiches were good considering it was off the beaten path and out door seating very scenic.
Maybe a gentle reminder to all that a customer uses their discretionary after tax income to pay for services.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were walking the Abel Tasman track recently when the weather turned foul and wet. We stopped off at the lodge for a coffee and lunch as did many other tampers. The staff were fabulously patient and allowed people to sit and wait for the weather to clear. The chowder was great but the chips fairly disappointing. All irregular and undercooked.Quite unexpectedly our daughter became unwell and we headed to the reception to see if we could get a room for a night. The staff were dealing with many frazzled clients who had had there water taxi cancelled. The young lady with long wavy dark here was incredibly patient and special commendation to Leo who was going to have to carry luggage 40minutes to another by where the taxi could dock. My daughter and I stayed the night and the accommodation is comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
8.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
19.8 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
12.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
12.5 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Awaroa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Property: Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Address: 11 Awaroa Bay, Abel Tasman National Park 7143, New Zealand (Formerly Awaroa Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppers Awaroa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to Peppers Awaroa Lodge With no direct road access it is essential you arrange transport prior to your stay at Peppers Awaroa Lodge. Located in Abel Tasman National Park, transport is available by either helicopter or sea shuttle Peppers Awaroa Lodge strikes the perfect balance of natural comfort and contemporary style high above Awaroa Bay. Just minutes from the Abel Tasman Coastal Track, the lodge offers a remote and spectacular coastline with magnificent scenery, wildlife and native terrain in pristine condition. The lodge 's 26 rooms consist of standard, superior and family suites featuring an ensuite, bar fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, with views of picturesque wetlands and native forest. All guests are encouraged to appreciate the natural surroundings and respect our eco friendly philosophy. We make this a little easier without the distractions of modern day life - no mobile phone coverage or in-room televisions make this the perfect place to totally get away. Enjoy the lodge's facilities including a cosy fireplace in the library, internet access and an organic garden, where our onsite restaurant and cafe source the freshest ingredients. Let our team at the activity desk arrange your guided tours. Explore the natural surroundings by tramping or sea kayaking or just laze on the golden sandy beaches of Awaroa Bay. Accessible by water taxi or helicopter, Peppers Awaroa Lodge is the ultimate secluded getaway. As there is no road access to Peppers Awaroa Lodge, organising the journey to the lodge is an important part of your stay. Contact the property directly for assistance with your transfers. The eco chic lodge is perfect for a romantic escape, family holiday or unique group experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Peppers Awaroa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awaroa Hotel Abel Tasman National Park
Awaroa Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing