We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place - ruined by few things”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Chail
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome place - ruined by few things”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The place in itself is awesome. Complete value for money. The rooms are well designed and clean. The staff courteous. However some things mar the experience. The kitchen is like half an hour away from the rooms hence the service is really slow. And they do not accept payment by card. And there is no ATM for around 2 hours either side. Lastly, they overcharge for everything. On a couple of occasions, we ordered things from the "buffet" menu and were charged for it. The views from the rooms were breathtaking.

Room Tip: Get one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2003_sri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Jungle Livinn Chail!!

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoy our hotel and about room which is indeed very well designed and clean. First of all i would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had to endure because of the payments not accepted through cards,the reason was primarily because of network connectivity which we have to face but things have gone well and now we have started the same. your comment about the kitchen distance is noted and will be conveyed to our top management. I promise you will notice many positive things on your next visit.

Awaiting your next visit.

With Warm Regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We heard about this property through a friend who recomended it for a short getaway. I looked up the website and found it to be charming. After making immediate reservations for a three bedroom cottage, we travelled up on a sunday and reached almost at 9 pm. I was pleasantly surprised to see the staff waiting for our arrival at the gate itself (depite our late arrival and the terrible weather). The service by the staff was par excellent. Food quality was also extremely good as was the choice of food available. The cottage itself is spliot up in three levels - the entry ground level has the sitting and dining area plus kitchenette and a balcony. There are two decent sized rooms at the second level, and the 3rd bedroom is the bottom level which is quite huge and houses 02 double beds. The bathroom for this room is much smaller than the other two rooms, and I felt that there could easily have been an option for a bigger washroom. Although the furniture was slighly dated, and could do with an upgrade. The cottages could also do with the facility of room to room intercom facility given their locations. Overall a very comfortable cottage with time spent mostly on the ground level in the sitting area. The only thing that we found missing was a lawn / garden for the kids to play in. This is available only in the resorts other facility which houses the tents for camping. Needless to say, we all had a wonderful time, and would definitely consider going there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Jungle Livinn, Chail!!

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share with me your most recent experience at The Hotel Jungle Livinn. I never tire of hearing positive comments about The Hotel Jungle Livinn. Our commitment is to provide an exceptional level of service and I am obviously pleased that we were able to do so. We are very proud of our employees and their efforts and please rest assured that I will share your kind comments with them.your comments about the furnitures,bathroom and intercom facilities have been noted and please be assured it will be conveyed to our top management.you will be experiencing many positive changes on your future visits.

Awaiting your next visit.

With warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A nice property 6 km ahead of chail on mdr8.
The property has two parts, cottages and tents. We stayed in the tents .
Tents are very nice, clean and spacious . The beds were nice and comfortable. The attached toilet and bath was also clean and very functional.

The staff is very courteous, food is excellent.
There are many activities organised by the resort . There is a trained team of 3 people who encourage u to try the adventure activities like wall climbing, flying fox, crossing the Burma bridge etc..

There was a nice bonfire in the evening.

Overall , a very good place for a family vacation , and the kids really loved it.

Room Tip: The cottages have a very nice view, but all the action is in the camping site .so if you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manojgarg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Jungle Livinn, Chail!!

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoy our hotel and restaurants! We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon.

With Warm Regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amba, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A must place to visit if you are looking for a not so crowded place along with excellent hospitality. We stayed in a 3 room cottage (swiss tents were full). Huge cottage. More than expected. Food is also good.
We will surely be visiting there again :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShreyMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Jungle Livinn, Chail!!

Thanks so much for the nice review. I'm glad your stays with us have been restful and quiet. Thanks also for the sweet comment about our staff; it's great to hear that our customer service efforts are well received. We hope to welcome you back soon; let us know if there's anything you need.

With Warm Regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After a nice train journey in Shatabdi, we took a taxi from the station to Chail. I guess the best bet is to travel by your own car if travelling from Delhi.
The hotel experience was amazing. Excellent and prompt service and very polite and courteous staff. Nice peaceful surrounding. The owner Mr. Kapoor always takes excellent care of the guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luthra_rajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Jungle Livinn, Chail!!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Jungle Livinn and sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.Yes correctly said about Mr Kapoor here at the hotel he pampers all his guest like his very own childrens and sees to it that the guest have a relaxed and a comfortable stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

With warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alappuzha, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

After a long steep ghat climb all i wanted was a peaceful place to rest and jungle livinn provided just that.
Comfortable cottage with lovely lliving room, kitchen and cosy furnitures
The valley view was excellent.
The food was great
and staff courteous
Like others mentioned you have to juggle between the cottages and tents if you have opted to stay in the cottage for mealtime

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namasteindia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

To start with, I consider the place as above average but not 'very good'.. If I could, I would have given it 3.5 stars.

We booked a 3 BR cottage at Jungle Livinn. We were looking for a place to stay with good activities and a natural setting.. We had shortlisted Chail Palace, Chail Villas and Jungle Livinn and finally picked Jungle Livinn..

We have a 4 year old and ruled out Chail Palace due to the monkey problems.. Chail Villas seemed fairly expensive as they did not have family cottages. Overall, I think between the three I would still pick Jungle Livinn..

Jungle Livinn has two distinct parts -- the cottages are close to the road and the tents are in a campsite located about 200 metres away.. The activities as well as the dining hall are in the camp site.. So, staying at the cottage takes away from the action.. However, cottages have an excellent view as they are located on a steep hill side.. View from the rooms as well we balcony is very good.. Tents, on the other hand, are in a clearing and bunched together.. Given that the two locations are separate, it puts a lot of pressure on the staff and I think they handle the pressure well.. Barring one or two occasions, the staff responded quickly to our requests..

Where Jungle Livinn looses out is that it tries to bridge between a resort and a campsite and excels in neither. The cottages, other than the view, have nothing great to speak of.. The flooring and walls have a really worn-out look, which is not what u expect for the price you pay.. There is no greenery in this part of the campus..

The campsite does not give you a sense of staying in the jungle.. It is made in a clearing and has a very commercialized look (probably because they cater to school and college groups a lot).. The activities also have the same worn-out look.. However, the staff are good..

Overall, it is an above average property. However, I did not get the 'wow' experience of living in a natural campsite the awesome activities..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akshatverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jungle Livinn, Chail!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We regret to hear your standards were not met and nor were our own. Providing guests with an exceptional level of service and clean, comfortable accommodations are top priorities of ours and we apologize for the apparent lapse.Your comment about the not having any activities in and around the cottages have been noted and will be conveyed to our owner you be rest assure in near future definitely activities will be there around cottages as well.
Also we would like to thank you for the commendable service you have received from our courteous staff,your positive compliments will be conveyed to the entire team. We welcome you to contact us directly so we may discuss these challenges at length. We look forward to speaking with you.

Awaiting your next visit,


With warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chail
0.0 mi away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#5 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.0 mi away
Aamod
Aamod
#2 of 4 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Sunset
Hotel Grand Sunset
#2 of 14 in Chail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chail Residency
2.0 mi away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat

Property: Jungle Livinn Camps And Retreat
Address: V & P.O. Janedghat, Chail 173217, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Chail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Chail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing