We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Juba Grand Hotel
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
7
26
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
26
21
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a respectable hotel in Juba. I typically stay here or at the Quality hotel when in Juba. It's as clean as rooms get in Juba and the bathrooms are reasonable. Overall, a decent 2 star hotel and about the best one can hope for in Juba to date.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Seven months on and the staff are more confident, speak better English - and are really helpful and friendly. Service, while slow, is not the same as the one hour wait I experienced in February. After the wet season and with maintained gardens the greenery and colors are an oasis. The swimming pool and the gym are great. And they make the most delicious avocado drink.

It's still Juba. The towels smell like they haven't been dried properly. There is sometimes a lingering smell of sewage. And it's hugely over-priced. My rating is a relative one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevWengerTrayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My last review of this hotel was one star, but only because I cannot give zero stars. This is an upgrade to one star after I found a second staff member who was not completely incompetent and the internet service has improved.
All of the basic issues of the hotel are unchanged, in particular the exceptionally bad service. The staff in the restaurants (save one) are bored and uninterested, and food service other than the omnipresent buffet is incredibly slow for absolutely no reason. The desk staff are unhelpful when they are even present, and the housekeeping staff seem to have only the vaguest idea of what their job entails. The overall place is just as bleak and depressing as ever. The conference staff is still pretty good, but overworked.
Thankfully there is hope. There are a number of new hotels under construction, and I look forward to staying in one of them on my next visit. I suspect that soon no one other than the unwitting or foolish will stay at the Juba Grand.

Room Tip: What a joke, there are no good rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel last July. The hotel is a little bit old, bed sheets changed about once or twice a week but rooms cleaned everyday.
Also there is good WiFi internet and hot running water 24/7.
The food is rally great with lots of varieties. At $200/night the hotel is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mursak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Must pay in cash, expensive for what's on offer. Rooms ok, beds ok, showers very poor, breakfast awful. Pool great and new pub good. Internet erratic and very poor. improving the internet would raise the value to good. Staff very hospitable and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews