We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Our ferry was two hours late and customs gave us a prolonged interview/search. The hotel was very welcoming and served a delicious dinner even though it was late. The room and garden is beautiful. Excellent breakfast. Charming staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YogAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent the first night of a three week trip to Northern Spain and Northern Portugal at this hotel, after coming off the ferry to Santander. Its a lovely location. The room was tasteful and the hotel was comfortable. We had a nice meal in the evening (with great jazz tracks played throughout!) and an excellent breakfast next morning. The owner was welcoming and there are lovely gardens to enjoy. We discovered it through the Rusticae book we picked up at a hotel near Bilbao last year. We have since stayed in a couple more of the hotels in the chain and they have all been very good. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GomezandMorticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The web site does not do this place justice, it is a beautiful, delightfully relaxing place. We stayed in a junior suite which has a big balcony (sadly it was raining so our use if it was limited) and was bright and airy with a lovely big bathroom divided into 3 areas. The decor is contemporary and tastefully done. Photographs very interesting. The garden is lovely and huge, we strolled around several times and our daughter went for a jog a few times. There is a tent structure with a large garden chess set and various chairs and benches dotted about the grounds. I loved the smell of the honeysuckle growing at the entrance which wafted into our room. Breakfast is very good and dinners simple but well done. We were very grateful for breakfast provided early when we went rafting in Bustasur (highly recommended, took an hour to get there, very straightforward) and for accommodating dietary requirements. There is wifi though it comes and goes a bit in some parts of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottish8traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My family and I stayed in the two suites that are separate from the main hotel. Very spacious and modern. This is a wonderful hotel for families. All of the staff are super kid-friendly, the breakfast is great, and the property itself has so much to offer . . . apple orchards, a river, ducks and swans, a playground, etc. The website does not do the hotel justice. Cabezon de le Sal is also a great central location to explore Cantabria . . . easy drives to lots of scenic towns.

Note: I did not see the rooms in the main hotel, but I would imagine that they are a bit less modern than the two separate suites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel is an old manor house converted in 1996 to a small hotel.It is beautifully designed with lovely craftmanship, design details, style and taste. The family are extermely helpful , the food was first rate - everything fresh and local.
We stayed low season and as the hotel was very quiet we were given a junior suite - fantastic space, really comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. The bathroom toiletries were really nice including realxing btah salts .
The large garden is also lovely- it was so quiet and peaceful I would love to go back.
From Carrejo you can go to the coast ( 20 minutes), the national Parks ( 20 minutes) , Santander ( 45 minutes).

Room Tip: If the hotel is busy ask for a room on the top floor as the floors are a bit creaky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We spent 4 nights in one of the suites in the main house (room 5). The room was very large , comfortable and peaceful, situated on the corner of the building with plenty of light, a lounge area and a large outdoor terrace.

The bathroom was very spacious with an in spa bath shower. The towels were very nice and fluffy. The water pressure was a little lacking. The korres products in the bathroom were lovely.

The hotel has a very large & beautiful garden with a creek running through the property, a small orchard and plenty of grassed areas.

Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The front desk were particularly helpful with planning our itinerary in Cantabria during our stay.

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and it was great. There was freshly squeezed orange juice every morning, a good selection of cold meats, cheese, pastries and also some cereal and a tortilla on offer every morning. There was also some fruit on offer, sometimes fresh figs from the hotel's fig tree. We also dined in the hotel on one night and the food was very nice.

The hotel offers free WIFI, signal strength being best downstairs in the comfortable guest lounge and breakfast room.

We found the dining options in Cabezon de la Sal a little quiet. Some of the restaurants only open for dinner on weekends and the best restaurant in town was closed for most of September for their vacation. We walked in to Cabezon de la Sal at night twice which was about a 20 minute stroll. We did get some good suggestions for dining nearby from the hotel though. There also were a few cafes and pubs that offer food that seemed to be open most of the time. Had we known how close it was, we would have driven to San Vincente de Barraquera for dinner one night as we discovered there was a big seafood dining scene there and it was only a 15 minute drive.

The location of the hotel is great if you want to explore Cantabria. We drove to Fuente De (Picos de Europas) for one day, explored caves with prehistoric paintings at Puente Viesgo & Santandar on other day, and spent one day exploring the towns and beaches just north on the coast.

There are so many options for things to do in the area that it would have been nice to have a small compendium in the room to help guests work out an itinerary. This compedium could also be used to list dining options close to the hotel, which would have been useful.

Overall, our stay was lovely. We would definitely stay at this hotel and will recommend it to friends if they are planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel is located in extensive grounds in a small village a kilometre or so from Cabezon de Sal. It's difficult to judge just how old it is but the building is imposing rather particularly attractive. There are 8-10 rooms which are all done in modern style.

The room had a good size bed which was very comfortable, plenty of storage space, a large tub with shower over, WC and bidet in a large bathroom. Rooms on the first floor have a large balcony. Plenty of hot water and plenty of towels.

The grounds are laid out as park land and are very attractive with mature trees and lawn.

Breakfast was very extensive with a good selection of fruit, yoghurts, breads, cakes, cheeses and hams. Freshly squeezed orange juice and good coffee. It is served from 9.00am.

Dinner is available every evening from 9.00pm. Not all guests eat in for dinner. Dinner is from a limited menu which changes each day. Fairly simple but good value. Wine is from a short list with a good value house wine. Oddly they will only do red wine by the glass, not white.

The owners speak some English, other staff more limited so if the owners are not around when you check in, be prepared for this. I found them a little distant.

The hotel is well located for Western Cantabria. I thought it quite expensive for the area compared to other places that I stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabezon de la Sal
3.2 mi away
Hotel Valle De Cabezon
Hotel Valle De Cabezon
#2 of 2 in Cabezon de la Sal
74 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
417 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Camino Real De Selores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
361 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
9.1 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel

Address: Carrejo, 39500 Cabezon de la Sal, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Cabezon de la Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabezon de la Sal
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel with a big garden, with 12 rooms all of them with wiews to the garden. A small river cross the place, antique stone pools and many kinds of trees makes a peaceful and relax place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Jardin de Carrejo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin De Carrejo Hotel Cabezon De La Sal, Spain - Cantabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing