We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in beautiful garden setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We spent 4 nights in one of the suites in the main house (room 5). The room was very large , comfortable and peaceful, situated on the corner of the building with plenty of light, a lounge area and a large outdoor terrace.

The bathroom was very spacious with an in spa bath shower. The towels were very nice and fluffy. The water pressure was a little lacking. The korres products in the bathroom were lovely.

The hotel has a very large & beautiful garden with a creek running through the property, a small orchard and plenty of grassed areas.

Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The front desk were particularly helpful with planning our itinerary in Cantabria during our stay.

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and it was great. There was freshly squeezed orange juice every morning, a good selection of cold meats, cheese, pastries and also some cereal and a tortilla on offer every morning. There was also some fruit on offer, sometimes fresh figs from the hotel's fig tree. We also dined in the hotel on one night and the food was very nice.

The hotel offers free WIFI, signal strength being best downstairs in the comfortable guest lounge and breakfast room.

We found the dining options in Cabezon de la Sal a little quiet. Some of the restaurants only open for dinner on weekends and the best restaurant in town was closed for most of September for their vacation. We walked in to Cabezon de la Sal at night twice which was about a 20 minute stroll. We did get some good suggestions for dining nearby from the hotel though. There also were a few cafes and pubs that offer food that seemed to be open most of the time. Had we known how close it was, we would have driven to San Vincente de Barraquera for dinner one night as we discovered there was a big seafood dining scene there and it was only a 15 minute drive.

The location of the hotel is great if you want to explore Cantabria. We drove to Fuente De (Picos de Europas) for one day, explored caves with prehistoric paintings at Puente Viesgo & Santandar on other day, and spent one day exploring the towns and beaches just north on the coast.

There are so many options for things to do in the area that it would have been nice to have a small compendium in the room to help guests work out an itinerary. This compedium could also be used to list dining options close to the hotel, which would have been useful.

Overall, our stay was lovely. We would definitely stay at this hotel and will recommend it to friends if they are planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel is located in extensive grounds in a small village a kilometre or so from Cabezon de Sal. It's difficult to judge just how old it is but the building is imposing rather particularly attractive. There are 8-10 rooms which are all done in modern style.

The room had a good size bed which was very comfortable, plenty of storage space, a large tub with shower over, WC and bidet in a large bathroom. Rooms on the first floor have a large balcony. Plenty of hot water and plenty of towels.

The grounds are laid out as park land and are very attractive with mature trees and lawn.

Breakfast was very extensive with a good selection of fruit, yoghurts, breads, cakes, cheeses and hams. Freshly squeezed orange juice and good coffee. It is served from 9.00am.

Dinner is available every evening from 9.00pm. Not all guests eat in for dinner. Dinner is from a limited menu which changes each day. Fairly simple but good value. Wine is from a short list with a good value house wine. Oddly they will only do red wine by the glass, not white.

The owners speak some English, other staff more limited so if the owners are not around when you check in, be prepared for this. I found them a little distant.

The hotel is well located for Western Cantabria. I thought it quite expensive for the area compared to other places that I stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I stayed here with my parents, they had a junior suite and I had a double. We had to go to Santander and, after some not so great hotels in the city, we choose to go to a different place to spend the night. The decoration of the place is very neat and pleasant. The rooms are big, with big and comfortable beds and nice bathrooms, and a terrace with views over the amazing garden. The stuff is very friendly, and provided us with everything we could possibly need. We got a very good dinner with a nice wine, and a fantastic breakfast with endless choices of food. All of this for a more than reasonable price. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights at El Jardin de Carrejo and found it to be a perfect place to stop on our trip across Northern Spain. Our room was on the second floor and although it was small, it was well laid out and very functional. The bed was comfortable by European standards. The bathroom had a nice deep tub and a few shelves to store toiletry items. The hotel itself consists of a lovely old stone house with less than a dozen rooms that has been lovingly restored and updated by the owners and two garden suites. I wish I had inquired into the property's history, because walking the grounds made me wonder what this home had been used for years ago. As noted in other reviews Carrejo is tiny and really does not have a lot to offer in and of itself. Cabezon de la Sal is a short walk/drive away and has a few shops and restaurants. Beyond Cabezon de la Sal it is a short drive to Comillas, Santillana del Mar, San Vicente de la Barquera and Santander. While those cities are all interesting destinations the real point of staying at El Jardin de Carrejo is the proximity to the mountains, including the Picos de Europa, which are spectacular for hiking, biking, or merely driving through. The owners of El Jardin de Carrejo speak excellent English and were more than happy to help us plan routes through the mountains and provided us with stopping places and suggested hikes. Overall this was perfect spot to stop for a few nights and I would gladly return if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FenwayFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

A delightful country house hotel only about a 45 minute drive from Santander ferry port. We stayed here for three nights as our first stop on a two week driving tour of northern Spain. There are about a dozen rooms in the main house and a few more in the extensive and well kept gardens (look out for the little robot lawn-mowing devices working away all day … quite surreal).

The rooms are very clean, bright and well-appointed. The only slight snag with ours was that it had a considerable roof slope both in the bathroom and bedroom as a result of being on the top floor (effectively the roof space). I'd recommend asking for a room that isn't on this floor if, like me, you are tall. Otherwise you'll almost certainly bang your head at least once.

The small restaurant serves a decent Spanish style breakfast and is also available for dinner if you reserve. The choice for dinner is either some 'para picar' plates or a single small 3 course meal which seems to change day by day.

Carrejo itself is very small with a couple of restaurants and locals-type bars on the main road but not much else. For a bigger variety you need to walk into the pleasant town of Cabezon de la Sal which is about a 20 minute walk. There are plenty of restaurants and bars there ranging from pizzas and burgers through to more traditional Spanish fare.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It makes an excellent base to head to Comillas or Santilliana del Mar (20 minutes or so by car) or to the Picos (Fuente De took about an hour by car). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Just back from a week in Cantabria. We based ourselves for 8 nights at the lovely El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel. The location couldn't have been better - Santander, Picos de Europa and countless beautiful beaches all within easy reach. The hotel itself is situated in lovely gardens. Our room had a big sunny balcony looking out to the mountains. The service is great - Isabel and her team were always on hand and happy to help suggest trips, routes and activities in the vicinity.
The buffet breakfasts were delicious and, although the evening menu is limited (it changes daily but not a lot of choice), the food was excellent and the portions generous. If you don't fancy eating in the hotel there are a couple of local restaurants within walking distance (or if you're brave enough you can hire one of the hotel's tandems and ride into Cabezon de la Sal where there are lots of options).
El Jardin de Carrejo is well worth a visit - it's the perfect base for exploring this very beautiful and Spanish part of Spain.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieBlue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed here on honeymoon (trip across Northern Spain) and it was perfect, very relaxing and romantic. The setting is just beautiful, in the countryside but only ten minutes drive from the sea. Its very laid back, not much in the way of nightlife but there are good restaurants nearby and activities in the area like kayaking, climbing and surfing. The service was very nice but not too fussy, the room was amazing, we went for the suite which had a huge balcony. Could not really fault anything

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aylevarroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabezon de la Sal
3.2 mi away
Hotel Valle De Cabezon
Hotel Valle De Cabezon
#2 of 2 in Cabezon de la Sal
74 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
418 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Camino Real De Selores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
361 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
9.1 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel

Address: Carrejo, 39500 Cabezon de la Sal, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Cabezon de la Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabezon de la Sal
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel with a big garden, with 12 rooms all of them with wiews to the garden. A small river cross the place, antique stone pools and many kinds of trees makes a peaceful and relax place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin De Carrejo Hotel Cabezon De La Sal, Spain - Cantabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing