We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
60
22
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
22
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbeach resorthot waterother guestsoverlooking the seatop floordelicious foodarunhammocksclifftophomestayscoastlinetheyyamrickshawhospitalitykm
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The room was perfect, spacious for two, amenities were great and the home cooked food was 'out of this world'. It was great wondering what was coming for breakfast, lunch and dinner, what kind of fish for dinner and how it would taste with those perfect spices. Seema and Arun were such gracious hosts, supplying all needs with just an 'ask'. The beach was stunning and the sound of the waves intoxicating with all the gambit of moods to excite, pacify and to marvel. The view from our balcony occasioned us to see jumping Ray fish, Dolphins as well as sunsets that could be equal to anywhere in the world. It was also an education to meet so many different people staying and to eat and drink with them and find out all about the different cultures and countries from which they came. We made friends in a location which is perfect if you want quiet, peace and kindness. Thank you all.

Room Tip: The balcony room overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Foster F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Waves is a lovely homestay and Seema and Arun do a great job of making guests feel welcome. We were only here for 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer. We had one of the the ground floor rooms in one of the cottages and had a lovely view of the sea! Rooms are big, very clean and have all you need. Food was also good, Keralan style with plenty of variety.

Great location with private beach a few steps away. It is also a few minutes walk to a bigger bay. We loved the fact that the beaches were almost deserted as well as being great for swimming.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KatSri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Waves is a real find! Seema and Arun are really great hosts - nothing is too much trouble, and the home cooked food was both plentiful, varied and delicious. The super cute rooms are located just above a basically private beach making the stay really relaxing - literally 30seconds to get to the beach. Great views for sunset too. The room was spacious clean and comfortable - large bed, and quiet fan. The sound of the sea sends you to sleep. We were also able to rent a scooter here to explore the local area. Thank you so much for having us!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We spent three relaxing nights and days at Waves over the holidays...the hosts are extremely helpful, kind and hospitable. Amazing food. It was a delight to be able to use the small but perfect private beach to swim and read without offending local traditions or attracting too much unwanted male attention. We had the top room facing the sea and it was by far the best balcony and sunset view we had in Kerala. A great spot to unwind and recharge the batterys!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eilis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights and loved every minute of our time at Waves. We had the top floor room of the cottage that overlooks the sea and felt that we'd been blessed by the 'best room' fairy! It was large and airy, high ceiling, comfy bed, great bathroom, fan (which we didn't need much because of the sea breeze), spacious balcony and complete privacy.
Drifting off to sleep to the sound of the sea, fabulous food, 50 metres walk to the pretty much private beach or 2 minutes to the much larger sandy Thottada beach, a wander along the backwater into the village, visit a Theyyam or two, dolphins, sea eagles, kites, a mongoose....lovely.
Seema and Arun could not have been more helpful. They have a rooms too in a nearby house and the whole place never feels crowded or busy.
Strongly recommend a stay here...we'd go back in a shot!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews