We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Kannur Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kannur Beach House
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Anjuna, India
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Kannur Beach House is our favourite place to stay in India. It is the perfect homestay. The food is superb, some of the best we have tasted in India and the views over the lagoon and beach are stunning. Rosi and Nazir are absolutely wonderful hosts, so warm and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they make everyone feel so much at home. The beach house is very comfortable and clean and the surrounding area including the beaches are very unspolit, including beautiful sand and wild dolphins. It really is a touch of paradise which is why we still keep coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    57
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
91
251
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madurai, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This small homestay is run by Rosi , a lovely 'worldwise' always helping lady. The room price includes breakfast and diner which are of past 5 star level! The view in front of the homestay is straight from paradise ; palmtrees , river and beyond it a virgin beach . It also a birdlovers heaven . There are to little village near by , out of which you can take abus to Kannur(20 min trip Rs 8) So for peace , culture and perfect leisure time visit this lovely homestay!
PS. Balin , the traditional goldsmith , works and lives around the corner. (fair prices! for quality work)
And Rosi will find you a real Theyyam to visit!
Martin and Maura from Amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klussenkoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had the chance to stay here during first week of november; and what a pleasure it was to stay.

From the time we decided on this place for vacation it was a smooth ride, right from booking, directions, drive and the stay have all been a vacation to cherish.

Rosi and Nazir were a great host with wealth of knowledge; the entire family eats and drinks with the guests of the homestay treating them as an extended family.

A perfect getaway place from the busy life. A nice sitout overseeing the beach with cool breeze; a paradise on earth. Since the beach is not 2crowded and waves being just right to take a splash families with kids would enjoy greatly.

Planning for a vacation in kannur- you would not be disapppinted by choosing kannur beach house.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeshavaChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two week trip to India, during which we spent 4 nights at Kannur Beach House. We were very keen to experience a home stay and are really glad that we were recommended Kannur Beach House by some friends. Rosi and Nazir are the perfect hosts and we found the setting of the house so relaxing. The food was very fresh and delicious - it was definitely the best food we ate during the whole trip. We really enjoyed chatting to Rosi and Nazir over dinner and learning more about the local area and India in general. The beach is literally just opposite the house and we had a stunning view from our balcony. We would definitely recommend Kannur Beach House for anyone looking for a relaxing break. Thank you Rosi and Nazir!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location is priceless overlooking the lagoon meeting the sea. The rooms are clean and rustic. No TV - perfectly suited for a true getaway. The garden is home to birds and butterflies and insects too - quite a delight for kids and adults alike.
Rosie and Nazir were the perfect hosts - warm, friendly, and excellent conversationalists. Food was home-cooked and Yumm.
The beach is 50-75 metres away, clean and such fun.
One of the best holidays we have had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here earlier this year and had the most amazing time. Rosi ands Nazir were perfect hosts, warm, welcoming, interesting and affectionate with our two young girls. The food was fantastic and we were perfectly looked after. The location is surely one of the most perfect we have found, alongside a lagoon, looking out over the sea. Lying back in a hammock in front of the guesthouse is the perfect way to relax.

But there are also plenty of things to do here, nothing too taxing just a paddle up the lagoon seeing the most amazing birdlife, a short stroll through coconut groves to visit Balan the goldsmith and watch him work and, if you are lucky, get a taste of his mangos. A swim in the sea first thing in the morning or at sunset to round of the day. And maybe a trip to watch the Theyyam at a local temple.

This is five stars - not in a Hilton Hotel five stars way as the guesthouse is basic but five stars for all of the reasons above. We were here with our two daughters, 4 and 7 and our only concern was the lack of balustrade on the first floor which made us a little bit nervous at times.

Thanks so much Rosi and Nazir, hopefully we will be back soon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HYD
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this home stay for a couple of nights and must say that it was home away home. The hosts Nazir and Rosy are nice people and we couldn't ask for better hosts. The place was clean and tidy. The food was very tasty and we got to taste some really nice fish. We walked to the beach and had lots of fun. The best part is that this is a private beach and you will not find any crowd, perfect for couples and families. We would definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HYD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#2 of 23 in Kannur
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
68 reviews
3.9 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#15 of 23 in Kannur
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Property: Kannur Beach House
Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#2 Family Hotel in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. There are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available. Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort
Kannur Beach House Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing