We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for cruise connection & exploring Venice”
Review of Hotel Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ducale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Good value for cruise connection & exploring Venice”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

From previous reviews (thank you fellow tripadvisor folks), we stayed here to catch a Costa cruise the next day & then came back for 2 nights after the cruise to see Venice. Our price direct with the hotel was 70 euros which is very reasonable near Venice. We talked to other people on our cruise that stayed in Venice & they paid a lot more for bad rooms with a shared bathroom! The rooms are small but clean and the bathroom is fine too. The shower is small. If you're thin, you'll fit through the opening. If you're a little overweight like me, you can squeeze through. If you're really big,,, forget it! On our first night the guy at reception recommended the Pietra Restaurant a couple blocks down the street. It was great! We both had a pizza & drink each for 26 euros! The pizza was very good & we were the only tourists as this is where the locals eat. Don't look for a romantic setting. The lighting is industrial cafeteria bright. If you want a good dinner at a low price, this is the place. We were disappointed the restaurant was closed on our return from the cruise for a major holiday so we ate in Mestre. Sorry, I can't recommend any place there. All in all, if you don't want to pay a lot of money for a hotel in Venice, I do recommend this place. I was disappointed that the hotel shuttle to the airport wasn't available on the Monday we left. The hotel arranged transport for us & the guy charged
30 euros which was a rip-off. Besides not providing the airport shuttle, I would recommend this hotel & the breakfast was fine too. If they tell you their shuttle driver is sick, get your own cab & you'll probably save at least 10 euros. Yes, the 13 bus is right by the hotel & is a quick drive into Venice. As for Venice - definately one place for the bucket list! A totally unique place. There really is no place else like it. Now I know why everybody goes there. Just be careful at night. It's easy to get lost & hard to find your way back to the bus station before the last one leaves at 1:00 am!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rodomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    210
    120
    46
    25
See reviews for
109
209
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Slightly old fashioned but clean. the staff are very friendly. On arrival we were offered coffees in the bar without charge. It is only 20 minutes to Piazza Roma by the 19 bus and the stop is almost outside of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent.
The hotel shuttle took us to the airport (10 minutes) and the charge was 10 euros for four adults with luggage.

Highly recommended for a stopove if you are on the way home and waiting for a flight

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLGLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia (Saint Petersburg)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes from the airport Marco Polo (about 25 euro by taxi) and about 10-15 minutes by fast bus (19) or 15-25 minutes by slow bus (4). The bus stops are very close to the hotel. The tickets on the bus can buy in the small shops (not in the hotel or the bus-driver) but not on Sundays-everything is closed-t hnk about it beforehand! The hotel staff is wonderful-very friendly! We arrived rather late, the man on reception met us heartly,showed our rooms. The breakfast in the hotel was perfect! I was in Italy several times on business (Florence, Sicily) and in the hotels 4-5*, but the choice in the "Ducale" hotel for breakfast was the best! The ladies met on coming, showed the table, brought tea or coffe. The hotel room was cleaned every day and cleaned very carefully. In the room there was even the safe (free of charge) and in the bathroom the hair-drier and bidet, shampoo and soaps for 2 persons ! Everything is very clean! There was a TV in the room with channels on every language (even Russian: 1st channel, Russia channel, Muz TV and some more others). The departure from the hotel was very early-6 a.m. The hotel car as the taxi brought us to the airport for 25 euro. So-everything was wonderful. The hotel is very nice, The staff is very kind-hearted. PS: on the reception you can free of charge take the maps of Venice historical center! Wish you the same wonderful trip as we had! Thank you hotel "Ducale"!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karina3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

The Hotel was a little bit old-fashion, but that just depend on your taste
It was very clean, the room was big enough, and the breakfast had a big offer, even when you arrive 5 minutes before it's closing time.

The Bus to Venice was just across the street, and there were 3 different buses to catch, so, every ten minutes there was a bus coming, and they run until mid-night. You can by the tickets in a shop across the street. The ride takes around 30 minutes until Venice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Hubby booked this hotel for proximity to airport upon leaving Italy. He didn't like the small room--and the shower is miniscule--but it's an excellent value for the price. Clean room had good bedside reading lamps. The hotel is on a busy corner so there is traffic noise. Free access to internet to print your boarding passes. Very nice breakfast selection and courteous staff. The hotel offers free (tip the driver) shuttle service to the airport from 9 a.m. (the driver took us at 8:45 a.m.) so if you don't want to hoist bags on the bus, you can get to the airport quickly and cheaply. Ask to book the shuttle when checking in. One drawback is that there are hardly any nearby restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Passportready010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Loved the stay,only one thing missed;no fridge in the apartment,to keep nothing to eat or drink!The cleaners(staff),very kind,sympatic,the two women(waiters),at breakfast,very kind,reception people very helpfull.
To rate; Very good,try it ! You'll enjoy it !

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeLoius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Favaro Veneto
6.0 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#14 of 58 in Mestre
635 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#26 of 58 in Mestre
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#347 of 385 in Venice
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#27 of 58 in Mestre
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Property: Hotel Ducale
Address: Via Triestina 5, 30173 Favaro Veneto, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Favaro Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ducale 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ducale Easily join-able, the Hotel Ducale offers to clients arriving by car a free parking, and we suggest to take advantage of it for your whole stay!Cyclists and motorcyclists are welcome!Quiet comfortable is the bus n. 19 that takes you directly to Venice-Piazzale Roma, in only 20 minutes, and also the connections to Venice-Mestre Railway Station, and to Marco Polo Airport, thanks to a good public transportation service.A shuttle service is at disposal of clients from the Hotel to Marco Polo Airport, to Treviso-Canova Airport and to the Port of Venice. For any information or reservation please ask at the Reception.We are located only 5 km from the Venice Casino in Ca’ Noghera, the casino where you can enter also wearing jeans and snickers! To get the free entrance tickets please ask at the Reception.The Hotel Ducale offers modern services in a pleasant and family atmosphere that satisfy exigent tourists and businessmen in a comfortable and quiet ambiance.Infact, family Sartori is a good reference point in the area for Italian and foreign tourists, since 1950.The Ducale Hotel has been recently and completely renovated, in accordance with European safety standards (ISO 2000).It has 47 rooms all equipped with modern comfort as private bathroom with shower (some with bath-tube), self air-conditioning and heating, LCD satellite TV with SKY channels also in foreign languages, safe, telephone with direct outside line, hairdryer.The Hotel offers furthermore, 24h24 reception (our staff speaks English, French, German, Spanish and … Venetian dialect), a 24h24 bar, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and salt dishes, opened from 7.00 to 10.00 (but you can have a coffee and a croissant also at 5.00, if you are leaving so early!), the Risto-Pizza (opened from 7.00 to 10.00 pm) - 1 day off per week), free WiFi connection, Internet Point with printer at disposal of clients, possibility to send/receive faxes, elevator, air-conditioning/heating in all rooms and common areas.To make your stay in Venice as pleasant as possible, we are also at disposal for suggestions regarding excursions to discover Venice, if you have never been there, to deepen the knowledge of the city, if you have already been there, or discover the surroundings (as the Venetian Villas, other cities, the beaches or the marvelous Dolomiti!). For any other information or need, please do not hesitate and contact us!To verify availability and rates visit our web-site and the “Special Offers” page, you could find promotions, then proceed with the booking in a quick and safe way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Venice
Hotel Ducale Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing