We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in Kerala”
Review of Kannur Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kannur Beach House
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our best stay in Kerala”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We had travelled around Kerala for three weeks, from Trivandrum up north. We had all kinds of accommodations from glitzy hotels to a small room with tiny windows. We simply wanted to relax, read, swim, and have good food. And Kannur Beach House gave us the most memorable experience. Rosi, Nazir, and their children are graceful host that makes you feel right at home. They went out of their way to provide us their room when we didn't like the room at another place afterwards. We happily moved back to enjoy the tranquility. Our 4 nights there were too short and we hope to be back.

This is no grandeur place but its heart is beyond luxury. Rosi & Nazir, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_KTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    57
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
91
251
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We were initially going to stay at another homestay but met someone who suggested we look at these guys' website first, and thankfully we did, staying six nights in early December. The location is stunning, with all the rooms looking out over the river mouth to the sea over the beach.

Our room was beautiful; dark antique furniture and window shutters with a high pitched ceiling and an immaculate bathroom, very comfortable with a fan and plug-in mosquito killers. We had a lovely balcony too, all in keeping with the age of the house.

The hosts Rosi, Nazir and their three children are wonderful people. Very warm and engaging, and some of our best times here were talking to them and the other guests over the incredible food we were served-truly the best we had whilst in India!

Days can be spent relaxing, wandering the deserted beaches or surrounding area, or reading in a hammock but Rosi went far beyond our expectations in organizing some wonderful trips including seeing a Theyam performance, a traditional weaving factory, a beedi factory, local martial arts and an amazing day excursion on a houseboat-much better than Alleppey!

It was the highlight of our time in India and a perfect way to unwind in the middle of our trip. We were sad to leave! Highly recommended.

With love to the family, from Paul & Amanda.X

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MondooExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

After a recommendation from a friend who stayed here 2 years ago I booked in to the Kannur Beach House Homestay for 2 weeks and it is one of the best holidays I have had. Several guests were wishing they'd booked in for longer as it is the sort of place that's very hard to leave.

Rosi, Nazir and family are great to spend time with, along with the other guests we had interesting and hugely varied conversation over fantastic meals. The food was amazing, over the 2 weeks stay I don't remember having the same combination of dishes twice, the variety was incredible and it was great to know a bit more about the local dishes being served (ingredients and their health properties).

Rosi and Nazir are brilliant at helping guest to make the most of their stay with arrangements from rickshaws to tailors. The homestay is in a perfect setting for getting away from the hustle and bustle of life, with walks, a canoe and abundant wildlife, I was in my element. I also spent a lot of time in a hammock listening to the rustle of the coconut palms in the warm sea breeze before or after a delicious lunch.

I’d love to go back and I’d recommend it to any of my friends, who like me enjoy the simple things in life (and who would run a mile if they arrived at a sterile marble floored hotel with no character).

Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_in_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2010

we were really enjoying this place. great guesthouse, nice beaches,good "laxed" yoga teacher and the nature around is totaly chilled. you can walk for miles, paddle down the river or just hang out in the hamock. the food was delicious, the family was totaly sweet and very helpful!stella 'n akim

ps: homegrown coffee!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achimbarghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

kannur beach house was such a nice stay. we felt just like at home. we got a warm welcoming from the owners. they are such wonderful people. the beach near by and the quite atmosphere was awsome. i'd say a very nice place to stay with your family. everyone will love the homely ambience there. you would be at peace and stressfree.
definitely going to recommend to all my family and friends to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boo19907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and it was a very enjoyable part of our holiday in Kerala. The rooms are basic but had everything we needed - in particular, a verandah overlooking the palms and the Arabian Sea. It was a bit rough for swimming while we were there, but there were plenty of places to walk along the beach, down by the backwater and through the village to see a bit of local life. It was the end of the retreating monsoon season so there was some rain, but the instant the sun came out a breath-taking procession of tropical butterflies started flitting through the garden and the field next door. There were lots of birds, too, especially along the backwater.

The location is some way out of Kannur itself but Rosi and Nazir were extremely helpful in arranging transport - a pickup from the station, an autorickshaw to visit a weaving cooperative (very interesting) and a theyyam ceremony (one of the highlights of our trip - a wonderful experience) and a taxi to our next destination in Wayanad.

A most enjoyable part of the stay was that of meals taken at a long table with Rosi and Nazir, their very friendly and sociable teenage children and the other guests. The food was excellent and included very good local seafood and vegetable dishes (Rosi was happy to explain about the different ingredients and cooking processes) and interesting conversation with other visitors.

Rosi said she worried a bit about people having excessively high expectations after reading online reviews, but I felt no reasonable person could fail to appreciate the warm and generous-spirited hospitality offered. The accommodation is simple enough but it was a real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletgleam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

For some odd reason I had painted a picture of Kannur as a small laidback town, and this very fact attracted me to pay the place a visit in June.
As the train chugged into God’s own country, the smell of new sprouts from vast paddy fields filled the compartment. Nothing can be a more delightful sight than this if you are coming from a big city.
But the excitement was soon taken away when the train reached Kannur Railway Station. Wrestling our way through the mass of locals hurrying to work in nearby towns, we emerged from the railway station to find a place quite like any other busy town.
Shops and malls rose up all over the place, and busy traffic completed the picture of a place on its way to lose its soul to “modernization”.
With a sort of disappointment in my voice I called the owner of the Kannur Beach House, who was more excited about the trip than I was.
We hired an auto-rickshaw to reach the home-stay and the friendly driver offered us a narration of the town's history.
The ricky took a sharp turn to enter a road which seemed never ending. I was so frustrated with the journey that I completely missed the sights until Lisa brought me back to reality.
The ricky had long left civilization and was negotiating curvy roads guiding us to the home-stay. My anger soon ebbed away when we reached a cliff and I could see a thick cover of coconut tress along the coast. Postcard perfect.
We paid the autorickshaw driver and were shown our rooms in the house by a quiet lady, who welcomed us with a warm smile and an open heart.
The sun hung gloriously over a tiny beach that lay squashed in the middle of the roaring sea and the gurgling river. Our weekend home overlooked this pretty sight, stark contrast to the dust and pollution of our cities.
After settling in we were soon greeted by the lovely couple Nazir and Rosi. It did not take long to feel comfortable and at ease. I have stayed in many hostels and home-stays, but what sets this place apart is the friendly nature of Nazir and his family.
One cannot write about Nazir’s place without mentioning the food. It is simple and doesn’t tickle your taste buds with too much spice.
The fresh aroma of the coconut and flavours of Kerala make you eat more than your stomach can take.
And if you are feeling bloated after savouring the coastal Kerala delights from Rosi’s kitchen, using the canoe to explore the backwaters is not a bad idea.
But I am not one of those fitness freaks and settled into one of the hammocks with a book. Trust me it’s divine, the mix of the sounds of the roaring waves and gentle flowing backwater is heavenly.
I did not even realize when I fell asleep only to be woken by Rosi for an evening cuppa. The walk on the beach is very different from other tourist hotspots in the state. You will hardly find a soul to disturb you.
As the sun went back into the clouds after a day’s hard work, we headed back to enjoy some more delicious food.
The sky had donned a beautiful blanket of stars giving us enough natural light to enjoy our drink and indulge in meaningless conversation.
Thank you Rosi and Nazir for the Kannur Beach House. I promise to return very soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#2 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.9 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#15 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
5.4 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Property: Kannur Beach House
Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#2 Family Hotel in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. There are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available. Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort
Kannur Beach House Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing