We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
60
22
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
22
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbeach resorthot waterother guestsoverlooking the seatop floordelicious foodarunhammocksclifftophomestayscoastlinetheyyamrickshawhospitality
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This place was a little treat for our weary backpacker backs.

Although more than we were planning on spending on a place to stay, the breakfast lunch and dinner all included in the price meant we had to stay. The food was wonderful, the service top notch and the room simple, yet big, clean and comfortable

The best thing about this place was the private beach which you got to via the stoney path at the back of the resort. Apart from some local fisherman (who catch fish with their bare hands) we had the place to ourselves, which was something quite special. We even saw some dolphins!

The sea view from the balcony was perfect as well, I would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank farkells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this very nice place 4 nights. We had a quite relaxing time, seema and her team are very friendly and the homemade kerala food is very diverse and delicious! The rooms are very clean and beautiful (hotel standard). Make sure, you stay in the cottage near to the bay, when you want a very relaxing and private stay. We had a room in the second cottage - so we had less privacy and it was quite noisy (even at nights because of the temple singing in the very early morning)...still we had a very nice time at the Waves Beach Resort!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank laMaja1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Great place, right next to the beach - huge rooms, and amazing homecooked, food - different varieties every meal and as much as you can eat!

Seema, is an excellent friendly host, who can help you out with whatever you need, including Theyam performances at 4am if you so wish.

Location is great - well away from the hustle and bustle of Kannur town, and at the end of a road, so no noisy motorbikes.

Room Tip: upstairs room - with huge balcony for yoga - great
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ialsowonaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

I'd been a little sceptical that Waves was really going to be as perfect as it looked... but we couldn't have been more pleased. We stayed in one of the upstairs cottages, with the most amazing beach view and lovely cool breezes. The whole set up is ideal, with direct access to the private beach and amazing hospitality. Swimming is fine as long as you saw where the rocks were at low tide. We also spent a wonderful couple of hours napping in the hammocks, and took a fabulous auto-rickshaw tour around the local area. We really recommend the textiles cooperative!

Dinner was a little early and it would have been nice to be able to all sit together rather than smaller tables, but these are small issues in an otherwise lovely, lovely stay. We only stayed two nights and should have stayed longer!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank gerrardkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Great place up on the cliffs behind an easily accessible and really beautiful semi private beach, and just 50 m or so from the main Thottada beach. Our room was big and airy, and the gardens had three hammocks for lazing around in under the count trees. Excellent food was served punctually three times a day (some other hotels don't include or even serve lunch). Seema organized for us to go to a Theyyam, which was great, and organized train tickets and laundry. Great value too.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews