We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for business & leisure”
Review of The Naantali Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Naantali Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Naantali
Reviewed 22 May 2014

this hotel (or more like a resort) accommodates both conferences/exhibitions and I've seen all ages of families here during my recent stay. 20 minutes from Turku airport, a taxi costs 40EUR. First impressions are very positive - big hotel nicely decorated from the outside. Inside its a large hotel with several amenities. There is a large conference room (Ballroom) downstairs and 3 other smaller conference rooms. There is a piano close to reception and a small bar/café serving drinks, sandwiches snacks etc. Numerous eating places, some a distance apart and upstairs.

The reception staff were very helpful and polite, the luggage room behind reception is big and open. WIFI worked well & breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. The rooms are large and comfortable & very clean. The corridors are very large too !

On the guest info, it mentions air conditioning. Alas, there is none in the rooms and this was a problem as the weather was very warm. I left the window open and got bitten a few times :-)

There is a sizeable gym and play areas for kids. Mini-golf, walking trails, bikes for hire, beach volleyball courts, changing facilities outdoors, small play area under development. Not forgetting the spa, steam room etc. !! Plenty of people walking around with bath robes on.

Overall this is a well run hotel for its size and I would return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiKing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_NaantaliSpa, Executive assistant at The Naantali Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear SkiKing01,

Thank you for selecting our hotel to visit and your kind words here on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled you had so many positive notes to share about our hotel and the staff.

We appreciate all of the time you have taken to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Annika Tuominen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is really a tourist hotel but also works well for business trips.

It is ideally located by the lakes and you have some beautiful forrest and lakeside walks on your doorstep.

The hotel is big, modern and well run, the rooms are large, clean and good value.

We ate in TK's the hotel Resteraunt both nights and couldn't fault the food or the service. Not fancy food but tasty and wholesome.

Even though it was May it was obviously out of season so the hotel was relatively quiet.

The reception staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful.

If you want a good hotel in this area I would recommend this one.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ILStourton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_NaantaliSpa, Executive assistant at The Naantali Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear ILStourton,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.
We appreciate your kind words and the post of them here on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Annika Tuominen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Though chilly and sometimes overcast, the long weekend in the coastal town of Nanntali was a good getaway from Helsinki. The spa treatments (we had four) were excellent. It was easy to reserve and even if the hotel/spa appeared crowded, we had no time getting our preferred times/treatments. My own favorite was the jet-steam body wrap mentioned in the title. FUN!
That said, we felt that our room--admittedly the least expensive option--needed attention & upgrade to be 4*. It felt a bit tatty and old but as we spent most of our time outside, it wasn't unbearable.
We cycled, swam, Turkish and sauna bathed, took several long walks: really enjoyable! Would recommend if you like a cross section of guests (many children, many older couples: we are late-middle aged and don't mind the mix but if you are expecting 'romance' and 'couples only' or 'families only', you should look elsewhere.)
Thai restaurant for dinner is good. Breakfast is a bit chaotic but adequate.

Room Tip: Go for the 'deluxe' but remember that your various taxes are exclusive of the quoted prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarbyRosengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_NaantaliSpa, Executive assistant at The Naantali Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Darby Rosengren,

Thank you for posting your review here on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind words especially about treatments and Thai Garden -restaurant.

We hope you´ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon, you are warmly welcome!

Warm regards,
Annika Tuominen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I came to Naantali by bus from Turku - there's a bus stop in the vicinity of the entrance.

I was there on business so didn't have much time to spend in the centre of the town which is located by walking distance. There's not much to see in the winter time as it gets quite dark early.

The room (located in the Cruiser) was nice and clean, staff was friendly and the food was great - ate too much though during those 2,5 days I spent there

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankama25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_NaantaliSpa, Executive assistant at The Naantali Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ankama25,

We greatly appreciate your kind words and review.

We hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,
Annika Tuominen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Have visited The Naantali Spa several times over night and also just a day visit for relaxing, dining and exercise. The hotel is located by the sea. At Winter time is almost hilarious to swim in the outdoor jacuzzi when your hair above is at -15c and body under +35c:)!

The hotel has a nice lunch and dinner buffet for less than 50€. Wines variate but not the cheepest possible dining place in Naantali. You can also dine in Thai restaurant or an a la carte restaurant. The is a cheeper and more simple little resraurant downstairs, where tou can have simple pizzas, burgers and stuff.

The pool section is not very large, but clear and all pools on the same floor (easy for all, no stairs but 3-4 to the outdoor pool). There is no basic pool for serious swimmers but you can swim around the main pool for basic exercise. 2 warmer jaccuzzis inside ensure the relaxation for those who easily feel cold. Nothing special for kids really but just basic swimming. No slides. The most exotic thing is when your haur freezes outside in the cold cold Finnish Winter!

Rooms clean and spacious, not very modern though. Was really cool when they still had the yacht with spacious rooms and huge suites with saunas&balconies to the sea!

Area VERY quiet. Naantali town from about 1km walk. Very small town with basic services(shops, cafes, post office, bank etc). Especially fir those who stay ar Summer time; DONT MISS the Naantali harbour (about 2km from the Spa)! Cool terraces, nightlife, tourists, restaurants.

Turku about 15km away from Naantali. A bigger city with lots to do and to experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_NaantaliSpa, Executive assistant at The Naantali Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Jonna A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your thorough feedback and kind words.

We would love to welcome you back anytime!

Warm regards,
Annika Tuominen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Compared to other Spas in Finland, this is among the highest-ranked, I think, which you can tell from the bill. We stayed in the newer side of the hotel, "the Cruiser" which was fine, especially with sea view. The spa section is mainly targeted for older folks, but its okay for kids. Only if you are looking for extra water activities for them, look for somewhere else. The main complaint for me is the choice of restaurants. We were there off-season, so there was only two from which to choose. The up-scale, and the down-scale. The up-scale was okay in terms of food but horribly over-priced. The next day we took a look at the other one, saw some french fries floating down the floor, turned away and went to the up-scale again. The breakfast was set up nicely, but nothing special in terms of items, really.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jussi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_NaantaliSpa, Executive assistant at The Naantali Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear jussi t,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to learn that some of your experiences were not what we would expect for our guests. I will review your feedback with our management team to ensure that we can improve our services.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Naantali Spa Hotel!

Sincerely,
Annika Tuominen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went to the Naantali Spa a week ago to spend a day at the pool.
The entrance of the Spa was very nice and we thought the pool part would meet the same level. The personnel was very friendly throughout our visit, but we thought 20 euros per person to be a bit overrated for the pools that were on offer. I would have priced that at 15 euros per person.
The pools were clean, but the cloak rooms were not very modern anymore. Furthermore, there was not more than a normal sauna and a turkish sauna, where you had to go naked, but as soon as you entered it you noticed there was no barrier between the male and female side and you could actually see through! I have been in other Turkish saunas, but there you did not see through, plus at least there was a wooden barrier between the 2 sides. I felt it was a very unconfortable idea, therefore nobody sitting in the sauna was actually naked:D.
As said, the pool side was well maintained, but there was not more than a giant jacuzzi, a pool outside, one for the water gymnastics and the other big one catering also kids.

After the pool experience we were hungry and went to have a meal at the TK.
The waitress gave us a table next to the windows, which we initially thought was a fantastic idea till we noticed it was very cold! 2 other tables, changed their seats, too. The windows were very big, but there were only a few minus degrees, therefore how cold is it at -20C??
My fiancee ordered a burger, to find out he could not have it medium plus as they are done somewhere else and come raw and frozen....Well, in my opinion, as TK restaurant is located in a 5 star hotel, it is unacceptable the meat is some pre-done minced thing.
I ordered a special pizza that had aioli sauce and some meat, to eventually find a piece of plastic inside of my pizza!! The waitress obviously apologised for this and I asked to get a new one with less aioli sauce. The new pizza came, but the amount of aioli was the same... and this for listening to the customers.
At least we got a 20% discount, but a feeling the place is overpriced and caters the population who has clearly not seen better and is happy to pay a lot with getting little value back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mars66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_NaantaliSpa, Executive assistant at The Naantali Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Mars66,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to hear that you weren´t totally pleased with your visit at Naantali Spa Hotel. However it is always nice to hear that our personnel was friendly throughout your visit.

As you said Turkish sauna is for women and men but you can take your towel with you so you don´t need to be naked.

I would like to apologize for the disappointment of your restaurant experience. Please know we will share all of your concerns with the individuals you have mentioned.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Annika Tuominen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naantali
4.1 mi away
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
#12 of 16 in Turku
87 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Club Caribia
Holiday Club Caribia
#10 of 16 in Turku
222 reviews
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 16 in Turku
626 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#5 of 16 in Turku
126 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#8 of 16 in Turku
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naantali Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naantali Spa

Address: Matkailijantie 2, Naantali 21100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Naantali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Naantali
Price Range: £41 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Naantali Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated on a coastal peninsula facing towards the picturesque Turku archipelago, Naantali Spa is a renowned resort hotel in Scandinavia, incorporating a sauna and pool paradise, a wide selection of spa and body treatments, a selection of high-quality restaurants, as well as flexible conference and exhibition space. The resort – close to the historic seaside town of Naantali - is featured in the ‘Royal Spas of Europe’ and also numbers among the ‘100 Best Spas in the World.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Naantali Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naantali Hotel Naantali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing