We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mascot Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had stayed at this wonderful place for two night from 8th June 2013 and were overwhelmed by the sea view rooms, the fresh air, the courteous staff like spurgeon who were very helpful and made our stay comfortable and cosy. The best holiday we have ever had. They could serve beer but keeping the place dry is also good in one way. Did not feel like leaving the place. Great food. Especially their fish curry. Oh my god. If its kannur then it's mascot. Really a mascot in service and location.

Sushil. Chennai

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushilalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mr.Sushil,
Thank you very much for your review. Very Happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Mascot.
Looking forward to see you again. We are in the process of upgrading our property to match the present international standards. By January 2014 we hopefully will have much better service and facilities.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    85
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
109
45
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kannur, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated just in the sea itself. One can see or enjoy the sea from the room itself. Calm atmosphere, always with sea wind and sea sound. Good service, good rooms, with all facilities. The hotel situated in the middle of the town, very near to many tourists places im kannur.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVSNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your review. Thanks for all the good words you used to describe your stay. Currently we are upgrading our property into a more eco-friendly resort by cutting down the usage of plastic and introducing more energy saving products. Looking forward to see you again at Mascot soon. Thanks and Regards - Jeetu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have stayed in my share of Sea View rooms, but none come close to Mascot beach resort. The hotel is located right next to the arabian sea and the windows in the rooms are huge and perfectly located to give the residents the best view of the sea. Views from the rooms in the old block are excellent but the new block beats them. The rooms in the new block are airy and spacious and have huge balconies. The french windows gives you amazing views from within the comfort of the air conditioned rooms. We had some issues with the AC in the old block but the management were very gracious in offering us rooms in the new block at a good price. Rest of the hotel (restaurant, pool etc) are average or above average, but (as you can see) I cannot get beyond the views and everything fades in front of them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review about our resort. Very happy to know that your stay at our place was very comfortable. Thank you very much for your comments about the view. We look forward to see you soon again at Mascot Beach Resort. Thanks and Regards
Jeetu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at the Mascot Beach Resort for a week, and I enjoyed every second of it. I originally booked an economy room, since it's the cheapest, but it wasn't that good, so I went to the front desk shortly after I arrived. The kind receptionist immediately showed me a couple of other rooms, and I chose a great one on the second floor in the main building. I was more expensive, of course, but also worth the extra cost. The owner, Jeetendra, is extremely friendly and happy to help - he drove me to see the Theyyam, and he picked me up afterwards as well. Free of charge!
The view from the resort is amazing, and the pool area is a great place to relax.
Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Ms.Elizabeth, Thank you very much for your reviews about our property. We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed every second of your stay at our property. We are very happy that we could arrange to show you the theyyam dance at a very short notice. Thank you very much for mentioning it. We really wish that the world recognise this colourful and vibrant theyyam dances of Kannur. We look forward to see you again at Mascot Beach Resort soon. Thanks and Regards - Jeetu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I live in India six months out of the year and stay at the Mascot Beach Resort in the south of India for between two weeks and a month at a time. I have stayed there on several occasions. The personnel, owner included, are cheerful, competent, and very helpful. The resort is located just a few feet from the Arabian Sea and sits about 50 feet above the sea. The seaside rooms have balconies which afford an up close view of the Arabian Sea. The grounds are kept beautifully with palm trees, green grass, flowers, and bricked walkways along the sea. The pool is beautifully clean and is about 50 feet up and 50 feet from the Arabian Sea. In the pool area there is a massage place where they give a variety of quality massages by their talented staff. In the evening and early night, the restaurant sets up tables along the walkway above the sea - candles, flowers and the excellent wait staff make having dinner there just like you see in travel books. A buffet breakfast is included in their rather large and airy room dining room which has large windows and a wonderful view of the sea. They are open for lunch and dinner as well at excellent prices for some great food. Room service includes anything from their regular menu. You can just sign for your meals which is very convenient. The rooms are commodious, clean, have excellent beds, flat panel TV's, refrigerators, storage and maid service every day. The bathrooms are large and there is always plenty of hot water for a shower. The AC is excellent. The price is EXTREMELY reasonable, and you can make reservations directly with the hotel without having to give a credit card number. As an example of the helpfulness of the staff, when I had a problem with a tooth, the owner directed me to a dentist who is also a lecturer at a local dental school. I was seen with no waiting and paid less than $5 for the visit. The resort is located about a mile from the city. You can get there for about 50 American cents. This resort is an excellent find. I am going back there on October 25 of this year, 2013, for a three-week stay. They will take excellent care of you at this truly wonderful resort. Daryl Kazmier cliodaryl@gmail.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your detailed review. Very kind of you to take your valued time for writing such a good review about our property. I have put your review on the staff newsboard and has been great motivation for all the staff. The Rooms with Balcony on the ground floor overlooking the sea is ready to take guest after renovations. We look forward for your next visit and assure you even more better service and fecilities than the last time. Thank you very much. Regards Jeetu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Mascot is the most un-beachy, un-resorty beach resort we've ever stayed at.

The good: Our room had a nice sitting area and the view of the Arabian Sea from was breathtaking. The pool was small but nice, and the staff are friendly.

The bad: The property is right on the water, but there's no sandy beach nearby. There is also no alcohol, and calling the food average would be a stretch. The rooms seemed clean enough at first, but then we noticed all the cockroaches. Honestly, we were in India for two months and this place had more roaches than any other hotel. The place seemed eerily quiet and deserted, and although the pool was nice there were no cushions on the pool chairs.

We wouldn't recommend going there - or to Kannur in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlottingtheCour... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is genuine reviews like yours, which helps us to improve our quality and service. Going through your other reviews, I understand that your total Indian tour was unsatisfactory, so first of all let me apologize for that and also for all the bad experience you had at our place. We admit that we don't have a direct access to a sandy beach from our property. But nearest sandy beach is less than a kilometer from us. We had identified the pest issue and have already changed our pest control agreement to a new company since April 2013. Shall monitor the same more closely. Since there is a Church and two schools in our neighborhood, we did not apply for the Alcohol licence. Sorry about the inconvenience, but there are 2 liquor shops at a distance of 500 meters from us. Even though we are only 1 kilometer away from the city center, the peacefulness and the calmness of our property was considered as a blessing by everyone. Very unfortunate that you found it "Eerily". Pool loungers have a cushion seat. On request we can provide an extra cushion too. Please do visit us again and comment on our improvement. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Ma Usa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful place to stay while being close to the City. The staff is so helpful in getting you auto rickshaws, train info. The pool was so beautiful. I had a great massage. The waitstaff was incredibly slow, but I took meals in a beautiful breakfast nook in my room so it didn't matter. Baby beach is not so near and is VERY conservative.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but mine was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know you liked your stay in April 2013. Yes, we been upgrading our property and wish to give our customers a very happy stay. Since May 2013 we have upgraded our kitchen, Menu and the services. Do visit us again and look forward to give you better service and overall satisfaction. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
3.5 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#16 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Suites
Hotel Rainbow Suites
#12 of 23 in Kannur
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malabar Residency
Malabar Residency
#13 of 23 in Kannur
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mascot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mascot Beach Resort

Property: Mascot Beach Resort
Address: Near Baby Beach | Burnassery, Kannur 670001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kannur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kannur
#5 Family Hotel in Kannur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mascot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kannur is a land of resonant past, mystical folklore and ageless charm. Experience this blessed land of scenic splendor at Mascot Beach Resort. Placed on a cliff facing the Endless Arabian Sea, Mascot embraces 30 rooms tastefully furnished with all comforts, aesthetic and functional. Our Restaurant serves Malabar delicacies along with Continental and Tandoor cuisines. Our Health Spa and the endless Pool is a toner for your mind, body and soul. Wake up to see the Waves blush with shimmering rays of the rising sun and the perfect Sunset would be moments that you will always cherish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mascot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mascot Beach Hotel Kannur
Mascot Beach Resort Kannur, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing