We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to ruin vacation experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmgrove Heritage Retreat
Ranked #52 of 63 Kannur B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to ruin vacation experience”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Anyone who is planning to stay in this hotel should be aware of following things.

1. Very bad Maintenance.
2. Rooms are stinky.
3. Bathroom is leaky.
4. Fan and AC works depending on your luck
5. You may get water in tap, either hot or cold(not your choice).

If you still want to stay in this hotel, lets pray to God that you have good time.

Room Tip: After a good trip if you want to know what bad trip sounds like, you should stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lover2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We arrived in Kannur after a long train ride and took a short ricks haw ride to this hotel for a mere 20r! We were very impressed when we saw the building and looked forward to checking in and relaxing. We approached reception having per booked a few days before.
We explained to the Receptionist/manager, Jacob, that we had a booking. He told us that we did not and turned away from us. We held our place and explained that we had per-booked a room a few days before hand.
He continued to deny it or look in his reservation book so we called an Indian friend to talk to him, only after this would he agree to even look up the reservation. He found us straight away.
A price had been agreed for a standard non A/C room but he said there were no rooms of that class left (would have been 480r) so gave us an A/C room and said it would cost 1200R. As it was late we didn't feel we had a choice so went to our room deflated and unwelcome.
However when we reached our room it wasn't even A/C! And upon checking the online tariff the most expensive room in that category was supposed to be 800r! We went back to speak to him and he reluctantly agreed to lower the cost to 900r.
The other staff there were nice but we found somewhere else to stay for the rest of our stay in Kannur, which ended up being two weeks at Pranav beach resort, what a difference!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kannur hotels

Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

stayed here for 2 nights. its okay. indian cleaning standard. 24 hours hot water. The Van was very loud. We checked some hotels there and for 800 INR plus taxes it was the best there. Okay for backpackers, not realy the best for longer holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Of the many hotels we stayed in India during our 11 weeks visit to 22 Indian cities, our stay at Palmgrove was one of the best in India! I am factoring price with amenities and services rendered. Even at twice the price, this hotel would still be a good deal; at the present price, it is a super deal!

I recommended Palmgrove to some of my fellow Americans and business associates in the US, resulting in their staying at Palmgrove. They loved the experience and the warm hospitality!

We pre-ordered our dinner before we set out sight-seeing for the day, and when we got back, we were treated to a freshly prepared dinner of our choice (remember pre-order in the morning).

Our room was clean, air-conditioned, sheets changed daily, with hot water. Within walking distance (5 minutes) from Kanathur Kavu and the celebrated Theyyam! (Check the Theyyam schedule; usually only in March).

We will go back to Palmgrove!

(BTW, on a previous visit, we did stay at a sea-side hotel three times as expensive as Palmgrove, and were very dissatisfied)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ubrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Palmgrove is a decent place but is not maintained well. To start with the sheets in the rooms were stained and the room was not clean. There is no in-house restaurant, but the small restaurant just next to the property servers ok food. The advantage is that it is around 1 km from the beach and the prices are ok. If you happen to stay here, ask for rooms in the new building.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drive2Click
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We were looking for a no-frills budget and we got it here. At Rs.600 per day with no A/C and no TV, this Hotel can be classified as the best in its class. What impressed the hell out of us was the furniture in our room and the reception, including the Raja Ravi Verma (possibly duplicate) paintings. The aesthetics give the feel of an old-world setting.
Highly recommended if you are looking for a Budget Hotel.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank prashanthkishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Palmgrove Heritage Retreat is situated in the army area of the town and is only a 10 minute walk from the main street. It is also only a 5 minute walk from the lighthouse and a 10 minute rickshaw ride from the nearest beach (although if you want long empty beaches just to yourself head 10/15km either north or south of Kannur as those ones are much better)

Set back from the road the guest house is very quiet. Accommodation is either in the main house or in a block of 9 rooms in the grounds. Go for the main house if your budget allows as it is well worth the extra! (prices ranged from Rs250 for the single room up to Rs1200 for the top rooms when we were there).

Rooms in the block were basic but had everything you wanted - a/c, fridge, tv. The room we had in the main house was large and had lovely old furniture. There is a large central room in the building full of old furniture which is an ideal place to sit of an evening.

The kitchen wasn't up and running when we were there. So apart from breakfast the food came from the Chinese restaurant -which was very good. We ate most nights at the Choice Restaurant - great fun and very cheap - turn left out of the guest house, left again at the main road and it is just there.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a night guard in the main house and a guard on the main gate - so whole place feels very safe.

Place could do with a bit of maintenance (as can most places in India!) - we had a leaky toilet and no hot water - but we would certainly go back

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarBexhill_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.0 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thottada Beach House
Thottada Beach House
#2 of 3 in Thottada
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SS Residency Kannur
SS Residency Kannur
#22 of 63 in Kannur
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sky Pearl
Hotel Sky Pearl
#18 of 23 in Kannur
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#16 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Heritage Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Heritage Retreat

Property: Palmgrove Heritage Retreat
Address: Near Government Guest House | nr Govt. Guest House, Kannur 670001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Palmgrove Heritage Retreat Kannur, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing