We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Hotel is ideal for a short stopover”
Review of Hotel Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ducale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
East Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This Hotel is ideal for a short stopover”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed one night at the Ducale prior to boarding a Celebrity Cruise. We found the hotel to be very clean and tidy with helpful reception staff who spoke good english.
Although the rooms are very much on the small side we found the beds comfortable and the linen clean and fresh. The buffet breakfast was plentiful with a very wide choice of fruit, cearials,meats,cheese,bread and rolls and pastries. The hotel provides a transfer service to the Airport and the Cruise Terminal for 25 Euros.
For travel to Venice by public transprt there is a bus stop round the corner from the hotel, the journey by the No 19 takes approx 20 mins whilst the no 4 goes all round the houses and takes some 35/40 mins.
The only downside to the location is that there do not appear to be many restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spearmint100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    210
    116
    46
    24
See reviews for
109
206
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Small but clean room. Out of main area. Bus across the street to historic venice. Very nice but next time I'll stay right in historici venice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERN911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I found the staff to be indifferent. They were not very warm or voluntarily helpful. When asked for assistance, they pretty much do the minimum and not with a smile either.
The room was very dark and confined. There was one window looking over the rooftop and overlooked by higher floors.
Breakfast was good and the staff were all very nice and welcoming. It is continental but well presented.
There is internet and a computer if you didn't bring yours, but you have to have the front desk sign you on each time you want to use it and you have to stand to use it as there is no chair. Also, you can only use it during certain hours of the day...not after 11pm. Which doesn't work when you return from Venice late and want to look up something for the next day.
There is a bar next door and often the patrons were outside in front of the hotel smoking which was sometimes a bit off-putting.
There wasn't anywhere really great to eat. Around the corner there is a Lady Pizza, which was cheap and quick. There is also a little shop across the street with snacks and drinks much cheaper than what you will find in Venice. The owner is a very sweet older man. There isn't a mini fridge or anything in the room but you can request ice from the front desk. There is a Tobacco shop across the street next to the little shop where you can buy cigarettes and lotto and bus tickets.

The hotel was a bit hard to find because the website directs you to take the number 4 or 19 bus from Venice or 15 from Mestre station, but it does not tell you where to get off and it can be difficult to spot from the bus windows.
If you are in Venice (Plz. Roma) you can take the 4, 4/ or 19. Just ask the bus driver to let you know when you get to Via Triestina. The 4's take about a half hour, the 19- 20 minutes. If it helps, the stop for the hotel is 1 to 2 stops before the very last one.

The bus system is, like the other areas of Italy I have visited, on your honor. You are supposed to validate your ticket by scanning it on the little machines in the bus. However, we rode the bus frequently and only experienced staff checking the tickets once. I am not advocating not being on your honor, just letting you know that you may never have your ticket checked and that is normal. We opted for the travel pass. You can get one in Venice for several lengths of time from 60 minutes to 12 hours, 24 hours and so on. It also works on the water buses.

All in all, I was not impressed with the hotel or the service received, although to be fair they did provide the minimum standard of quality and comfort. However, I believe that where you stay on holiday impacts your overall experience and I try to find a middle of the road deal between cost and quality. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, actually - it's just blah. If you are looking for a cheap place- go cheaper. If you are looking for a nice place- pay a bit more for a better experience.

If I ever return to Venice, I won't even consider this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgoqueenliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymeswold, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We had a late-evening flight into Marco Polo Airport, and were then picking up a cruise ship at lunchtime the following day in Venice, so the Ducale was an ideal stopover for one night.

Travelling with our children aged 9 and 11 we booked two rooms (one double, one twin) at 70 Euros each room (inc breakfast) which I think is pretty reasonable for the area.

The 4a bus stopped right outside the hotel, and similarly we were able to get the bus the following morning straight into Venice. You need to buy your bus tickets from the tobacco shop opposite.

The rooms were pretty basic and, as another reviewer has commented, the showers would not be suited to someone sporting a beer gut!

We arrived after 10.30pm so service was a little iffy - there was no air conditioning working in one of our rooms so I went to reception and the guy said he'd be up in five minutes. 10 minutes later I went down to check and he had his feet up reading the paper. In the end I fiddled around with the fuses and got the aircon working myself.

Breakfast the following morning was fine and then we were on our way, so I'd say it's Ok for an airport stopover, but wouldn't really fancy stayting there much longer.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

From previous reviews (thank you fellow tripadvisor folks), we stayed here to catch a Costa cruise the next day & then came back for 2 nights after the cruise to see Venice. Our price direct with the hotel was 70 euros which is very reasonable near Venice. We talked to other people on our cruise that stayed in Venice & they paid a lot more for bad rooms with a shared bathroom! The rooms are small but clean and the bathroom is fine too. The shower is small. If you're thin, you'll fit through the opening. If you're a little overweight like me, you can squeeze through. If you're really big,,, forget it! On our first night the guy at reception recommended the Pietra Restaurant a couple blocks down the street. It was great! We both had a pizza & drink each for 26 euros! The pizza was very good & we were the only tourists as this is where the locals eat. Don't look for a romantic setting. The lighting is industrial cafeteria bright. If you want a good dinner at a low price, this is the place. We were disappointed the restaurant was closed on our return from the cruise for a major holiday so we ate in Mestre. Sorry, I can't recommend any place there. All in all, if you don't want to pay a lot of money for a hotel in Venice, I do recommend this place. I was disappointed that the hotel shuttle to the airport wasn't available on the Monday we left. The hotel arranged transport for us & the guy charged
30 euros which was a rip-off. Besides not providing the airport shuttle, I would recommend this hotel & the breakfast was fine too. If they tell you their shuttle driver is sick, get your own cab & you'll probably save at least 10 euros. Yes, the 13 bus is right by the hotel & is a quick drive into Venice. As for Venice - definately one place for the bucket list! A totally unique place. There really is no place else like it. Now I know why everybody goes there. Just be careful at night. It's easy to get lost & hard to find your way back to the bus station before the last one leaves at 1:00 am!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rodomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Slightly old fashioned but clean. the staff are very friendly. On arrival we were offered coffees in the bar without charge. It is only 20 minutes to Piazza Roma by the 19 bus and the stop is almost outside of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent.
The hotel shuttle took us to the airport (10 minutes) and the charge was 10 euros for four adults with luggage.

Highly recommended for a stopove if you are on the way home and waiting for a flight

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLGLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia (Saint Petersburg)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes from the airport Marco Polo (about 25 euro by taxi) and about 10-15 minutes by fast bus (19) or 15-25 minutes by slow bus (4). The bus stops are very close to the hotel. The tickets on the bus can buy in the small shops (not in the hotel or the bus-driver) but not on Sundays-everything is closed-t hnk about it beforehand! The hotel staff is wonderful-very friendly! We arrived rather late, the man on reception met us heartly,showed our rooms. The breakfast in the hotel was perfect! I was in Italy several times on business (Florence, Sicily) and in the hotels 4-5*, but the choice in the "Ducale" hotel for breakfast was the best! The ladies met on coming, showed the table, brought tea or coffe. The hotel room was cleaned every day and cleaned very carefully. In the room there was even the safe (free of charge) and in the bathroom the hair-drier and bidet, shampoo and soaps for 2 persons ! Everything is very clean! There was a TV in the room with channels on every language (even Russian: 1st channel, Russia channel, Muz TV and some more others). The departure from the hotel was very early-6 a.m. The hotel car as the taxi brought us to the airport for 25 euro. So-everything was wonderful. The hotel is very nice, The staff is very kind-hearted. PS: on the reception you can free of charge take the maps of Venice historical center! Wish you the same wonderful trip as we had! Thank you hotel "Ducale"!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karina3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Favaro Veneto
3.7 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#14 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#348 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
2.3 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#49 of 58 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#26 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Property: Hotel Ducale
Address: Via Triestina 5, 30173 Favaro Veneto, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Favaro Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ducale 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ducale Easily join-able, the Hotel Ducale offers to clients arriving by car a free parking, and we suggest to take advantage of it for your whole stay!Cyclists and motorcyclists are welcome!Quiet comfortable is the bus n. 19 that takes you directly to Venice-Piazzale Roma, in only 20 minutes, and also the connections to Venice-Mestre Railway Station, and to Marco Polo Airport, thanks to a good public transportation service.A shuttle service is at disposal of clients from the Hotel to Marco Polo Airport, to Treviso-Canova Airport and to the Port of Venice. For any information or reservation please ask at the Reception.We are located only 5 km from the Venice Casino in Ca’ Noghera, the casino where you can enter also wearing jeans and snickers! To get the free entrance tickets please ask at the Reception.The Hotel Ducale offers modern services in a pleasant and family atmosphere that satisfy exigent tourists and businessmen in a comfortable and quiet ambiance.Infact, family Sartori is a good reference point in the area for Italian and foreign tourists, since 1950.The Ducale Hotel has been recently and completely renovated, in accordance with European safety standards (ISO 2000).It has 47 rooms all equipped with modern comfort as private bathroom with shower (some with bath-tube), self air-conditioning and heating, LCD satellite TV with SKY channels also in foreign languages, safe, telephone with direct outside line, hairdryer.The Hotel offers furthermore, 24h24 reception (our staff speaks English, French, German, Spanish and … Venetian dialect), a 24h24 bar, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and salt dishes, opened from 7.00 to 10.00 (but you can have a coffee and a croissant also at 5.00, if you are leaving so early!), the Risto-Pizza (opened from 7.00 to 10.00 pm) - 1 day off per week), free WiFi connection, Internet Point with printer at disposal of clients, possibility to send/receive faxes, elevator, air-conditioning/heating in all rooms and common areas.To make your stay in Venice as pleasant as possible, we are also at disposal for suggestions regarding excursions to discover Venice, if you have never been there, to deepen the knowledge of the city, if you have already been there, or discover the surroundings (as the Venetian Villas, other cities, the beaches or the marvelous Dolomiti!). For any other information or need, please do not hesitate and contact us!To verify availability and rates visit our web-site and the “Special Offers” page, you could find promotions, then proceed with the booking in a quick and safe way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Venice
Hotel Ducale Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing