We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream location to escape the rat race”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chera Rock Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A little piece of heaven on the Malibar coast of Northern Kerala. I arrived in mid February 2014 and departed 2 weeks later, refreshed, rested and relaxed thanks to the wonderful food, attentive and genuinely caring management and staff. It is comfortable and peaceful but don't expect hi-tec 21st century 5 star luxury - this is the real India and it pays to be open-minded and with an element of acceptance, you cannot fail to be touched by the restorative powers of this lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms 3, 4 and 5 at the back of beach are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The welcome and hospitality at Chera Rock Beach House was great. Our beach-front room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner included in our room rate were always delicious and far more than we could eat. The fresh fish and seafood dishes were particularly good.
The hammocks in front of our room were a great place to relax. The beach is beautiful and we enjoyed long walks along it but this is not a place for western style sun-bathing, especially not for women. So a lovely place to relax in warm sunshine but not a place for beach sun-bathing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have been to this place twice in April . Couldn't believe that beach so close from the rooms.
Really good ambiance & service. I should appreciate Ali who is chef n manager. Seafood we had was fantastic..Did great job..

Only recommendation is please air condition the rooms & make sure it works round the night

I will be back soon..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nikhiljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the first week of May at chera rocks. It was not as hot and humid as i expected. There were severe thunderstorms in the night but the mornings and evenings were pleasant. The location is really wonderful, with a great, almost - empty beach. the rocks offer a good view of the ocean.All meals are served facing the sea. Food was really delicious and lots of variety even though we were vegetarian. Not much to do around, if you're looking at just spending some quiet time at the beach, it is ideal. Hospitality is great, thanks to Nivedh, his father and Ali. We had booked an Ac room but the ac was not working because of the heavy storms and power issues, Nivedh had informed us of this a day before we arrived.
The rooms are very basic and water in the bathrooms is slightly muddy. Stayed in the standard room.
Overall a very pleasant stay at chera rocks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divyaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is our third visit to Chera Rocks. We stayed for two nights in the last week of March. Our reasons for returning every year have remained unchanged since our first trip here in 2011. The beach is calm, safe and perfect for our now 7 year old daughter. The super deluxe rooms we have stayed in (Room 3 and 5) are huge and practically on the beach with a lovely ocean breeze. The food is ample, local and really delicious. And Nivedh, his father and their staff are genuinely happy to see us when we go there.

Room Tip: The corner super deluxe rooms. 3 or 5. They have great ventilation and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I must take this opportunity to thank you for all the hospitality and must admit that Chera Rocks is indeed a secluded and rejuvenating place (except the heat) :)

The staff, the food, the hospitality and so on were spectacular and we certainly had a pleasant stay. We have lot of memories to cherish and thought I'll share you few memories with you.

Great job to team, Chera Rocks!!!

Room Tip: AC needs to be installed as the rooms are extremely hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Unique in India!
Where else can you find in India such a beautiful place straight on a pristine beach with a very good level of comfort, food and service?
That's why we keep coming back after all those years. And we are not the only ones.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: A room upstairs on the hill for the view and privacy or downstairs for a higher level of amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
1.3 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
70 reviews
5.4 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#17 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
225 reviews
6.8 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thottada Beach House
Thottada Beach House
#2 of 3 in Thottada
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chera Rock Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chera Rock Beach House

Address: Opposite Chera Kalle, Kizhunna Para Bus Stop | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Kannur
Price Range: £39 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chera rocks, the real lonely planet, a complete contrast from busy city life, has no sounds of modern world. I am sure, before you leave the place you will learn to identify different types of natures sounds and also to enjoy the healing effects of these sounds. You will be amazed to find a empty seashore with no sales person or masseur.....You and your gorgeous sea alone! You may be surprised to see the easy accessibility to road, railway and international airports while Chera Rocks remains as a lonely planet.....That's the way God has created it....Come and celebrate your holidays and make it unforgettable.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chera Rock Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chera Rock Beach House Hotel Kannur
Chera Rock Beach House Kannur, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing