We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with excellent food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kunnola Beach House Kerala
Ranked #22 of 68 Kannur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed for 5 nights, room was clean and comfortable with a good mosquito net. Food was excellent, served at fixed times and eaten at a communal long table with a constantly changing stream of fellow guests from all around the world. The beach is a few minutes walk through the coconut groves, but one needs to be modestly dressed walking through what is a conservative village. The beach was practically deserted apart from the regular evening football practice just before sundown - there is not a lot to do apart from relax but Paulos will arrange visits including night time Theyyam, and don't miss the local handloom weavers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Refuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

After dealing with an overbooked flight and a harrowing (7 hour) taxi drive, we arrived at Kunnola beach house at about midnight. Paulos was waiting up for us, and had set aside a wonderful Kerelan dinner. The rooms were rustic and comfortable and well within earshot of the sound of the waves. We stayed in the main house, located in a forest of palms near the homes of local fishermen. The meals were inclusive, traditional, punctual and served on a long communal table.
The following four days we spent ther were far too short, as the place quickly proved addictive. The beach was as great as I have found anywhere. Dolphins, Mongooses, Brahminy Kites, Bee-eaters, and and Paddybirds were regular sightings every day. There were plenty of ways to spend the hours of the day. We visited a late-night Theyyam and a fabrics co-op, but mostly swam in the ocean and sat on the beach... and ate... and socialized a steady rotation of fellow travelers. The beach had a remote feel, though a walk will prove that many other resorts are on the way. Internet was available, though we didnt really use it much. A warm thanks goes to Paulos the rest of the staff. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The rooms were very good, the bed was comfy and clean.
The staff were very helpful and the food was delicious.
There was a mosquito net.
The location though wasn't the best, I say this partly because we stayed at the sister property (Kannur Beach House) first which set in lovely gardens. Kunnola Beach House is set back from the beach in a tiny village so it doesn't have great views which is a little problem when it is too hot for the beach.
To be fair I think that the owners will probably develop the gardens over time as I think the property is new.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed at this hotel with my husband and it was memorable experience.food was good and service was attantive.our toilet was open roof,which was quite exceptional.garden with full of coconut trees given us breath with birds chirping.we will back again when we are in india.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masalabeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Although Kunnola was offered as a substitute homestay for our preferred choice, we couldn't have been happier with the rooms, service and location of this homestay. It is well off the beaten track (our local taxi driver could hardly find it) and in a very quiet village environment, 2 mins walk away from miles of gorgeous sandy beaches. Idyllic. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the food was, without exception, fantastic. The only minor problem (that the homestay could do little about) was the large number of mosquitoes that appeared in the early evening on the wonderful verandah, that seemed to be able to bite through clothing. There were no mosquito nets in the bed rooms at the time either, though I think Rosi, the charming manageress, suggested that they would be in all rooms soon.

The only other minor gripe we had (but this is with India as a whole) was the huge amount of litter that is absolutely everywhere. This is not a reflection of Kunnola Beach House, however, which was scrupulously clean and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souldestroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Very nice, new renovated and tastefully furnished guesthouse with large rooms, all with a private terrace, surrounded by a peaceful garden. Friendly and helpful staff, original delicious keralian food. Beautiful long beaches to discover, very clean and safe. The sea is calm and very suitable for to swim. Lot of space just to be, watch the fisherman and beautiful sunsets.
Near by it is possible to walk in a beautiful nature with rocks, forests and small villages.
Yogaclasses and massages can be arranged. Kannur is worth a visit and a cultural highlight is the hinduistic Theyyam templeceremony happening all few days in the villages.
Kunnola beach is not a place with lots of tourists, it is still bit secluded, serene and best place to relax and unwind. For me it was like i found paradise and i spent so good time there, it was hard to leave... kunnolabeachhousekerala.com

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiaexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.0 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thottada Beach House
Thottada Beach House
#2 of 3 in Thottada
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sadhoo Inn
Sadhoo Inn
#32 of 68 in Kannur
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Suites
Hotel Rainbow Suites
#12 of 23 in Kannur
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#17 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunnola Beach House Kerala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunnola Beach House Kerala

Address: Ezhara Beach | Kuttikkakam P.O., Kannur 670663, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunnola Beach House is a traditional Kerala house situated in a tranquil little beach village on the secluded Kizhunna Ezhara beach in Kannur, Kerala. Nestled in a coconut grove next to one of the least explored and beautiful beaches in Kerala, Kunnola is the ideal place to relax and unwind amidst nature, surrounded by coconut trees, the golden beach and the blue waters of the Arabian Sea. The perfect place for sun, sand and solitude! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kunnola Beach House Kerala Kannur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing